06 Sep, 01:15PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Food

Food hygiene...

Subscribe to Food hygiene... 32 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    37,975 posts since May '00
    • There is this stall in a foodcourt which I frequent... They have 2 people there... One of them would be cooking and the other one (cashier) would help to put the ingredients and 'extra' things inside...

So supposingly I always see the cashier put the seaweed from a bowl full of seaweeds into each bowl of soup using a pair of tongs... Because cashier collects $ which can be dirty, so they should not be touching the food directly...

One day I was at the stall again and they ran out of seaweed from the bowl... So the cashier opened up a new pack and started to take the seaweed pieces one by one using her HAND! After she's done with filling the bowl with seaweeds, she happily took up the tongs and use it to take the seaweed from the filled bowl again... -.-"

I really wonder what's the purpose of keep it clean when you're already contaminating the food pieces one by one?

Edited by Devil1976 27 Jun `08, 10:56AM
  • MOUSEHUNT - I GOT CHEESED.
    34,468 posts since Jul '00
    479 posts since Sep '03
  • Je'taime
    10,782 posts since Jan '07
    • Hmmm restaurants are worse because you can't get to see what's happening behind closed doors...

3,991 posts since May '07
    • yeah...there is nothing wrong lah...

you got watch fastfood nation or not...if you watch that, you will never eat outside ever again...

5,863 posts since Apr '03
    1,965 posts since Jan '04
    • aiyar food from outside have always been like tt la. since u so particular den dun eat lor, cook urself lor. u go 10 star or 100 star restaurant, those chefs will also have unhygienic habits la. just because they are hiding in the kitchen and u cannot see them nia

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    11,396 posts since Oct '05
    3,774 posts since Sep '06
    • I believe the soup is boiling hot so whatever germs or what not on the seaweed probably got killed anyway.  So don't worry about!

• Originally posted by honeymouse:

I believe the soup is boiling hot so whatever germs or what not on the seaweed probably got killed anyway.  So don't worry about!

its the X factor that worries me. Scally the hand had been picking nose ? Had been scratching god knows where ?

The other day i was queuing up to buy food from this new hawker stall... 

So there's this window where i could see the food preparation.

the dude before me ordered fish and chips which comes with fries. the fish were ready and on the plate. Then we saw the staff inside grab the fries with bare hands and then drop them muttering hot ... then the staff wiped hands on t shirt and then proceed to grab em up again !!!!

we were both sad.png but i scamper away before they ask me what i wan. 

3,774 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by Ferret:

its the X factor that worries me. Scally the hand had been picking nose ? Had been scratching god knows where ?

the dude before me ordered fish and chips which comes with fries. the fish were ready and on the plate. Then we saw the staff inside grab the fries with bare hands and then drop them muttering hot ... then the staff wiped hands on t shirt and then proceed to grab em up again !!!!

That's grouse!  I don't mind people handle dry food with their hands cos' nothing can stick.  Also, if it's going to be cooked in boiling water, that's fine with me.

Handling hot chips with hands just not on!!!

3,991 posts since May '07
    • I remember watching fastfood nation and they were talking about shit in the patty...lol

1,048 posts since May '05
    • so many times I go hawker ctr, the hawker use his bare hand to take the koay teow or mee, and then use the same hand to collect money, wah lau, I see liao can not eat. very dirty. the stall selling vege rice, I see the house fly landing on the food. I quickly walk away from the queue, u no see never mind see already can not eat

• got one time the PRC handled the food using bare hand, alamak, the finger got cut, can see the wound, not heal yet, adoi, how to eat

10,477 posts since Sep '06
    1,602 posts since Apr '05
    • there's no way to stop mis-handling of food la.

the only way is....

ask govt to fine these hawkers!~

• Originally posted by F.raon.I.R:

there's no way to stop mis-handling of food la.

the only way is....

ask govt to fine these hawkers!~

no use. it will still happen when officers are not around.

i think more hawker education should be needed.

• just now I eat char kwoy teow, the bugger smoking and scarth his head, very dirty old man, next time no more kau kuan this store

783 posts since Jun '08
    • Originally posted by Ferret:

Sometimes, you don't know if they wash their hands after they use the toilets.

• Originally posted by Civilgoh:

hanor hanor icon_cry.gif

• Originally posted by Civilgoh:

if you look at the cooks at takashimaya food court, most of them don't wash hands after going to toilet. I just came out of toilet, saw this cook just walk straight to stall to cook.

some cooks at crystal jade also same same.

783 posts since Jun '08
    • Originally posted by maurizio13:

if you look at the cooks at takashimaya food court, most of them don't wash hands after going to toilet. I just came out of toilet, saw this cook just walk straight to stall to cook.

some cooks at crystal jade also same same.

Oh mine, think I will be affected if I go there to eat and buy food.   

1,682 posts since Dec '07
    37,975 posts since May '00
Please Login or Signup to reply.