Stop crying out loud like a baby !!!Originally posted by Ponders:Wah... even after I already bring money into singapore.
Serve the NS.
Now the locals chasing me out.
Anyway.. i am already back. Not in SG anymore.
Originally posted by Ponders:what's new? next please..
I went online to check for my Progress Package eligibility when my friends told me that I should received a letter.
I was expecting $100.
Alas, the PP website said i am not eligible. I was dumbfounded.
I went to mindef website and foudn out the reason,
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are [b]Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.
Want PR to serve because they say PR enjoyed economic benefits of Singapore and should repay to the nation.
Excuse me, I am an economic migrant, I brought money INTO Singapore and even got a letter personally signed by the then Ministry of Trade. Who enjoyed economically?
I served their NS and now they tell me this. No $100 for me.
Originally posted by Ponders:if i am u ,i zao liao lo
I went online to check for my Progress Package eligibility when my friends told me that I should received a letter.
I was expecting $100.
Alas, the PP website said i am not eligible. I was dumbfounded.
I went to mindef website and foudn out the reason,
The 40th Anniversary NS Bonus will be given only to NSFs and NSmen who are [b]Singapore citizens. This is in line with the Progress Package and past surplus sharing exercises.
Want PR to serve because they say PR enjoyed economic benefits of Singapore and should repay to the nation.
Excuse me, I am an economic migrant, I brought money INTO Singapore and even got a letter personally signed by the then Ministry of Trade. Who enjoyed economically?
I served their NS and now they tell me this. No $100 for me.
Originally posted by Poolman:Come to think of it , If i'm in your position , i'll get the f*ck out of Singapore , what so f*cking good about Singapore ?
$100 and want me to vote for you ? Thanks but no thanks !
Forgo the $100 and can f*ck the garmen like no tomorrow .
If you have talent like what they say , what the f*ck you doing at Sinapore ? Sinapore so small pool , how many fishes ?
USA so big pool , so many big fishes , got qualification , stay there and earned their US$ , no good meh ?
Australia also not bad , UK lagi good , got football week-in week-out .
Singapore ? Sink-the-port more like it . Sink liao simi lan jiao also bo liao ! !
no this rule has to be abolished...PR (first Generation should not serve NS)...we dun need them due to security reason...and i am sure there must be something wrong with the system...PR should not serve NS in SGOriginally posted by mastdfj:u sua ku ... PRs do serve...
PAP dun nedd your vote...anyway we all know the PP is for this electionOriginally posted by Ito_^:omg. u are really ignorant leh. disgrace.
anyways, the progress package is obviously intended for the coming election. as a pr, u cannot vote, or those below 21 years old so they are not willing to spend money which does not give them political advantage - which i think its very short sighted. its political foothold over the wellbeing of an entire nation.
that is singapore's government to you. and if the government represents the people, that is singapore's "people" to the other countries.
i ain't voting for pap thats for sure.
in SG there is a law...written in words....."All Singaporeans of the xxx age ORD xxx date is entitled to the bonus call PP".Originally posted by Ponders:I think some of your got my point of the thread wrongly.
When Govt declared the NS Bonus package, they said, "in recognition to ALL NSF and NSmen who have contributed to Singapore by serving NS."
So I was asked to serve NS, I HAD a choice to serve or not. But to not serve means I will be denied to ever have the chance of becoming a citizen. As of now, I have rejected the SAF-backed Citizenship but I am still eligible to apply for citizenship.
To be honest with you, I wanted to take Singapore citizenship towards the end of NS. But because of legal implications that may affect my family prejudicially back home, I defered the citizenship offer till dual citizenship is allowed.
Going straight to my point is, IF the Bonus is to recognise people who have contributed to Mindef/SAF. Why are PRs excluded when I can say they "volunteerily" served NS as ALL PRs have the choice not to serve NS.
PRs served NS because they feel an attachment to Singapore, they see Singapore as their home.
PRs having no voice in election is acceptable as it has always been a citizen's right. But to have laws to make PRs serve NS and at the end of it not recognise their effort is simply a cold shoulder in the eyes of PR.
Its not about money. It's about recognition.
To those people who wants to take a snipe at me, I am ignoring your immature comments.
What made you think I made good money in Singapore?Originally posted by storywolf:Stop crying out loud like a baby !!!
Your family and you make good money in Singapore as a PR ! You are given a chance to be citizen , you did not want to , now howl what !!!
All I can say is, i am much older than the average NSF when I enlisted.Originally posted by mancha:You say you are an economic migrant who bring in money, so what is your age?
At what age you serve NS?
