14 Oct, 12:47AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Food

Help me with this food issue!

Subscribe to Help me with this food issue! 40 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    493 posts since Jul '06
    • Hi guys, I'm trying to plan dinner for tonight. Please do help with some suggestions/recommendations if possible.

Location: Prefably by a shore(seaside) or anywhere where star-gazing is possible

Price: Around $100 or less is good

Food: Preferably non-local, unless they are meet the location criteria

Crowd: Preferably not so crowded/noisy(Trying to avoid town)

Nothing eventful, just out of places to dine.

12,024 posts since Jan '03
    493 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by dumbdumb!:

malaysia.

Thanks for your useless comment, appreciate it.

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    20,036 posts since Dec '99
    1,742 posts since Jan '03
    • somewhere pasir ris forgot what village, but that’s local food. It’s by the beach, eat local food like chilli crabs that kind of things. can eat BBQ chicken wings, western food(kopitiam style western food, you know what i mean).

Sembawang beach there also got one place, but eat the same kind of local food again, seafood 煮炒, you know the standard package, chiili crab, 咕噜肉,铁板豆腐,”gang gong” etc.

4,586 posts since Jan '07
    • Originally posted by Gosu.:

From what you are looking for I would have thought about Johor Bahru also

873 posts since Aug '03
    • sembawang park (dunno if the restaurant still there and dunno what kind of food they serve)

bottle tree village (near sembawang park) - serves local food

safra yatch club (tenah merah) - again serve local food

pasir ris park (i think got 2 restaurant there)

marina country club (punggol) -  seafood

go and google the yatch clubs and country clubs in sg

43,044 posts since Jun '04

useless comment would be "go eat grass at a soccer field"

did i say smth wrong? correct wat, you want to see stars, JB see is the easier, cuz SG too much lights, cannot see wan.

you want good and cheap food, also in JB. and malaysia is the nearest place to get non local food.

zzz, you stupid then say so la. dunno how to phrase question, when ppl answer to your question you also kpkb. bodoh orang.

Edited by dumbdumb! 20 Jun `08, 1:18PM
    493 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by kalangkabo:

sembawang park (dunno if the restaurant still there and dunno what kind of food they serve)

bottle tree village (near sembawang park) - serves local food

safra yatch club (tenah merah) - again serve local food

pasir ris park (i think got 2 restaurant there)

marina country club (punggol) -  seafood

go and google the yatch clubs and country clubs in sg

Thanks for recommendations, will look out for next week - booked a Shangri-la Hotel instead ;)

5,102 posts since Sep '06
    • lol u said ard $100 or below..

n nw u bk a Shangri-la Hotel instead..

anyway when comes to food, to me,

dun budget la..

cos must enjoy mah..=)

• Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:

lol u said ard $100 or below..

dun budget la..

cos must enjoy mah..=)

that's why, he is so inconsistent, still make so much noise.

nah i don't agree that good food must be expensive. of course.. it will be expensive, but it doesn't have to be THAT expensive ya?

493 posts since Jul '06

useless comment would be "go eat grass at a soccer field"

did i say smth wrong? correct wat, you want to see stars, JB see is the easier, cuz SG too much lights, cannot see wan.

you want good and cheap food, also in JB. and malaysia is the nearest place to get non local food.

zzz, you stupid then say so la. dunno how to phrase question, when ppl answer to your question you also kpkb. bodoh orang.

JB is relatively huge without indicating where exactly I am supposed to visit wouldn't that defeat the purpose? You're like Einstein saying E = Mc^2 without any reasoning.

I'm sure even if there are lights, you can still see stars, unless you're blind or are looking directly at the lights instead.

With the costs induced from the trip there it would already mean half my budget is splurged unnecessarily.

I can see that others can actually come up with recommendations that are located in Singapore, maybe due to knowledge or have visited them. If you can't give any suggestions, just try not to reply.

Thanks those who helped, will google and view. Thought of the Yacht club restaurants too, think those are pretty good

JB is relatively huge without indicating where exactly I am supposed to visit wouldn't that defeat the purpose? You're like Einstein saying E = Mc^2 without any reasoning.

I'm sure even if there are lights, you can still see stars, unless you're blind or are looking directly at the lights instead.

