08 Sep, 01:39PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Food

BBQ Prawns

Subscribe to BBQ Prawns 51 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
  • Flavour of the Month - Sep
    18,908 posts since Apr '05
    • I am hosting a bbq this weekend and have started to marinade my satay pork and chicken.  I was going to do a prawns dish and goggling a recipe didn't exactly return with anything interesting.

Anyone has any interesting recipe for bbq prawns?  Thanks.

How about squids eh?  Squids smells good and tasty bbqed but the tricky part is the time to keep it on the grill.  I ain't much of a sashimi person so I tend to overcook my food.  Heh heh....

22,379 posts since Aug '05
    • just keep it simple LS, if the prawns are fresh .... I gather those are those thai tiger prawns ? ... or the BC cold water prawns ? ....

marinate them in fish sauce ..... and then squeeze lime over them .....

• awww..........FATUMMMMM........thank you.......fancing catching you at this hour!!!!

yah, i am going to go with the thai tiger prawns.  so, just the fish sauce?  any leafy stuff?  squeeze lime over them ah?  will it cause the prawns to shrink.  hahahaha~~~~  okay okay....don't laugh at my stupidity lah.  pai seh ley.  i novice lah.  *blushing*  but i am serious with that question.  sqeeze lime with the marinade izzit?

thanks so much! :)

• oh, then squid leh?  how long to leave the squids on the grill ah?

also, scallops ley?  marinade with what ah?

pai seh.....

• Originally posted by littlestream:

oh, then squid leh?  how long to leave the squids on the grill ah?

also, scallops ley?  marinade with what ah?

pai seh.....

I'm a fish sauce guy, just slather everything in fish sauce ..... those frozen squid tubes blocks are packed with ice, so you need to give them the briny taste ... see if you can get the california arrow squids, instead of the taiwanese or thai ones .....

scallops ? ... how about just scallop sashimi ? ... icon_mrgreen.gif

• Originally posted by Fatum:

I'm a fish sauce guy, just slather everything in fish sauce ..... those frozen squid tubes blocks are packed with ice, so you need to give them the briny taste ... see if you can get the california arrow squids, instead of the taiwanese or thai ones .....

scallops ? ... how about just scallop sashimi ? ... icon_mrgreen.gif

har ah?  alamak....i followed you leh.  i went to T&T, bought the tiger shrimps liao.  then i bought 2 slabs of salmon.  cost me C$46!!!!  boy, was i shocked!!!!  but boh pian.  already asked the guy to open up the fish for me.

so, okay, i marinaded the prawns liao...as per your suggestions.  didn't buy the squids.  kinda look scary to me.  hee hee....u can tell i don't know how to shop eh?  i bought a lb of scallops tho'.  the biggie kinds.  and i also marinaded it with fish sauce.  kakakaka~~~  me no like sashimi.  cannot pass thru' my throat. :P  u can guess i eat very cooked food....except for veggies. :)

anyways, thanks fatum! :D  i am all set.  just need to skewer them tomorrow.

• if you still want to do the squid, here's a tip

soak them in milk and salt .....

it'll help tenderize the tubes .... cos BBQ squid tend to turn out tough ....

• hanor.....with my "cooked" skills, i'll probably turned it into rubber.  kekekeke~~~

nevertheless, thanks for the tip!  i'll give it a miss, this time. ;-)

hey, u r up early this morning.  anyways, i am going to catch "so u tink u can dance".  u have a nice friday!  bye for now! :)

oh yeah ... did you buy the cedar plank for the salmon ? ... icon_razz.gif

oh, i wanted to but where to buy ah?  my friend has one but i pai seh to borrow ah.

any idea?

• Originally posted by littlestream:

oh, i wanted to but where to buy ah?  my friend has one but i pai seh to borrow ah.

any idea?

I saw them around at the super store or safeway ...

alamak, we no hab superstore or safeway leh.  but i tink the equivalent is loblaws izzit?  okay, i go check tmr.  thanks, fatum!  bye bye le :)

2,445 posts since Aug '05
    • squid? i always marinate them with asyam.

prawns? i like them without marinate. taste the saltiness of the sea

2,445 posts since Aug '05
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,694 posts since Dec '99
    • prawns need no preparation
      just put on the grill, sprinkle salt as u pengkang

and taste their natural sweetness

must be fresh of cos

for squids, i like to spread sambal on them, squeeze a bit of lime
      or can use white wine and some garlic
      wrap in aluminium foil and peng

• you cannot has
    49,661 posts since Dec '03
    4,911 posts since Jul '06
    1,114 posts since Dec '06
    • initially when i read this topic i thought LS is inviting the forumnites over to her house this weekend for bbq sad.png

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    19,429 posts since Dec '99
    • Originally posted by SevenEleven:

squid? i always marinate them with asyam.

prawns? i like them without marinate. taste the saltiness of the sea

thanks but i didn't buy the squids.  kinda scary looking.

yah, i tink i'll go it simple next time, with the prawns.

• Originally posted by SevenEleven:

scallop?, just bbq them but add some galic to go with it

thanks. :)  i marinaded it already...with fish sauce, wine, mirin and a dash of pepper.  turned out great.  not over nor under cooked.

• Originally posted by FireIce:

prawns need no preparation
      just put on the grill, sprinkle salt as u pengkang

and taste their natural sweetness

must be fresh of cos

for squids, i like to spread sambal on them, squeeze a bit of lime
      or can use white wine and some garlic
      wrap in aluminium foil and peng

thanks, FI.......yah.....i'll leave it as it next time 'cos my guests gently complained "too salty".

wow....sounds delicious....sambal squids.  but the ones i see at the market look slimy.  maybe i will try it next time.  i will be hosting another at the end of aug or early sep.

19,274 posts since Jun '03
Please Login or Signup to reply.