ur ang mor powderful lehOriginally posted by audlenelee:Hello peeps,
Will be trying to conquer Mt KK this coming July.
However my group are having some disagreements and doubts with which route to take.
1. Mesilau – Laban Rata – Timpohon
2. Timpohon – Laban Rata – Timpohon
Anyone climbed the mountain b4? Can give me some info about the climb (whichever route), and which would be the EASIER route to take?
Bestest if u had tried both routes b4...
Thanks a mill!![]()
yep.. heard some scary stories...Originally posted by Xcert:always got people get lost there from time to time.
remember to bring handphone.best if got extra batteries.
thanks a lot TooFree!Originally posted by TooFree:Hi audlene,
Just to relate an experience on this scenic mountain which I attempted quite a couple of yearsss back. ... I remembered vividly that along the Timpohon track essential infrastructures/signs/features are there to guide climbers for a breathtaking and fullfilling climb to the Laban Rata restpoint for the night. The route to resthouse largely consist of climbing up HDB block from ground to highest floor multiply by n times with the exception that perhape you may need to lift your knee much higher. The early morning climb to Low's peak is more challenging attributing to two factors - sleepiness and darkness.
In my opinion, Mt Kinabalu is a fair climb to attempt, physical strenuous because of its height and thats about it. ~4090m
Hey, I ran a search as I am quite keen on mountaineering mah. It seem Mesilau route is a newer and challenging route to track not unless you guys already tried similar mountain climbing. More often than not, in my humble opinion, it would be best to stick with original route. Safety should be top most agenda.
p/s: Camera is a must to bring!![]()
hohoho...Originally posted by kopiosatu:i want to climb!!!!!
yep, we'll be getting guides.Originally posted by udontknowme:you are supposed to get a guide.
if you dont have previous climbing experiences, i think they will make you guys get guides. its also a lot safer that way. and the guides are cheap anyways...
and bring chocolates. even though you wont feel hungry, do eat a bar (or half a bar depending on size) periodically. its one if the best foods to give you the energy you need. i made the mistake of not eating them until i felt hungry. boy...did i suffer that night
sadly, i cant remember which route i took.
you know...its not a difficult mountain to climb. i really enjoyed it and would gladly go again.
and yeah...isnt the mountain supposed to be something like 'spirit mountain' in english?? oh well...i climbed down on my own. like, absolutely no one at all who would be able to hear me if i screamed. and it was FINE.
Did that when I was 19. From the posts above, I gather the old route is Timpohon. That was what I took at the time. Basically, the route, at least as far as to the laban rate resthouse, is pretty straightforward and involves nothing more complicated than climbing steps. However, i will not say it is very easy. I recall it as being pretty darn exhausting, though I was very unfit at the time.Originally posted by audlenelee:Hello peeps,
Will be trying to conquer Mt KK this coming July.
However my group are having some disagreements and doubts with which route to take.
1. Mesilau – Laban Rata – Timpohon
2. Timpohon – Laban Rata – Timpohon
Anyone climbed the mountain b4? Can give me some info about the climb (whichever route), and which would be the EASIER route to take?
Bestest if u had tried both routes b4...
Thanks a mill!![]()
The Mesilau climb does involve a climb up, then a drop into the Mesilau valley, and then another climb to regain the lost height. That was a great arrangement, as we got to see both routes. Our guide arranged transport (30 RM) to take us back to our car at Mesilau when we reached park HQ. The drive is about 30 mins.In summary, the old route is probably easier for someone who calls him/herself 'undertall'.
Overall, if you've climbed the mt before, I'd recommend the Mesilau route. If not, then the traditional route is probably just as good. If you like to meet other westerners, then the traditional route is definitely better! Pretty jungle the Mesilau way.
Hard to compare distances, but I'd say it should be only about an extra hour the Mesilau way.
Get some mango strips too, it helps (as a morale booster and a secondary source of sugar if anyone has dizzynessOriginally posted by audlenelee:yep, we'll be getting guides.
now we're still deciding whether to go in a group, or to split into 2 groups coz the rest wans to go by Mesilau.
and thanks for the chocolate bar advice. but i thought we're supposed to get 'power bar' or something?
chocolates sounds much better to me sia...
Definitely, it's true that the descent is as tough, if not tougher, than the ascent.Originally posted by lwflee:In summary, the old route is probably easier for someone who calls him/herself 'undertall'.
i gathered so too. but boh koh leng i go that route alone mah. so hafta see what the group decides lor.Originally posted by lwflee:In summary, the old route is probably easier for someone who calls him/herself 'undertall'.
COOL!Originally posted by deathscythe99:Get some mango strips too, it helps (as a morale booster and a secondary source of sugar if anyone has dizzyness)
Oh btw, Mesilau is the newer route, so u can try it, but if you're going for the first time round, try the normal one...
And I'm going up this coming Jun hols. whee~!
yep.. have been telling myself to start my 3x up down my block for at least twice a week..Originally posted by deathscythe99:Definitely, it's true that the descent is as tough, if not tougher, than the ascent.
So to prepare for the trip, please try out the HDB 20storey stairs for a start!
Fitness, is important, as always, for treks like these
climb again lorOriginally posted by alwaysdisturbed:hahz...
i climbed it once...
i dun even noe which route it was...
because malaysia is a popular destination for schools to bring their students to climb...somemore nearer to singapore....so we are more familar with it than Nepal?Originally posted by Troy437:Hey why I asked about mountain trekking no one reply me??
http://www.sgforums.com/?action=thread_display&thread_id=166460