05 Sep, 06:49PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Computer Lab

help me!!

Subscribe to help me!! 29 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,624 posts since Dec '02
    • hi pple.. got a question in mind...
      currently i'm using this com w my siblings, using scv cable to surf net... i'm planning to get another com of my own, but how do i get connected to the same cable?? i heard from my fren that she n her bro have their own computers but are connected to the one cable. so how do i do that??
      thanks??

11,445 posts since Aug '01
    • atually illegal noe..

oh oh..later i report u to my boss ah
      keekek

joking lah..i think there is something call routers..
      but i not sure how it works..

• Originally posted by BufPuf:
      atually illegal noe..

keekek

is it?? but i dun wanna waste $$ to buy xtra cable box since i know can use 1 cable for 2 com...
      will they find out??

• Originally posted by sLaYeRgEr:
      is it?? but i dun wanna waste $$ to buy xtra cable box since i know can use 1 cable for 2 com...
      will they find out??

won't noe lah..

but in case of anytthing spoil or wad..Starhub won't be responsible..and if somebody report u..u will have to pay for it

die ah..me doing attachment for them..i teach u this kindo f thing

19,224 posts since Aug '02
    43,907 posts since Dec '02
    • u hav to get a router to do it, or alternatively, u can get a wireless router..can connect up to 4-lined systems, and many many on wireless lan.

Wat is your budget?

atually illegal noe..

keekek

ooorrr...i noe now u wif Starhub...mii friend is the Technical Manager wif Starhub...will complain to him abt u...u mati...unless u guai guai come over and let me carasss your butt... Laughing

• Originally posted by sgboy2004:
      ooorrr...i noe now u wif Starhub...mii friend is the Technical Manager wif Starhub...will complain to him abt u...u mati...unless u guai guai come over and let me carasss your butt... Laughing

chey
      complain loh
      like i give a shit...

not bcoz of my school results..u think i wan to work meh...

chey
      complain loh
      like i give a shit...

not bcoz of my school results..u think i wan to work meh...

wat happened to your school results???

• we 3rd yer attached to them mah
      den evaluation dpeends on them 1

if they evaluate bad will affect our marks loh
      so...

aiya...cruel

we 3rd yer attached to them mah
      den evaluation dpeends on them 1

if they evaluate bad will affect our marks loh
      so...

aiya...cruel

are u enjoying yourself there? should be ok rite? Wat course u study?

• enjoying?
      the pay is goot..cannot deny..i guess that's the only thing that motivate us loh

me study business loh

enjoying?
      the pay is goot..cannot deny..i guess that's the only thing that motivate us loh

me study business loh

from NP, TP, NyP or RP or Sp?

2,244 posts since Sep '02
      hi pple.. got a question in mind...
      currently i'm using this com w my siblings, using scv cable to surf net... i'm planning to get another com of my own, but how do i get connected to the same cable?? i heard from my fren that she n her bro have their own computers but are connected to the one cable. so how do i do that??
      thanks??

i am sharing mine wiz mine bro.

there r a few ways to achieve this.

one is to use a router and two network cards with one on each pc.

NP loh

aiya can't tok liao
      going home liao

so early..hmmmm...
      so while u are gone, mi smmoooch with xln first.

Mr. Green

u hav to get a router to do it, or alternatively, u can get a wireless router..can connect up to 4-lined systems, and many many on wireless lan.

Wat is your budget?

how does the wireless wk?? cost how much ?
      hmm really no need those wire den can get connected ar??

hey dun threaten her hor.. she helping me...

how does the wireless wk?? cost how much ?
      hmm really no need those wire den can get connected ar??

u use laptop or comp?

U need wireless card leh...will cost abt $400 ...too expensive?

hey dun threaten her hor.. she helping me...

how is she helping u?

u use laptop or comp?

U need wireless card leh...will cost abt $400 ...too expensive?

com.. wah so damn EX... sian...

• u can go sim lim and tell them your problem...and they can advice u there too...

routers with less ports might be quite cheap...i think u hav to get the wired ones liao cos u not using laptop.

Should b affordable lar.

u can go sim lim and tell them your problem...and they can advice u there too...

routers with less ports might be quite cheap...i think u hav to get the wired ones liao cos u not using laptop.

Should b affordable lar.

hmm ok thanks!!

12,045 posts since Nov '02
    • Solutions:

1. Buy a router.
      - Connect 1 of the port (WAN port) to the Cable Modem.
      - The other ports u can use to connect to ur pc. (This will be messy with cable lying ard.) Cable to use is Straight Cable (
      - Need correct configurations to ensure both PCs can dcc out n in files out. (had frds experience such problems before)
      - Cost: $200++

2. Buy 2 network card.
      - The cable modem connect to the faster PC at home (This PC shall act as Server. Lets call this server PC as PC1 and the other PC as PC2)
      - Plug an internal Network Cards to both PCs. Connect both PCs using a Cable (Cross Cable
      - Configuration is simple.
      - Cable will be lying everywhere, from ur rm to ur sibling rm
      - Cost : $100++ (depend on wat Network Card u buy, cheap Netwick Card can cost probably $30++. Very long never check price.)

3. Wireless network. Similiar like using a router but it is wireless lor... But the cost of tat will be very highly. probably $400++

From wat I knew, SCV (Starhub) is able to checking our system whether if we are sharing network at home. Dont ask me how, but I think they are able... Mr. Green

Anyway dont need to care about them one. Almost every frds whom I knew tat had 2 or more pcs at home are sharing the Internet.

I hav a small question to ask the expert:
      For method 2 which I had suggested, instead of using those PCI network card, I replace them with a wireless network card. Can this work?

Edited by edLow 15 Jan `03, 6:23PM
    • Originally posted by edLow:
      Solutions:

3. Wireless network. Similiar like using a router but it is wireless lor... But the cost of tat will be very highly. probably $400++[/list]

From wat I knew, SCV (Starhub) is able to checking our system whether if we are sharing network at home. Dont ask me how, but I think they are able... Mr. Green

just a question...how to connect to wireless router using computers (not laptop) cos laptop uses PCMCIA type of wireless network card, but for computer how har...???

Please enlighten..thanks

Please Login or Signup to reply.