<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Shark meat contain high levels of mercury' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://ThePGarden.sgforums.com/forums/4/topics/316725</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://ThePGarden.sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by dumbdumb! @ Tue, 13 May 2008 19:34:36 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;so the taste in shark fin is the chicken broth.. hmm. so next
time wedding i'll ask them just dun include the shark's fin&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 19:34:36 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083821</guid>
      <author>dumbdumb!</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 19:14:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by dumbdumb!:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hmm.. shark fin's soup right, if u remove the shark fins as
ingredient, would you still get the taste? i mean, the gooey stuff
can't be the shark's fin right?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;for your info, shark's fin itself has no taste or flavour. Why
people eat shark's fin is because of the mistaken belief or
exaggerated claims of its medicinal attributes. They say it is good
for waist, supplement vital energy, good for kidneys and liver, and
nourish the blood. But these cannot be supported with any evidence
by today's nutritional studies. Shark fins of course does have alot
proteins and gelatin which helps cartilage growth BUT it is true
that they do contain mercury and lead but I am not so sure whether
it is at a level too dangerous for human to consume, which is what
alot of conservationists are claiming.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The real hero of shark fins soup is the "SHANG TANG" which is
the superior broth which is concentrated chicken broth. That broth
itself is the pride and joy of any masterchef haha.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 19:14:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083780</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by dumbdumb! @ Tue, 13 May 2008 19:11:00 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Fatum:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;have you eaten vegetarian shark's fin soup before ? ... the real
"fake" stuff, not those made with rice vermicelli ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there's your answer .....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;nope never. maybe just switch to vegetarian shark's fin soup
lor. if it tastes the same, no loss, and all gain&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 19:11:00 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083773</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Tue, 13 May 2008 18:17:19 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by dumbdumb!:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hmm.. shark fin's soup right, if u remove the shark fins as
can't be the shark's fin right?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;have you eaten vegetarian shark's fin soup before ? ... the real
"fake" stuff, not those made with rice vermicelli ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there's your answer .....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 18:17:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083696</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by dumbdumb! @ Tue, 13 May 2008 18:11:03 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hmm.. shark fin's soup right, if u remove the shark fins as
can't be the shark's fin right?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 18:11:03 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083677</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:55:31 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;yeah, fine dude ... I don't want to turn even the food forum
into another speakers corner too (gasp !) ...&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but you know ... we can all make a difference ... all it takes,
is to say no ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
ya lah no point right haha.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yeah like i said, I dun eat shark meat at all and I maybe eat
shark fin soup sometimes not even once a year nowadays cos most of
my peers are already married so no chance to eat liao haha.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:55:31 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083648</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:47:41 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by gasband:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
haha ok lah i dun think we are getting anywhere. You made your
point and I made mine and I think both of us are as clear as we can
be in making our points so I will just leave it that we agree to
disagree then hehe.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yeah, fine dude ... I don't want to turn even the food forum
into another speakers corner too (gasp !) ...&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_lol.gif" alt="icon_lol.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but you know ... we can all make a difference ... all it takes,
is to say no ...&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:47:41 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083624</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:41:30 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;I shall quote myself again here ... this is what I said about
you previously ... and it appears that you're doing it again
...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;"if you're trying to point fingers at other countries
and say "hey ! ... they are the bigger culprits" ... then I think
YOU are missing the point .... "&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe you think that the world is blaming shark's finning (20%
of the fishery, according to your statistics) .... while neglecting
the other 80% of the fishery ... of course, in asia, you'd get this
picture, because that's where shark's fin soup are traditionally
drunk ... wouldn't it be stupid, for an anti-shark's fin soup
campaign to be held at, say, Europe or north america, where no one
has ever had a bowl of shark's fin soup in their lives ? ....&amp;nbsp;
the world is bigger than what you see dude ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in the mean time, it doesn't matter how big a contributing
factor the shark fishery in our region is to the overall global
decline of sharks ... it IS a fact that sharks are being depleted
in OUR regional waters, and almost of it is due to the shark's fin
trade, nevermind if the fins were removed before or after the
sharks' died ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have been scuba diving for 10 years .... flipping through my
dive logs, I have only sighted a real shark, twice...... that says
a lot for a region that's been described as the epicenter, the
wellspring of marine biodiversity ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;or maybe, of course, you can try to argue that perhaps it's not
local fishermen but north american and european fleets were
cruising the andaman and sulu seas catching up all the sharks ....