With the costs induced from the trip there it would already mean half my budget is splurged unnecessarily.

I can see that others can actually come up with recommendations that are located in Singapore, maybe due to knowledge or have visited them. If you can't give any suggestions, just try not to reply.

Thanks those who helped, will google and view. Thought of the Yacht club restaurants too, think those are pretty good

dude, whatever you spend on cabfare over there can't fight with marriot hotel la.

firstly you never said it must be in singapore right? did you?

and 2ndly, have you ever went to malaysia to see stars, it's really different from seeing stars in singapore. that's why i recommended so.

don't like my suggestion, you could have just kept quiet yourself, don't reply and stop assuming that any suggestion which isn't useful to you is meant to be sarcastic in nature. icon_rolleyes.gif

11,393 posts since May '04
    • Pasir Ris beach has a little restuarant by the sea. The price is Ok but prepare a little more money lah, just in case you want to eat the more ex items

493 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:

lol u said ard $100 or below..

dun budget la..

cos must enjoy mah..=)

Haha, ya I usually don't budget, but a bit tight now that it's the end of the month. Spent 8k on food/shopping together with my GF already this month. Shangri-la is paid for already, so it's the weekends - why not? TGIF.

@ dumbdumb - I agree that good food doesn't have to be expensive, but at a dining location as such, I expected food prices to not be as I hope for. And my criterias are for a rough guide - in hope for such lobang. IF you have not of such knowledge then it's only fine because I only asked so as to create a range to choose from.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,582 posts since Dec '99
    • a nice place tts not crowded on a fri nite?
      tt place probably losing money or going to close down soon.

Haha, ya I usually don't budget, but a bit tight now that it's the end of the month. Spent 8k on food/shopping together with my GF already this month. Shangri-la is paid for already, so it's the weekends - why not? TGIF.

@ dumbdumb - I agree that good food doesn't have to be expensive, but at a dining location as such, I expected food prices to not be as I hope for. And my criterias are for a rough guide - in hope for such lobang. IF you have not of such knowledge then it's only fine because I only asked so as to create a range to choose from.

hmm.. i usually use ieatishootipost.blogspot.com to find nice places to eat.

since u can spend 8k on shopping, i think no need to budget like poor folks like us la. we eat hum, you eat foie gras. how can we give you advice?

493 posts since Jul '06

dude, whatever you spend on cabfare over there can't fight with marriot hotel la.

firstly you never said it must be in singapore right? did you?

and 2ndly, have you ever went to malaysia to see stars, it's really different from seeing stars in singapore. that's why i recommended so.

don't like my suggestion, you could have just kept quiet yourself, don't reply and stop assuming that any suggestion which isn't useful to you is meant to be sarcastic in nature. icon_rolleyes.gif

Ah, then I apologise. I only thought it was commonsense. Must be my fault for being impartial with all classes of people and neglecting the under-privilleged.

• Originally posted by FireIce:

a nice place tts not crowded on a fri nite?
      tt place probably losing money or going to close down soon.

True ... unless its a very expensive place... :-D

• icon_rolleyes.gif tts why, maybe you should ask your wine tasting buddies or, your "i love ferrari" club members for food advices?

493 posts since Jul '06

hmm.. i usually use ieatishootipost.blogspot.com to find nice places to eat.

since u can spend 8k on shopping, i think no need to budget like poor folks like us la. we eat hum, you eat foie gras. how can we give you advice?

I believe that some actually do have the knowledge and after spending that 8k I have finally come down to have to budget due to unplanned spending habits.

I sincerely apologise to have boiled bad blood inside you and will/might go forward with the "Malaysia stars look better" comment and visit Malaysia once I have time.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,582 posts since Dec '99
    • bottle tree at sembawang not bad

assuming threadstarter got car to go lah

but it's more of a whole-family-go-eat-seafood-dinner kind of place
      for couple perhaps not so lormantik

at the same time u feed yourself, u oso feeding the mossies there
      after the meal can hand-in-hand walk along the beach to find ghosts

493 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by mistyblue:

True ... unless its a very expensive place... :-D

Not sure about the traffic for certain places, have been dining in town due to my workplace location. So was thinking if the Yacht clubs(Sembawang in mind), which serve pretty decent food would be overly crowded.

Please Login or Signup to reply.