You are only a PR, why serve NS? and not become a citizen?
I think you are right. You served NS for F***. And that's what you got.
Foreign women on social visit pass get $100 each time they got F***.
Poor you. No wonder you are pissed.
Sorry, idiots bound to appear everywhere. You can't avoid them.Originally posted by Ponders:I think some of your got my point of the thread wrongly.
When Govt declared the NS Bonus package, they said, "in recognition to ALL NSF and NSmen who have contributed to Singapore by serving NS."
So I was asked to serve NS, I HAD a choice to serve or not. But to not serve means I will be denied to ever have the chance of becoming a citizen. As of now, I have rejected the SAF-backed Citizenship but I am still eligible to apply for citizenship.
To be honest with you, I wanted to take Singapore citizenship towards the end of NS. But because of legal implications that may affect my family prejudicially back home, I defered the citizenship offer till dual citizenship is allowed.
Going straight to my point is, IF the Bonus is to recognise people who have contributed to Mindef/SAF. Why are PRs excluded when I can say they "volunteerily" served NS as ALL PRs have the choice not to serve NS.
PRs served NS because they feel an attachment to Singapore, they see Singapore as their home.
PRs having no voice in election is acceptable as it has always been a citizen's right. But to have laws to make PRs serve NS and at the end of it not recognise their effort is simply a cold shoulder in the eyes of PR.
Its not about money. It's about recognition.
To those people who wants to take a snipe at me, I am ignoring your immature comments.
I wonder which part of the message has gone wrong.Originally posted by Gordonator:hello friend. it's not about the money.
Yup! You served NS for the wrong reasons.Originally posted by Ponders:All I can say is, i am much older than the average NSF when I enlisted.
If you are implying why I am eligible for economic migrant at a young age, please read my earlier post.
As to why i did not take up citizenship, read my earlier post too.
I don't see why foreign women got anything to do with this.
I am not sure what LHL said. but the papers in days subsequent wrote "EVERY NSFs and NSmen on certain dates to certain dates will get the 40th Annive Bonus".Originally posted by Nelstar:Sorry, idiots bound to appear everywhere. You can't avoid them.
Anyway back to the topic, are you referring to LHL's speech?
If I don't remember wrongly, he did refer to citizens earlier and mentioned citizens will get the bonus package before he went into the ns payout.
If it was others then I'm not very sure.![]()
If all PRs made their money and go back.... you think Singapore and survive?Originally posted by mancha:Yup! You served NS for the wrong reasons.
Kudos to our government.
You don't deserve the PP.
You should make your money and go back.
Originally posted by ^tamago^:it is distasteful to see that the discussion is being stooped down to a level of FT vs LT.
the case is only about ponders so we shld all please keep it to that.
FT can contribute, but we give u a chance to be a full-fledge citizen and enjoy all the benefits, u don't, so there is nothing we can do about it.
if say every country gives their citizens money like singapore do, i don't mind have multi-citizenship. but this is not possible.
if government decides to give u PP while u hold a dual citizenship, it's our turn to complain. it'll be unfair to us. just look at the mervyn tan case and u'll noe. we'll also wan recognition in exchange of committing ourselves to singapore only, and we'll ask for even more than you'll be eligible, simply because we're 100% and you're not.
u can't have ur cake and eat it.
i can see ur point about recognition. i also agree with u. but this is not a tit-for-tat thing.Originally posted by Ponders:1) Govt wants a PR to serve NS because PR stay in Singapore long enough to enjoy economic benefits.
2) Govt impose equal restrictions to PR.
3) NS for PR is no different from Citizen NS.
4) Going thru everythign, when its time to reward NSFs, only citizens get it.
So you see, the matter is not about me wanting or wrong in refusing citizenship.
To reward NSFs, they should reward the set "NSF" not the Sub-set citizen NSF. it is a 40th Annive Bonus afterall.
It's like if you work in a Company, then December time your boss can say, sorry, only Sales staff get Bonus since they bring in the income. THe rest of you only produce teh product.
The words were catchy... but I read both TNP and ST quite regularly...Originally posted by Ponders:I am not sure what LHL said. but the papers in days subsequent wrote "EVERY NSFs and NSmen on certain dates to certain dates will get the 40th Annive Bonus".
At that point of time... the LHL's PP and Mindef's 40th Anniv were not really tied to each other yet.
Dual citizenship is the result of the action of a country awarding special individuals who contributed to the country's glorious history without being a member of the country.Originally posted by LazerLordz:Dual citizenship is a consequence of globalisation which cannot be ignored into the future.