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
haha ok lah i dun think we are getting anywhere. You made your
point and I made mine and I think both of us are as clear as we can
be in making our points so I will just leave it that we agree to
disagree then hehe.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:41:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083605</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:33:45 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Ah yes, you get the point of SHARK EXPLOITATION and thats what I
was trying to say, that Shark Fin Soup is not the biggest culprit
if you want to pinpoint that demand creates more finning. That is
why I say 80% of the sharks are fished by european countries for
whatever other usage (other than shark fin soup cos they hardly eat
that). To make shark fin soup the main culprit is missing the
point. Even if illegal finning is eliminated, the truth is that
sharks will continued to be fished down for other usage and sooner
or later, this beautiful creature will still be endangered and
extinct. True, if people cut down on shark fin soup, most likely
illegal finning would decrease. But still, that doesnt solve the
main problem of sharks being hunted down to the brink of extinction
right? Shouldnt we be also hitting the nail on the head which
according to CITES is the 80% of shark fishing that comes from the
western countries.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My point abt all these conservation groups is that why campaign
so hard against finning when the bigger of problem of shark
extinction is actually the fishing of these creatures for things
like you mentioned, fish and chips or even&amp;nbsp;for rearing as pets
haha. FINNING is cruel. But ultimately it will not cause sharks to
be extinct faster than if you stop fishing them for their meat or
other parts. I would think that a conservation group would be more
concerned about protecting the species on the whole rather than
just pin point on the issue of shark fin soup. Are they
conservationist or animalitarian (if there is such a word
haha)?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And anyway I dun eat shark meat at all&amp;nbsp;nor do I drink shark
fin soup regularly enough to die from mercury poisioning. So thanks
for your concern. That is,&amp;nbsp;if you were genuinely concerned
about me hahaha.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I shall quote myself again here ... this is what I said about
you previously ... and it appears that you're doing it again
...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;"if you're trying to point fingers at other countries
and say "hey ! ... they are the bigger culprits" ... then I think
YOU are missing the point .... "&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maybe you think that the world is blaming shark's finning (20%
of the fishery, according to your statistics) .... while neglecting
the other 80% of the fishery ... of course, in asia, you'd get this
picture, because that's where shark's fin soup are traditionally
drunk ... wouldn't it be stupid, for an anti-shark's fin soup
campaign to be held at, say, Europe or north america, where no one
has ever had a bowl of shark's fin soup in their lives ? ....&amp;nbsp;
the world is bigger than what you see dude ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;in the mean time, it doesn't matter how big a contributing
factor the shark fishery in our region is to the overall global
decline of sharks ... it IS a fact that sharks are being depleted
in OUR regional waters, and almost of it is due to the shark's fin
trade, nevermind if the fins were removed before or after the
sharks' died ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I have been scuba diving for 10 years .... flipping through my
dive logs, I have only sighted a real shark, twice...... that says
a lot for a region that's been described as the epicenter, the
wellspring of marine biodiversity ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;or maybe, of course, you can try to argue that perhaps it's not
local fishermen but north american and european fleets were
cruising the andaman and sulu seas catching up all the sharks ....
