if can, they will help to get back the money from the offender. but it isn't always so easy. it would depend on quite a number of factors i guess.Originally posted by zeny:Then can I check with you, if the crook cheated people of 1 million dollars and he say that he spent it, will the police help the people to get the money back from them or just hack care and tell the people he spent it?
Originally posted by rocky_509:So many interesting story keep it up guys..
Yup that guy show off.I got sensed that he will be fined for misusing the
warrant card.So yeah that's it.Hope TS complains to the NEWPAPER.
Good luck!![]()
I tink there must a punishment somehow lor .. if not i guess he will never learnOriginally posted by AndrewPKYap:I hope he gets away with a slap on his wrists... as long as he learnt his lesson, just forgive and forget...
Thanks for your effort in explaining. I understand the police got a job to do. In fact when I first heard that the police was checking and asking for me, I volunteer myself to the police post for recording of statement... but then another two came to me ? They also spoke to my sister, wife and personally talk to my mum. I still do not think so many time and effort should be spent in this investigation unless foul play is suspected. I am glad that the police have this routine as it means that other cannot bully their elder but to this extend is abit too much. As compare to my earlier incidents, the police is like, bo chap at all.. you know what I mean ...Originally posted by Tiggerific:your mum ( i assume that she is an elderly person) had a fall. the purpose is asking what happened is not just to ensure that elderly abuse took place. another purpose is to find out what had transpired, the injuries she suffered (if any; head injuries are of utmost importance) etc.
Why the trouble, you ask? Well, for one, it has to be ensured that no foul play is involved. I understand that you might be apalled at the suggestion that you would hurt your own mother, and rightly so. But do understand that these are some questions that need to be asked. You would be surprised too, to know that sometimes, people do hurt their elderly parents for their own selfish reasons.
Anyway, You might wonder why should such questions be asked. Well, it is because for elderly, sometimes they fall, suffer injuries, get admitted into hospital, and eventually pass away. It's a common circumstance for them to leave us; quite a number leave this world that way. Asking them (as well as their kin) what had happened is just to find out what had happened lah. if head injuries were sustained, usually a statement will be recorded. usually the fall is an accident anyway, so the statement will be used to make it official lah. as evidence that no foul play was involved.
I wouldn't say that the Police have better things to do lah. But rather, we have quite a number of things to do. I hope my explanation has helped clarify the matters you brought up.![]()
No. He will fly with the hose.Originally posted by Sagara:I'll love to see him flying around with a hose.![]()
We can also let him shoot with an impulse gun.Originally posted by ermintham:haha i cant do that also..
but i will use lifepak 12 on him
Haiz this only shows that the police only cares about the big amounts and hack care about the small amounts.Originally posted by Tiggerific:if can, they will help to get back the money from the offender. but it isn't always so easy. it would depend on quite a number of factors i guess.
if it is this case that you suggest, ie cheating of 1 million dollars, the commercial affairs department (CAD) would be doing the investigation due to the amount of money involved. for a case like that all effort would be spent in trying to get back the money.
but it isn't always so easy. if the offender has indeed spent all the money and has no money to pay back, then jail is the result. if he still has the money, then it would be recovered and given back to the victims. and the offender would then get thrown into jail.
wow. I must say that your reply is a total eye opener for me, simply because I have never read such a load of bollocks in my entire life. regardless of whether it is a massive amount of money involved or a small one, should you make a police report then police intervention is already underway.Originally posted by zeny:Haiz this only shows that the police only cares about the big amounts and hack care about the small amounts.
I understand lar..
No wonder so many people who lose small amounts of money like $10k to cheats do not even borther calling the police.
I got a question for you, if a policeman is cheated of $10k will the police go after the cheat and force him to pay back the money? Or the police wil just say to the poor policeman, " Hey he spent all the money liao lar"
o btw is isn't always so easy rite?![]()
curious to know your rank in the force. You seem to be very patient. My hat off to you. For some other people, I supposed they would have lost their steam already.. Anyway, I hope your effort is not wasted.. all the best to you..Originally posted by Tiggerific:wow. I must say that your reply is a total eye opener for me, simply because I have never read such a load of bollocks in my entire life. regardless of whether it is a massive amount of money involved or a small one, should you make a police report then police intervention is already underway.
the only difference is this: if it is a massive amount of money involved, then CAD will be the ones taking the case. if the amount of money isn't as large, then it will be undertaken at divisional level by a Commercial Crime Squad (CCS).
