08 Jan, 05:50PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

ever wondered wat SAP stands for?

Subscribe to ever wondered wat SAP stands for? 43 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    169,036 posts since Dec '99
    • i come across SAP almost everyday but neber got to know wat it stands for...
      even ppl working in SAP oso cannot tell me wat it stands for......

so wiki says..........

SAP AG (FWB:SAP, NYSE: SAP) is the largest European software enterprise, headquartered in Walldorf, Germany. SAP was founded in 1972 as Systemanalyse und Programmentwicklung by five former IBM engineers in Mannheim, Germany. The acronym was later changed to stand for Systeme, Anwendungen und Produkte in der Datenverarbeitung ("Systems, Applications And Products in Data Processing" ) and since the 2005 annual general meeting the company's official name is just SAP AG.

Edited by FireIce 13 Jun `06, 4:30PM
  • 淘汰郎
    35,938 posts since Aug '05
    1,571 posts since Jun '06
  • August Band - Sunshine
    91,599 posts since Nov '03
    4,698 posts since Jan '02
    • SAP is good only if you follow it's predefined functions and procedures etc. But once you want to do very specific customisation to it, it is hahahhaa......

A lot of companies spent a lot of money on this software. Is it all the hype I don't know. It is just like Lotus Notes which a lot of spore gahmen using it, it don't come cheap. Well maybe to spore gahmen mentality is got pay money software muz be good. How ignorant they are Mr. Green

Someone once told me muz go for got pay money software so if anything cock up can ask for damages claim (read money!!!) from them. If use OpenSource cannot claim money from them hahahaha..... so for companies muz go for got pay money software Mr. Green

11,540 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by sohguanh:
      Someone once told me muz go for got pay money software so if anything cock up can ask for damages claim (read money!!!) from them. If use OpenSource cannot claim money from them hahahaha..... so for companies muz go for got pay money software Mr. Green

hmmmmm.. sounds logical to me.. Rolling Eyes Rolling Eyes

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • if u paid for it u get support and if anything goes wrong u have someone to look for....

open source is good if u have a good techie with you to help with the development.....

however, due to regulatory compliance issues, most organisations choose ready branded products......

4,698 posts since Jan '02
    • however, due to regulatory compliance issues, most organisations choose ready branded products......

You mean there is law issued by the gahmen to state wat software are to be purchased? They don't allow OpenSource software in gahmen agencies? Last I heard Mindef did aggressively promote StarOffice in their desktop PC. Wonder if it take off. The licence cost for software for Mindef is enormous. Imagine the savings if turned to OpenSource.

Mindef money is taxpayers money leh so muz spend wisely and not use the money to cover own backside when trouble crops up Mr. Green

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • MS has special pricings for bulk tenders…..oso have academic pricings for schools and institutions…..

2,131 posts since Apr '05
    • SAF’s new Enterprise System uses this programme. Viewed positively, one can say that it’s sophisticated. But seen the other way round, it’s needlessly complicated and confusing. Training intellectually- and IT-challenged personnel to use it can be very daunting.

15,203 posts since Jan '02
    • mindef switched to openoffice early this year.

recently some other jeng hu chu, dunno LTA or URA, got some ppl propose use OO too they reply say BO KO LENG! WASTE MORE MONEY! the typical microsoft propaganda that opensource is more expensive blah blah blah, then next day mindef reply they're using openoffice now and saved a lot of money in license fees.

the questions is though, are they really going to save any money?
      they've been using MSoffice97 for 9 years now, unless the license only lasts 10 years, there really isn't a need to get a new one. but ok lah, OO today, linux tomorrow! woohoo!

• ★.
    51,465 posts since Sep '03
    • Originally posted by laurence82:
      yeah, i think i know this company

lousy programs they did for SAF

dun remind me of the complicated emmis... Laughing Laughing Laughing

sbs transit also uses it. hmmm...

• ★.
    51,465 posts since Sep '03
    • Originally posted by nismoS132:
      mindef switched to openoffice early this year.

recently some other jeng hu chu, dunno LTA or URA, got some ppl propose use OO too they reply say BO KO LENG! WASTE MORE MONEY! the typical microsoft propaganda that opensource is more expensive blah blah blah, then next day mindef reply they're using openoffice now and saved a lot of money in license fees.

the questions is though, are they really going to save any money?
      they've been using MSoffice97 for 9 years now, unless the license only lasts 10 years, there really isn't a need to get a new one. but ok lah, OO today, linux tomorrow! woohoo!

haha. i still remember they say got crossover date. when it came, no news, no publicity, everybody still happy happy sending parade states in ms office 97.. Twisted Evil

961 posts since May '06
    • SAP schools
      includes HCI, NYGH, CHIJ St Nicks, RVHS, Dunman and...i dont remember
      i know youre not refering to them Laughing

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • Office is jus one of the applications they use
      they may have other hardware and software so must consider the compatibility of platforms...

if one thing screw up then the rest oso affected then who going to answer?

118 posts since Apr '02
    • Actually the most expensive is the employment of SAP Consultants foranalysis the company needs and input the data into the system. SAP come in various modules. Most popular one i think is SAP FICO Module which does Finance stuff etc.

10,614 posts since Nov '03
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • SAP ERP and SAP Business One are being considered by alotta ppl but a lot no have the budget to buy and training the users to use is a chore…..

1,421 posts since Nov '04
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      SAP ERP and SAP Business One are being considered by alotta ppl but a lot no have the budget to buy and training the users to use is a chore.....

SAP business one is for SME lah.... both are differnt products...
      $$$$ also different..

50 posts since Jun '06
    • Originally posted by FireIce:
      i come across SAP almost everyday but neber got to know wat it stands for...
      even ppl working in SAP oso cannot tell me wat it stands for......

S - Stupid
      A - Application
      P - Programme

S - Stop
      A - All
      P - Production

• SAP is for big enterprise... global company.. not for singapore companies (although some singapore company is considered big in singapore but they are relatively small in terms of globa scale)

Many global companies uses SAP to run their operation for the entire asia/europe. They use one single SAP installation in a data center (e.g. Malaysia cyberjaya datacenter) .... and run their entire finance, sales, logistc, HR operation for japan, china, singapore, australia, thailand etc...

which other software can do this? the closest competitor is oracle.. but oracle is no way close to SAP.

however, some kiasu singapore companies still go ahead with SAP implementation...of coz die lah.. you have small budget, don't do proper training, cut development cost... ...

A big scale of SAP project's budget normally is more than 10 million USD/Euro.

• Originally posted by cristy:
      S - Stupid
      A - Application
      P - Programme

S - Stop
      A - All
      P - Production

i know malay version:

S - selalu (always)
      A - ada (got)
      P - problem

184 posts since Jun '06
    4,891 posts since May '04
    270 posts since Apr '06
    • SAP is the name of the european company right?

Using SAP is just like telling people you can google for info online. Not intend to make sence isn't it?

Am i making sence?!?!?!? Exclamation Question Exclamation Exclamation Exclamation Question Question Question

Please Login or Signup to reply.