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:33:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083589</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:16:22 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;but anyway I respect your committment to protect sharks and dun
get me wrong, I also love the environment and believe strongly in
protecting the animals and faunas and that is why I give a small
sum of money every month to WWF Hongkong. I know money is nothing
to saving the environment but then it demonstrates my conviction in
that movement, just that for this issue, I feel that many groups
are missing the bigger picture. You can save sharks more if you can
stop the 80% for fishing them for other purposes.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:16:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083557</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 17:12:26 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Yes I was correct ... you have been missing the point all
along.... taking the whole shark, or just the fins alone, makes no
difference, the shark is just as dead afterwards ! ... it's still a
statistical loss ! ...&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;sharks are not like your run of the mill kembong or batang you
see in the fish market ... they don't breed fast and grow slowly
.... yet they have an important function as apex predators in the
eco system ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and if your mindset says that since it's already dead, so let's
not waste it, then nothing will change ... cos you're still
creating the future demand, the market for it .... you think by
slurping down that bowl of soup, patting your own stomach, and
saying "I'll eat this bowl, since it's already in front of me, but
don't feed me shark's fin again" is going to change anything ?
....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the real issue is NOT SHARK'S FINNING ! ... IT IS THE
EXPLOITATION IF SHARKS ! ..... whether it's fishermen in the med
taking whole sharks for european fish and chips (with the fins
exported to asia anyways), or fishermen in the philipines finning
sharks, it makes no difference, that's what you have been missing
all along ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but hey, good luck with the mercury in your system ...&amp;nbsp;
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Ah yes, you get the point of SHARK EXPLOITATION and thats what I
was trying to say, that Shark Fin Soup is not the biggest culprit
if you want to pinpoint that demand creates more finning. That is
why I say 80% of the sharks are fished by european countries for
whatever other usage (other than shark fin soup cos they hardly eat
that). To make shark fin soup the main culprit is missing the
point. Even if illegal finning is eliminated, the truth is that
sharks will continued to be fished down for other usage and sooner
or later, this beautiful creature will still be endangered and
extinct. True, if people cut down on shark fin soup, most likely
illegal finning would decrease. But still, that doesnt solve the
main problem of sharks being hunted down to the brink of extinction
right? Shouldnt we be also hitting the nail on the head which
according to CITES is the 80% of shark fishing that comes from the
western countries.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;My point abt all these conservation groups is that why campaign
so hard against finning when the bigger of problem of shark
extinction is actually the fishing of these creatures for things
like you mentioned, fish and chips or even&amp;nbsp;for rearing as pets
haha. FINNING is cruel. But ultimately it will not cause sharks to
be extinct faster than if you stop fishing them for their meat or
other parts. I would think that a conservation group would be more
concerned about protecting the species on the whole rather than
just pin point on the issue of shark fin soup. Are they
conservationist or animalitarian (if there is such a word
haha)?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And anyway I dun eat shark meat at all&amp;nbsp;nor do I drink shark
fin soup regularly enough to die from mercury poisioning. So thanks
for your concern. That is,&amp;nbsp;if you were genuinely concerned
about me hahaha.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 17:12:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8083549</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Tue, 13 May 2008 09:54:12 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
My point or points is/are:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1) Giam Choo Hoo of CITES said that "vast majority of fins in
the market are taken from sharks after their death" its not SOME
FINS, its VAST MAJORITY. So according to him, FINNING is present
but not prevalent. But again its up to anyone to believe him or
believe what groups like Wildaid claim right? Afterall we ourselves
do not have figures and facts on our hands.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) It is not fair to tell people hey its wrong to drink shark
fin soup because of finning. WHat if the other person tells you,
how do you know the fin i am eating is from illegal finning and not
those fins taken after death? Is there anything wrong with eating
something from a fish that is already dead just like any other fish
that we eat?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Attack the real issue which is SHRAK FINNING. NOT SHARK FIN
SOUP eating.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Yes I was correct ... you have been missing the point all
along.... taking the whole shark, or just the fins alone, makes no
difference, the shark is just as dead afterwards ! ... it's still a
statistical loss ! ...&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;sharks are not like your run of the mill kembong or batang you
see in the fish market ... they don't breed fast and grow slowly
.... yet they have an important function as apex predators in the
eco system ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and if your mindset says that since it's already dead, so let's
not waste it, then nothing will change ... cos you're still
creating the future demand, the market for it .... you think by
slurping down that bowl of soup, patting your own stomach, and
saying "I'll eat this bowl, since it's already in front of me, but
don't feed me shark's fin again" is going to change anything ?
