-
-
ginna waiting for 'O' level results here~
paiseh ahh i tink this qn haf been asked here quite a number of times liao.. but i still dunno how to choose between this 2.. if ish JC, i might be able to get into a gd 1 thru direct admission using my cca.. but den i still not sure which to choose. if i were to choose poly, den choose wad course?! i dun realli noe wad i like and my strength. and business courses sound boring to me
i dun wanna make the last minute decision then end up
regretting~
somebody please enlighten meeeeee

thx a million!
-
-
-
There's no easy or hard way lor.
Just think of whether u wanna take courses now or u wanna go back to those same old subjects + school uniform lor.
Just remember if u think that A level is a easy way out to university, u're definately wrong. Try thinking if u din do so well for ur A level, what do u wanna do? retake? juz remember to think well man...
Well... for business courses u mentioned... to me as a business student myself, i dun feel that its boring at all. I find it quite interesting.
I hope that u dun take business also, so that i'll hav one lesser competitor
-
-
-
Originally posted by ditzy:ok, then let's make it simpler to comprehend.

Ask yourself if you want to start off real low at the ladder and climb up at miserly rate, or start off somewhere a bit higher and climb up just a little faster?
isit? how u know u wun fall down hard coz u're not used to heights?

-
-
-
jc life is stress that u can never comprehend until u try it...if u are those chiong chiong studies wan...might as well go jc...but no confirm u can make it through...
poly life is slack la...but will occasionally give u peak season where u will have tons of interesting assignments to do...poly life is really more flexible...the subjects are relatively easy if u know how to study smart...
jc even if u piah everyday(which i am sure u won't
) u might not make it...some people even
though they work very hard...just cannot make the cut...
u may call poly an easy way out...but if u really put your hardwork into poly studies...it will be very enriching as well...if not more...
personally...(this is beside the topic)...i don't like jc...cos i feel that there are alot of politics around in jc even at such an age...u will start to compare marks...trying to outdo everyone...sometimes even backstabbing...
in poly...u dun really see everyone comparing marks...so stress level is definately lesser...

-
-
-
Originally posted by R3SsH|n:jc life is stress that u can never comprehend until u try it...if u are those chiong chiong studies wan...might as well go jc...but no confirm u can make it through...
poly life is slack la...but will occasionally give u peak season where u will have tons of interesting assignments to do...poly life is really more flexible...the subjects are relatively easy if u know how to study smart...
jc even if u piah everyday(which i am sure u won't
) u might not make it...some people even
though they work very hard...just cannot make the cut...
u may call poly an easy way out...but if u really put your hardwork into poly studies...it will be very enriching as well...if not more...
personally...(this is beside the topic)...i don't like jc...cos i feel that there are alot of politics around in jc even at such an age...u will start to compare marks...trying to outdo everyone...sometimes even backstabbing...
in poly...u dun really see everyone comparing marks...so stress level is definately lesser...

I agree, and not only that. If u're the chiong study type, U're be able to be the top student. Isn't that nice? lol. Just like what i am now

-
-
-
Originally posted by joeacid:I agree, and not only that. If u're the chiong study type, U're be able to be the top student. Isn't that nice? lol. Just like what i am now

oh yea...that reminds me...even if u are a top student in your secondary school...doesn't mean u will fly high in jc...trust me...i have seen a few...

-
-
-
Originally posted by R3SsH|n:oh yea...that reminds me...even if u are a top student in your secondary school...doesn't mean u will fly high in jc...trust me...i have seen a few...

erm.. i'm not a secondary student~ i'm a business student

But i agree to what u said. It doesn't means a top student can also do well in JC.Edited by joeacid 31 Dec `05, 3:21AM
-
-
-
im currently a masters student in nus, i too had faced the same dilemma as before- personally if you are more comfortable in hands-on skills, poly is for you, if you are more academically inclined, then its JC. If you feel you want to work after studying, then poly is for you. But if you choose JC you must be prepared to work extra hard becos if you cant make into uni, you’ll be wasting that 2 years. JC life is very mundane and stressful-many students may give up-so you got to give the ultimate sacrifice-but once you enter uni, life is much easier….my 2 cents worth.
-
-
-
Originally posted by Efinie:im currently a masters student in nus, i too had faced the same dilemma as before- personally if you are more comfortable in hands-on skills, poly is for you, if you are more academically inclined, then its JC. If you feel you want to work after studying, then poly is for you. But if you choose JC you must be prepared to work extra hard becos if you cant make into uni, you'll be wasting that 2 years. JC life is very mundane and stressful-many students may give up-so you got to give the ultimate sacrifice-but once you enter uni, life is much easier....my 2 cents worth.
ya..i've heard that uni life is much slackened compared to jc life.

-
-
-
You might want to conside the 2 different experiences you will get when chosing your path.
JC offers a more structured life , ie , morning everytime 715 in school 530 finish . The subjects that u study are more on the theory side and indepth .
The cert is also good for studies in the Uk , Australia ,and our NUS,NTU.
Poly life is not so structured, Classes can have 3 ,4 hrs in between , work is graded mostly in grp work with projects. The subjects are more hands - on and practical and you can go to work with the diploma , however , to get into a University , u will have to either work very very hard to be top 5 % ++ or have very deep pockets , can send you to US or London U that will take you because of those deep pockets .
Social Life is also different , in poly , there is more emphasis on Presentation and Grp work then Exams , you will have to learn how to work with people u don't like. But on the other hand, you will have more free time if you plan your time properly, students do have a lot of free time but what they choose to do with it is another matter.
JC is mostly like secondary school , there is a lot of classroom interaction between classmates but little else with other ppl. Small Cliches will form as the year goes by but your friendships will be much closer because of this small environment
-
-
-
hmmz.. when u get into a junior college, it cud probably mean havin straight ticket to local uni.. provided you work VERY hard... for the a levels.. u cant just pass.. u have to pass well with a min of CCC in order to get into a decent course in uni... im not too sure about poly life though.. cauz im just done with my a levels.. but im sure u can read the rest of the replies..
whatever decision u make.. dont regret yar..
-
-
-
Originally posted by Itachi:ginna waiting for 'O' level results here~
paiseh ahh i tink this qn haf been asked here quite a number of times liao.. but i still dunno how to choose between this 2.. if ish JC, i might be able to get into a gd 1 thru direct admission using my cca.. but den i still not sure which to choose. if i were to choose poly, den choose wad course?! i dun realli noe wad i like and my strength. and business courses sound boring to me
regretting~

thx a million!Go to the respective poly's open houses to find out more about each course. The seniors usually will be able to give you a description of what you will learn and show you some materials. Ngee Ann Poly is one poly which does that. Ask around and you will get answers. Listen carefully and study the options carefully and see which one interests you.

-
-
-
Originally posted by Itachi:ginna waiting for 'O' level results here~
regretting~

thx a million!what about your 1st 3 months??????? use that time to go jc, and see how you like it.
-