-
-
Hey! Anyone here used to live at hillview hdbs? I just want to know more about my old neighbours!

Here's some pictures.......
Before demolition ( Pics not taken by me, credits to those who had taken this)...

...... during demolition (images taken by me)
At famous round-about (main entrance)

Blocks 8 and 7(or 9) untouched, last blocks to be demolished....

Komatsu excavator used in demo...

Block 2 under demo ( Ong clinic, nice bread store)

Used to be my block.......

More of block 2

I was there during the demolition, believe me it was LOUD! All the hammering, DONG DONG DONG DONG TING TING TING!!!!!!!
Hillview HDB is no longer there now, what's left were
trees and grass, even the entrance to the carpark at the
round-about was gone too!
So yea, anyone here used to live at
Hillview HDB? Pls reply! Pls!!!
-
-
-
Ah , nostalgic pics .... i use to pass by this area from 2000-2004 , sadly i do not take any pics of them because i didn't knew those flats will be torn down , so when i pass by there again back in 2005 , almost half of the flats there were gone , some still demolishing
About few months ago i went there again and
all are gone! OMG.... now i wonder what are they gonna use for that
huge land ...anyone knows?
-
-
-
Originally posted by Volvo Olympian:Ah , nostalgic pics .... i use to pass by this area from 2000-2004 , sadly i do not take any pics of them because i didn't knew those flats will be torn down , so when i pass by there again back in 2005 , almost half of the flats there were gone , some still demolishing
About few months ago i went there again and
all are gone! OMG.... now i wonder what are they gonna use for that
huge land ...anyone knows?Im told that it was going to be used for building Condos. Stupid condos, made us lost our childhood place!!!
Btw its not really their fault actually ,
the residents voted to have their house changed during the sers
votings. Btw i cant imagine how the condo residents have to cope
with all of the noise and dust. The dust is not so great becuz of
all the nettings and coverings and sprinklers, BUT THE NOISE??? I
couldn't hear myself talking properly when all the hammering was
going on! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=H4nhHnthxco I took a
couple of video of all those hammering and such, but i only
uploaded one... Its kinda laggy but notice how loud the demolition
is!!
We have
to shout becuz of all the noise.
-
-
-
Originally posted by seow:they used cranes lah, floor by floor.
Yeap! Think i've seen them assembling a crane used for hoisting the excavators up to the top floor, which in turn the excavators start hammering and chewing up the blocks. TRUST ME! THE HAMMERING WAS SUPER LOUD! Because the area below the surface that was being hammered was hollow, the already noisy hammering was amplified ( try hitting a concrete surface that has an air pocket underneath and you will know what i mean).
-
-
-
Originally posted by ETboy:sg got use explosive to bring down buildings 1 ah? i didnt knw tat... i tot all along they dun do tat...
YES!!!! It is very rare ! Seen one photo from my textbook showing a block of flats being imploded. I think it is one in a lifetime that you get to see buildings being imploded in SG.

-
-
-
Originally posted by ETboy:den why dun they use explosive to zero the building ? fast and cheap ? and boom 1 sound only rather den the crane chopping down the building
CHEAP? Are you sure? Implosion are one of the most expensive ways of demolishing a building, that's why it made up 1% of the demolition industry, the rest were all conventional methods . And imploding hillview will never be accepted, since it creates a huge amounts of dust and that the condos are in such close proximity.

-
-
-
Originally posted by Scania N113CRB luver:CHEAP? Are you sure? Implosion are one of the most expensive ways of demolishing a building, that's why it made up 1% of the demolition industry, the rest were all conventional methods . And imploding hillview will never be accepted, since it creates a huge amounts of dust and that the condos are in such close proximity.

expensive meh ? but explosive like very cheap wad... no meh ?
-
-
-
Originally posted by initiald_344:Wao.. looking at the HDB blocks really bring back memories .. used to stay at blk 5

Hi yer neighbour! Used to stay at blk12! Lvl15 ... Hmm why not describe some of your precious memories about hillview?? Btw i dont really know where the curry puff store had move to, since i myself was looking for the Jalapadi? roti prata store. Nice prata store!
Hey everyone share your Hillview memories with
us!
-
-
-
Originally posted by NT2:to me Hillview memories = NS memories
Lol
To me
Hillview = baby/childhood place! Remember used to play with my
cousin near his blk the playground, we keep on digging until dig up
a pile of dog poo!
Then at
my own house, i used to sit in a plastic tub and spin myself, kinda
idiot right? Im just 5 yrs old! I did this while watching a
cartoon. Then everytime there's a new year coming up, the market
place is always buzzling with business during early morning
onwards... My favourite "tao hua" drink store is also located at
the market. Anyone knows where the chicken rice store had move to?
I used to have chicken drumsticks there... I also remember that i
used to ask my mother buy a TOY GUN for my game console , which
requires a gun for certain games.
My mum
said" That is not the one lah boy. The real one you cannot use
yet!" My kindergarten is also located at the Bukit Gombak CC, sadly
it was the first building at hillview to go.
Followed by the market, the coffeeshop
then the blks. Erm initiald_344 , you used to stay
at blk 5? The one next to the CC ? My cousin used to stay there!
Look at the first pic in this topic, it should say " My cousin
block" , is that your block?Edited by Scania N113CRB luver 27 Oct `06, 11:26AM
-