....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the real issue is NOT SHARK'S FINNING ! ... IT IS THE
EXPLOITATION IF SHARKS ! ..... whether it's fishermen in the med
taking whole sharks for european fish and chips (with the fins
exported to asia anyways), or fishermen in the philipines finning
sharks, it makes no difference, that's what you have been missing
all along ...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but hey, good luck with the mercury in your system ...&amp;nbsp;
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/smile.png" alt=
"smile.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 09:54:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082564</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by nehpyh @ Tue, 13 May 2008 09:44:16 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Eat mercury already will be as long-life as Qing Shi
Huang!!!!&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 09:44:16 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082543</guid>
      <author>nehpyh</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 09:37:04 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;so you don't like shark's fins enough to be their advocate, I
suppose that means you're willing to help reduce the pressures on
sharks? . ..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so what's your point, really, other than saying that hey, some
fins are taken off dead sharks ? ....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
My point or points is/are:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;1) Giam Choo Hoo of CITES said that "vast majority of fins in
the market are taken from sharks after their death" its not SOME
FINS, its VAST MAJORITY. So according to him, FINNING is present
but not prevalent. But again its up to anyone to believe him or
believe what groups like Wildaid claim right? Afterall we ourselves
do not have figures and facts on our hands.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;2) It is not fair to tell people hey its wrong to drink shark
fin soup because of finning. WHat if the other person tells you,
how do you know the fin i am eating is from illegal finning and not
those fins taken after death? Is there anything wrong with eating
something from a fish that is already dead just like any other fish
that we eat?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;3) Attack the real issue which is SHRAK FINNING. NOT SHARK FIN
SOUP eating.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 09:37:04 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082526</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Short Ninja @ Tue, 13 May 2008 07:37:05 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;That is why I only go for Miso Soup with eggs&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 07:37:05 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082407</guid>
      <author>Short Ninja</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Tue, 13 May 2008 07:34:44 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
You are also missing my point. My point is DUN make shark fin soup
the CULPRIT responsible for the shark's plight today. BEING
ENDANGERED is a different story altogether from Shark Finning which
I definitely agree that it is CRUELTY. I do not like SHark Fin that
much to advocate that shark fin soup must stay. But just because
shark finning is cruel does not make shark fin soup eating wrong.
CITES in fact says that shark finning is contained to a percentage
where most fins are taken off after the shark is dead. But it is
who to believe isnt it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And while organisations like Wildaid says one thing about
finning, CITES from the UN said the other thing. Its really up to
you to believe who is telling the truth isnt it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so you don't like shark's fins enough to be their advocate, I
suppose that means you're willing to help reduce the pressures on
sharks? . ..&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so what's your point, really, other than saying that hey, some
fins are taken off dead sharks ? ....&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 07:34:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082405</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Tue, 13 May 2008 00:41:42 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you're trying to point fingers at other countries and say
"hey ! ... they are the bigger culprits" ... then I think YOU are
missing the point ....&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
You are also missing my point. My point is DUN make shark fin soup
the CULPRIT responsible for the shark's plight today. BEING
ENDANGERED is a different story altogether from Shark Finning which
I definitely agree that it is CRUELTY. I do not like SHark Fin that
much to advocate that shark fin soup must stay. But just because
shark finning is cruel does not make shark fin soup eating wrong.
