Originally posted by FireIce:tt day i went, no see 谢贤
I want to meet his son.....even more Handsome! ![]()
I can't actually recall any good steak places in Singapore, but some of the better steaks i've had of late have been from Rockpool and Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse.
black pepper sauce overload
not too bad
at least not the over-peppery type of sauce whereby u oni taste black pepper and black pepper and 4got abt the steak
Originally posted by Gedanken:I can't actually recall any good steak places in Singapore, but some of the better steaks i've had of late have been from Rockpool and Frankie and Johnnie's Steakhouse.
This isn't actually a steak place per se, but L'angelus serves a very good ribeye.

Steak.. slurp.. i like this one de black mushroom more then the steak. lol!
Originally posted by liquidshadow:This isn't actually a steak place per se, but L'angelus serves a very good ribeye.
Ooh, that looks pretty good. The issue I have with French restaurants is that their idea of medium rare tends to be my idea of rare, so I have to remember to adjust my order. Blue cheese sauce rocks, though!
how come got 1001 ppl tell me dun bother to go astons
but i think if i pass by i will still go try lah
have to prove them right or prove them wrong
and i referring to the katong one
Originally posted by FireIce:how come got 1001 ppl tell me dun bother to go astons
but i think if i pass by i will still go try lah
have to prove them right or prove them wrong
and i referring to the katong one
I think Aston's is really ok. For their prices, it's very good value. I have no complains.
Originally posted by meltz:another good recommendation .. but is on the pricey side … a steak shop at the basement of clark quay the central … they sell meat like Kobe Beef, wagyu beef and Kurobuta pork
Fine Cuts
choose ur own slab of meat...
pay extra $8 for them to cook for u and u can have ur meal there
Originally posted by FireIce:Fine Cuts
choose ur own slab of meat...
pay extra $8 for them to cook for u and u can have ur meal there
a nice deal to recommend.
a western restaurent
Vines Restaurent, Oppesite Novena Velocity, beside de famous chicken rice (Lee Num Kee or wad forget how 2 spell)
the restaurent lunch deals are very reasonable
i tried the salmon set at 8.90. soup of de day+ cake of the day + coffee/tea
i tried the stuffed chestnuts/tenderloin/chicken chop(3 in 1) for 13.50. same with soup/cake n coffee/tea.
got other lunch deals also...those work near there can go try lor
I personally had a lousy experience at Vines.
geez...sad to hear that. but both of my experiences wif my colleagues were quite nice. de food came on time n stuff. reason may be we were there before the lunch crowd, so de service n stuff were better? hahaz. u had lunch or dinner?
got many ppl tell me Vines no nice even though it's there for like...eer... 20yrs?
The standard at Outback dropped like sh|t!
For the kinda price you're paying, it's definitely not worth it!!
Originally posted by corebooster:geez...sad to hear that. but both of my experiences wif my colleagues were quite nice. de food came on time n stuff. reason may be we were there before the lunch crowd, so de service n stuff were better? hahaz. u had lunch or dinner?
It was dinner.
Vines is alright, nothing remarkable, other than the very peppery sauce as I mentioned in my HGW review. Fine Cuts's meats (after cooking) are about the same but they have nicer sides and soup.
Oh, I ate at Astons Express at Sixth Ave today... 2 visits and the 2 different steaks were better than average. Vines has been there in its current incarnation for about 12 years if I remember correctly.