24 Jul, 07:44PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Food

buffet tips?

Subscribe to buffet tips? 30 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    742 posts since Jul '05
    • so, any seasoned pros know how to get maximum value from buffets?

what's your "strategy" to get more value out of the buffet or to enjoy it better?

15,683 posts since Aug '01
    2,713 posts since Jan '08
    • 3 rules...

1) dun drink too much water...

2) Dun eat hot stuff if u can't take it

3) Dun eat too much bread, rice or noodle

• cool me
    60,233 posts since Dec '03
  • EMERGENCY AMBULANCE
    7,015 posts since Feb '08
    • The two easiest buffet diet tips are these: vegetables and fruit.

When you first approach an all you can eat buffet, scan it for produce. Then, cover at least seventy five percent of your plate with these items.

Now you’ve got things off to a great start, and you’re ready to keep making healthy choices throughout your meal. Almost all buffets have salad choices and vegetable side dishes, and these items offer the most vitamins and nutrients for the least calories. That means feeling full, getting what your body needs, and still getting a full, colorful plate of food.

Once you’ve put down your produce, look around for protein options that are grilled, baked, or broiled instead of fried or stir-fried. When you find one that looks good, add a bit to your healthful plate, but make sure produce remains the primary food on your plate. 

150 posts since Aug '07
    • Main thing I feel is to pace yourself. Don't go "sprinting" away at the food at the beginning. Having said this, I feel its also not a good idea to starve yourself before a buffet as you might gouge yourself too quickly and end up feeling full too fast. Personally, I feel one should have very light snacks during proper meal times before the buffet so that at least the stomach will not feel too empty and you will not feel the urge to choing the food.

Don't drink too much water during the buffet. It might give you the premature illusion of being full. Take sips in between. Try to not eat too much spicy or dry stuff (unless they are the relatively expensive stuff) as they will make you thirsty.

Make sure you have enough time on your hands. A proper "attack" on a buffet to me should last at least 2 hours, at least for the kind where the food is being ordered. If you need to rush off somewhere or anything, try not to have a buffet meal on that day.

What I've said is just my own opinion. Different people have different approaches which work for them as well.

11,700 posts since Jan '03
    • my friend chiong beef, nothing but beef.

some ppl chiong seafood, but i dun like seafood, cuz troublesome.

i take fish, if the fish very fresh, and beef and whatever i like to eat.

lol i sometimes take maggi mee. cuz i don't have instant noodles at home.

390 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by TehJarVu:

dun eat for 3 days 3 nights

Never starve yourself before a meal, go low on carbs, but fill yourself with protein-food or greens.

If you don't eat for 3 days, you're stomach will shrink, which means getting full faster thus leading to a very under-appreciated buffet.

*Not eating for 3 days is good to start a diet plan, as recommended by a certain mediacorp artiste, it lowers your crave and maximum capacity*

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    156,561 posts since Dec '99
    • if u perpersly starve urself then go for buffet, u will eat fast but ur stomach cannot digest fast enuf.... so end up u feel full bery fast and will feel bery bloated too

enjoying a buffet is not to eat A LOT... but to get to eat a bit of everything....
      eat at ur own pace, no need rush....
      when u feel full, rest a while, chat.... sip water (preferably tea).... later then continue....

start with cold items.... then steamed items.... or soup.... then fried items and other hot items.... then dessert......
      dun have to pile the plate... hell, it's buffet!..... just take the portion u think u can eat..... 1 or 2 pieces will do.... want more then order more..........

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • if u go pia buffet after exercising, yes, u can eat a lot..... bcos u are hungry u are replenishing energy and u have high metabolism
      but do bear in mind ur body oso absorbing more and faster

after all the exercise, u are actually absorbing back the fats at double speed.

• Fallen...
    120,169 posts since Feb '01
    • and eat fast, eat hard..

then before your stomach can tell you to stop, you've eaten more than your capable of teeth.png

3,075 posts since Aug '07
    • stay there as long as u can. Buffet earn using the business model of catering to large volume of customer to provide cheap food. So if u stay there longer, u are denying them the customer and that hurt their wallet.

4,229 posts since Jan '07
    • Attack the expensive and luxurious food first like lobsters and craps (if there is any)but dont end up over feeding yourself on the bee hoon and chicken curry.

• Originally posted by the Bear:

and eat fast, eat hard..

then before your stomach can tell you to stop, you've eaten more than your capable of teeth.png

and then for the next 3 hours, you will wish you were dead. lol

• Originally posted by EarlNeo:

stay there as long as u can. Buffet earn using the business model of catering to large volume of customer to provide cheap food. So if u stay there longer, u are denying them the customer and that hurt their wallet.

lol we're trying to benefit from the cheap and good food. not run them out of business!!

6,782 posts since Jul '05
  • Mister Paw Paw !
    32,267 posts since Jul '00
    4,229 posts since Jan '07
    • I wonder if there are people in Singapore who can eat like Hungry Ghosts & Monsters?  Imagine one person eating 20 persons share of food and of course this also require training + bad table manners.

4,798 posts since Oct '05
    • 1) Avoid flour, rice, noodles stuffs. I don't think you go for food like that at a buffet? Dont drink too much water.

2) Eat at your own pace. No rush, baby. Stay there at least for 2hours icon_lol.gif

3) Eat/try on a fare share of food, dont keep attackin on the same type of food. But if you really like a certain food, like crab etc, then ok lor icon_lol.gif

4) If you feel kinda full but think you can have more, rest awhile and chat with your friends. Laugh, crap, whatever. Thats what i do. Later on will feel like eatin again

5) If you're really full, dont force yourself. You may excuse yourself to the washroom and return again if you want icon_lol.gificon_lol.gif

imo

742 posts since Jul '05
    17,299 posts since Aug '02
    • Go with "enablers", like-minded buffet kakis who enjoy eating, are there with same goal - to eat, and will spur you on to greater widths.

No dieters allowed!

11,266 posts since Oct '05
    • i have a fren who chiong the buffet from morning till late evening..

end up went hospital.. icon_lol.gif

• 咪咪!
    679 posts since Jan '08
    851 posts since Aug '07
    • Absolutely do not drink carbonated drinks.

Do not eat food that is too spicy. It might affect your tongue and stomach for the rest of the meal

Dont take all those filling stuff like carbs. If you want a particular type of sushi for example, try to find the raw fish in sashimi form.

Thats it.

Edited by jayh272416 15 May `08, 6:51PM
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • Originally posted by Mimmy:

Ytd i went to eat buffet.

Ate finished desert, I vomitted icon_lol.gif

有了?
      谁的?

Please Login or Signup to reply.