no leh, most interviewers won't ask that question since almost everyone cited a change of work environment as the rsn.Originally posted by Nikar2:ok, in my resume, i stated that i leave my current job due to a need to "seek a change in enviroment and better career prospects".
but i'm 101% sure that if i kenna called up for job interview, those HR folks will be sure to ask me: "Can you elaborate more on what you mean by change of enviroment and better career prospects? like?"
then how? die liao. the truth why i quit my current job is because my boss always bully me like KNN dog.....haiz.....of course, i can't tell these negative stuff to them or complain about my previous boss, right?
thanks all!
nikar.
i don't really agree with saying the truthOriginally posted by FireIce:say the truth so u dun have to lie again to support ur lie in future.......
you dont need to tell them the history why you leave.Originally posted by Nikar2:ok, in my resume, i stated that i leave my current job due to a need to "seek a change in enviroment and better career prospects".
but i'm 101% sure that if i kenna called up for job interview, those HR folks will be sure to ask me: "Can you elaborate more on what you mean by change of enviroment and better career prospects? like?"
then how? die liao. the truth why i quit my current job is because my boss always bully me like KNN dog.....haiz.....of course, i can't tell these negative stuff to them or complain about my previous boss, right?
thanks all!
nikar.
very nice analogy..i 100% agreeOriginally posted by FireIce:say the truth so u dun have to lie again to support ur lie in future.......
what if you find a truth to support that lie in the future?Originally posted by FireIce:say the truth so u dun have to lie again to support ur lie in future.......
That doesn't really bode well for you.Originally posted by Nikar2:thanks a lot, guys!
i think i'll say i'm looking for a more interesting and happening enviroment. i don't dare to say "i'm looking for a more challenging job" because i scared later if i really get the job, they'll give me lots of work with super-tight deadlines so that it's more "challenging".
another thing: some companies let you sign the letter of appointment and in that letter, it's stated that you or the company need to give each other's 1 month advanced notice should either party fire either one(meaning, the company has to give you 1 month notice if it fires you and vice versa).
what if i choose to resign and leave before the 1 month is up(meaning that i resign the next day etc.)? will i get sued? because the letter of appointment never mention the consequences if we breach the 1-month notice....or perhaps singapore got some employment acts for this?
thanks all!
nikar.
Companies no matter how small usually have an employee handbook you should request for, and in it states clearly how you should go about terminating your employment even if its less than a month's notice. Usually if you quit within the first month, only 24hours notice is needed. No penalties unless its stated in your appointment letter.Originally posted by Nikar2:thanks a lot, guys!
i think i'll say i'm looking for a more interesting and happening enviroment. i don't dare to say "i'm looking for a more challenging job" because i scared later if i really get the job, they'll give me lots of work with super-tight deadlines so that it's more "challenging".
another thing: some companies let you sign the letter of appointment and in that letter, it's stated that you or the company need to give each other's 1 month advanced notice should either party fire either one(meaning, the company has to give you 1 month notice if it fires you and vice versa).
what if i choose to resign and leave before the 1 month is up(meaning that i resign the next day etc.)? will i get sued? because the letter of appointment never mention the consequences if we breach the 1-month notice....or perhaps singapore got some employment acts for this?
thanks all!
nikar.
tell them the truth, and tell it nicely to justify yourself alsoOriginally posted by Nikar2:ok, in my resume, i stated that i leave my current job due to a need to "seek a change in enviroment and better career prospects".
thanks all!
nikar.
Originally posted by Nikar2:But without tougher jobs, I dun think your income would likely to be increased as well. If you are switching jobs at the same level, the increment would most likely to be minimum.
[b]thanks a lot, guys!
Most company would just require you to buy back the one month of service that you are supposed to fulfill. If you are really that determined to leave the company, managers would understand that it is pointless to keep you in your position for that one month. You would most probably be just wasting oxygen in the office premises.
Why so indecisive? Saying 1300 and above makes you look incompetent in making decisions. Give a whole figure, not 1300 and, or, maybe.Originally posted by Nikar2:thanks guys!
one more thing: if my current salary is S$1300 now and when i apply for the same level of job/position and they ask me what is my expected salary, should i say "I'm aiming for S$1300 and above"? is that cocky? because after getting S$1300 as my salary for the past year, i hate to see myself earning any less than that.
thanks all!
nikar.
Make yourself dispensible then they won't wait one month just to sack you~Originally posted by Nikar2:another thing: some companies let you sign the letter of appointment and in that letter, it's stated that you or the company need to give each other's 1 month advanced notice should either party fire either one(meaning, the company has to give you 1 month notice if it fires you and vice versa).
thanks all!
nikar.

can make yourselve indispensible then fire the boss, then they will increse the pay?Originally posted by ^tamago^:Make yourself dispensible then they won't wait one month just to sack you~
yapOriginally posted by digicharat:tell them you aiming for $3100/mth.
when they heard you saying that, they will be so shocked that they think you must be very competent to ask for that amount for that level of job. and they will sure hire you.
really.
did you get the job?Originally posted by mrsmall:yap
my policy always tell truth
i attend interviews many
almost all same. Example one of my experience
below
Interviewer(Ir): why you wan to change
after so long you work there?
my ans(Ms): only $
Ir: But your current salary is not less, you know?
Ms: But I can deliver lot from me
Ir: So you give more when you getting more
Ms: Yap try my best
Ir: I dun understand
Ms: Very simple. Everybody working for $.
you must give price for the good quality product.
this theory can applies here also. Am I correct.
Ir: laugh ha ha ha. OK Mr thats all. Yes or no we'll
contact you in a weeks time. Thanks for coming. Bye
Ms: Ok bye.
My current employers asked me this when i interviewed here.. and I just told them i took the retrenchment package wahaha.. but seriously, when they asked me to elaborate, i just said, the place had offered me everything I have to learn, and i am very hungry to learn more, so it was time to move on.. strangely it worked here lehOriginally posted by Nikar2:ok, in my resume, i stated that i leave my current job due to a need to "seek a change in enviroment and better career prospects".
thanks all!
nikar.