CITES in fact says that shark finning is contained to a percentage
where most fins are taken off after the shark is dead. But it is
who to believe isnt it?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And while organisations like Wildaid says one thing about
finning, CITES from the UN said the other thing. Its really up to
you to believe who is telling the truth isnt it?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Tue, 13 May 2008 00:41:42 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8082141</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Fatum @ Mon, 12 May 2008 22:46:12 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;80% of sharks that are fished are in western nations like UK,
Spain etc. You must note that sharks fished in these regions are
not for their fins but for the whole fish. By saying that consuming
Shark Fin Soup, you are destroying the shark community or
endangering them, you are just making asian communities the lesser
evil responsible for killing of sharks.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Finning of sharks are CRUEL. But finning of sharks occur in a
certain percentage of shark fishing. Not are shark fins are
obtained thru FINNING. Finning is cruel, but to say that Shark Fin
Soup consumption causes near extinction of sharks is just missing
the point.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;WHY not stop eating Caviar? Sturgeons are near extinction too.
Why not stop drinking alcohol? It is killing more people thru drink
driving and DUI.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if you're trying to point fingers at other countries and say
"hey ! ... they are the bigger culprits" ... then I think YOU are
missing the point ....&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
      <pubDate>Mon, 12 May 2008 22:46:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8081676</guid>
      <author>Fatum</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by fudgester @ Mon, 12 May 2008 22:40:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Seriously speaking, what's so freakin' good about sharks'
fin?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;It's just (literally) tasteless strings of gelatinuous stuff....
as the Baba dude has said, most of the flavour comes from the soup
and not the actual sharks' fin. Simulated sharks' fin soup made of
gelatine costs much less and tastes virtually the same.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The bottom line is.... the real reason why people eat sharks'
fin is the snob factor due to its high price.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;And it really speaks a lot if you have to kill a few sharks just
to show other people that you've got money to burn.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 12 May 2008 22:40:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8081660</guid>
      <author>fudgester</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by gasband @ Mon, 12 May 2008 22:17:52 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;80% of sharks that are fished are in western nations like UK,
Spain etc. You must note that sharks fished in these regions are
not for their fins but for the whole fish. By saying that consuming
Shark Fin Soup, you are destroying the shark community or
endangering them, you are just making asian communities the lesser
evil responsible for killing of sharks.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Finning of sharks are CRUEL. But finning of sharks occur in a
certain percentage of shark fishing. Not are shark fins are
obtained thru FINNING. Finning is cruel, but to say that Shark Fin
Soup consumption causes near extinction of sharks is just missing
the point.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;WHY not stop eating Caviar? Sturgeons are near extinction too.
Why not stop drinking alcohol? It is killing more people thru drink
driving and DUI.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Mon, 12 May 2008 22:17:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8081606</guid>
      <author>gasband</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by qlqq9 @ Sun, 11 May 2008 00:08:32 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;are we late back or what?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;discovery channel&amp;nbsp;had documentary on sharks and mentioned
this point years&amp;nbsp;ago.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;ya lor.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; guess human beings need to be reminded.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 11 May 2008 00:08:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8076860</guid>
      <author>qlqq9</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by alwaysdisturbed @ Sat, 10 May 2008 23:51:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;are we late back or what?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;discovery channel&amp;nbsp;had documentary on sharks and mentioned
this point years&amp;nbsp;ago.&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 23:51:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8076790</guid>
      <author>alwaysdisturbed</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by qlqq9 @ Sat, 10 May 2008 23:44:51 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;QX, thanks for the article, saw this on the news.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp; I
love shark's fin.&amp;nbsp; I don't eat often.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 23:44:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8076781</guid>
      <author>qlqq9</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by Kuali Baba @ Sat, 10 May 2008 23:32:37 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by cuddles:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;those sashimi?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maguro and salmon!? oh no.. :(&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Salmon isn't as bad in that regard but the farmed varieties
contain higher amounts of PCB.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 23:32:37 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8076746</guid>
      <author>Kuali Baba</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Shark meat contain high levels of mercury replied by cuddles @ Sat, 10 May 2008 20:21:30 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by TehJarVu:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;all deep sea fish are like that mah&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;swordfish also&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;those u eat as sashimi&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;those sashimi?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;maguro and salmon!? oh no.. :(&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sat, 10 May 2008 20:21:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">ThePGarden.sgforums.com:4:316725:8076324</guid>