This maybe a flame bait. But i felt compelled to voice it out.Originally posted by Honeybunz:If you all dun serve NS, then who is going to protect the country?
Dun forget : Our nearest neighbourhood is not too friendly sometimes.
If you all dun go NS, then who is going to protect us???![]()
One subject - different perspective.Originally posted by JackOT:As a threadstarter, I'd like to apologise for using strong word in my topic. As many of us still conclude NS is a necessity for Singapore, thus anything that is deem necessary wouldn't be called wasting of time. There are still people who feels "ns is a waste of time", also know the importance of NS for Singapore and I wouldn't doubt their love for our country. I am really just targeting at people who goes around and complain about NS. I admire those who endure in silence, cheers. No need to close this thread, because all the flaming can just aim at me, I will not bear any grudge. =)
Originally posted by Alfa:Then go sign on lah!
There was this quote from my sergeant which made me change my mind about the SAF.
He said that SAF is actually a very good organization but most incentives do not get passed down to where it is supposed to go to. Also goes for orders and such..
I hope all Singaporean guys who serve the army can see a bigger picture and not just whine and blame SAF for your gf running away, not enough money (your pay is better than your maids!), missed opportunities..etc.
I did not enjoy my life in the army, but till now, all the good and bad memories still stay with me, whereas, there seems to be no good memories from my secondary school 'cao beng' days. NS is the place where I get to know all my 'xiong di'. I don't know about most poly or Jcs students who go to the army, but I feel our bunch of secondary school level recruits are more patriotic than those ppl who study more. Is it because our minds are simpler? Maybe...
How come nowadays I see so many ppl trying to make sense of this and make sense of that when everything is so simple? It's just a simple [b]duty.
I feel sad when I read that reservist will be cut to only 10yrs. Every year, I yearn to go back to my buddies. Throw everything behind and go back to the vegetation and 'bah long long', stand sentry and chat with my brothers.
NS really made me a better man.[/b]
I don't see how the 'good organization but most incentives do not get passed down to where it is supposed to go to.' applies to NS guys.Originally posted by Alfa:There was this quote from my sergeant which made me change my mind about the SAF.
He said that SAF is actually a very good organization but most incentives do not get passed down to where it is supposed to go to. Also goes for orders and such..
I hope all Singaporean guys who serve the army can see a bigger picture and not just whine and blame SAF for your gf running away, not enough money (your pay is better than your maids!), missed opportunities..etc.
I did not enjoy my life in the army, but till now, all the good and bad memories still stay with me, whereas, there seems to be no good memories from my secondary school 'cao beng' days. NS is the place where I get to know all my 'xiong di'. I don't know about most poly or Jcs students who go to the army, but I feel our bunch of secondary school level recruits are more patriotic than those ppl who study more. Is it because our minds are simpler? Maybe...
How come nowadays I see so many ppl trying to make sense of this and make sense of that when everything is so simple? It's just a simple [b]duty.
I feel sad when I read that reservist will be cut to only 10yrs. Every year, I yearn to go back to my buddies. Throw everything behind and go back to the vegetation and 'bah long long', stand sentry and chat with my brothers.
NS really made me a better man.
Being born in Singapore already puts you in the advantage. At least you have the chance to grow up safely. You have a better education, you have jobs, you can earn the money and use the money to say, "NO! I'm leaving here."Originally posted by SMAPLionHeart:Can you all imagine being borned in sg just to serve the government?
We are just like living slaves with no option but to do something.
Can we ever say no?
We can't
Our money has been drained here and there , all placed into HDB flats and we can't run at all. We have no say in the final ruling as well.
$400 on average for 20 days of work going by 5 day workweek works out to
$20 a day.What can $20 get? With rising inflation?
No problem.Originally posted by Alfa:[quote]Originally posted by M©+square:
[b]
Maybe it's because I don't really know how to express myself.
Anyway, I agree with you.
Sorry for my insensitivity.
F*** U!!!! Chao Chee Bye!!!! go and sign on and be a regular den.. then go n toture recurits.... I will always hate NS to the CORE... and you can't stop me just like I can't stop u for thinking NS is not a waste of time... NS = total waste of my time!!! my brain not working anymore due to NS and I'm losing out to all the gers in UNI.. blame it on my stupidity, you would say... but it's not... NS = TOTAL WASTE OF MY TIME!!!!! U fu*king idiot... you know what, I don't give a damn whether u think I'm an sissy, whiny guy.. but that's ur problem... I wish I wasn't born here anyway.... so GO TO HELL!Originally posted by JackOT:For those who said "NS is a waste of time", respect my freedom of speech. Today, we celebrate our Nation's 40th birthday, 40 years of independence.
Very often, I see people keep saying "NS is a waste of time". I used to think the same, but I have changed. I just ORD btw, working under some stupid superiors or some scholars with no leadership.
Our duty in NS may be boring, useless, educate us nothing and etc. Remember President John F. Kennedy said, "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country". Can Singapore celebrate another National day if we do not have army(SAF)? SAF has bring security and economic stability for Singapore, it's not the work of some stupid regulars, LTC,COL,BG,MG,LTG and etc. It's the work of many generations of NSF! Be proud if you can serve your HOME and for those who don't serve NS, respect NSF please.
Lastly, we cannot protect what we do not own. This is OUR land, our forefathers had left for us.
Just wanna knock some sense into boys who cry NS is a waste of time. Happy national day.
Why don't you sign on as a regular...?Originally posted by JackOT:For those who said "NS is a waste of time", respect my freedom of speech. Today, we celebrate our Nation's 40th birthday, 40 years of independence.
Very often, I see people keep saying "NS is a waste of time". I used to think the same, but I have changed. I just ORD btw, working under some stupid superiors or some scholars with no leadership.
Our duty in NS may be boring, useless, educate us nothing and etc. Remember President John F. Kennedy said, "Ask not what your country can do for you, but what you can do for your country". Can Singapore celebrate another National day if we do not have army(SAF)? SAF has bring security and economic stability for Singapore, it's not the work of some stupid regulars, LTC,COL,BG,MG,LTG and etc. It's the work of many generations of NSF! Be proud if you can serve your HOME and for those who don't serve NS, respect NSF please.
Lastly, we cannot protect what we do not own. This is OUR land, our forefathers had left for us.
Just wanna knock some sense into boys who cry NS is a waste of time. Happy national day.
Cos he only survived in NS by being a tripod aka san ka kia and he's bull shitting in here...Originally posted by Flashgalaxy:Why don't you sign on as a regular...?![]()
Maybe...you might be right.Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Cos he only survived in NS by being a tripod aka san ka kia and he's bull shitting in here...![]()
Hmm....you know what the pain is?Originally posted by Honeybunz:aiyah... let this thread die lah. close or delete?
It brings up the pain in every guy here.![]()
at least she tried to understand and be tactful, not like some people here..........Originally posted by M©+square:Hmm....you know what the pain is?