And no, you do not call in the Police when you lose small amounts of money like $10k. I do not think it is a small amount, though you may, but that is totally besides the point.
If you lose an amount of money, any amount, when you get cheated, then you make a police report. if you sense any crime ingredients leading up to your loss of money, then you make a report. why? because if you call in the police, they cannot generate a police report for you. reports can only be generated by police post counters.
and you're wrong too about people not informing the police about them being cheated. CAD and CCS get plenty of reports from people who get cheated. I wonder who fed you with your info. They're obviously wrong. Very, very dead wrong.
And if a policeman gets cheated of his money, everything is the same. he is treated like a victim, just like everyone else.
the only difference is, the Investigator might not need to record his statement since, being a Police officer himself, he should be able to record his own statement before despatching it to the investigator involved. If need be, then a further statement will be recorded.
but then, you won't hear of such cases often because cheating cases usually arise from business matters. and being coppers, we aren't supposed to be involved in any other business besides our own profession.
whether he gets comments like 'he spent the money liao' or not would depend on who he is talking to i guess? since different people will inevitably say different things?
and yes, it isn't always so easy. it very seldom is.![]()
hmmm.. this one i'm not quite sure on how to answer you. but i do have a few guesses. the policemen could be from different departments/divisions; or they could be from the hospital post but different shifts, or maybe one of those who you spoke to was an investigator on call that particular day. It could be lah.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Thanks for your effort in explaining. I understand the police got a job to do. In fact when I first heard that the police was checking and asking for me, I volunteer myself to the police post for recording of statement... but then another two came to me ? They also spoke to my sister, wife and personally talk to my mum. I still do not think so many time and effort should be spent in this investigation unless foul play is suspected. I am glad that the police have this routine as it means that other cannot bully their elder but to this extend is abit too much. As compare to my earlier incidents, the police is like, bo chap at all.. you know what I mean ...
you're right, ythe one who called you was an investigator from traffic police. i think he only called you in the middle of the night because that's when he's free? cos they are usually on shifts, and amongst all investigators, they one of the busiest lot. quite a bit happens on our roads, you see. the one who picked up your call was an operator; after receiving your call the information was forwarded to TP. It is highly likely that the Investigator wasn't around when the info was forwarded, which was why he had to call you in the dead of the night to find out again what happened, in detail.
I got another incident where there is this civi driver in a police car. I was behind it. He suddenly stop in the middle of the road when there was no other vehicle at all. I had to brake hard unless my son fell and sustain a cut. I overtook the car and saw the driver face being very red ( evident of drinking). Next to him was a girl with heavy makeup. I tried to stop him and he refused. After several attempts, I gave up. I called 999. That time was about 11 pm in the night. I complained and mentioned too that I am concern as, if the driver is indeed drunk, accident may happen.
The detective called me in that night at 3 am to ask question like, are you sure he was drinking and which way did he go... I told the officer all these in my first call and now they chose in the middle of the night to call me and disturb my sleep. Then the guy say will check and revert but never did. I can't remember the guy name and never got a chance to call him back. It is like, you complain me, I give you hell kind of feeling came over me ...
No offence la.. these are past incident and I don't really harbour ill feeling. It's that somehow posted similarity so I give my account too although nothing good but if the police is concerned on the nagative feedback, well surely our complains here will comes in handy, don't you think so. BTW, when I left school, I actually applied for the police. Was rejected because I wore glasses ... hmmm so ironic that I am against them now ...Fret not, no offence is taken at all.![]()
haha.. thank you for your kind words.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:curious to know your rank in the force. You seem to be very patient. My hat off to you. For some other people, I supposed they would have lost their steam already.. Anyway, I hope your effort is not wasted.. all the best to you..![]()
Thank you.. oh before I forget ( well I almost forget ), there was once I joined the police for a fishing trip to Sibu a few years ago. Well police are human afterall and I supposed without those uniform you tend to forget that they are actuall a policeman ...Originally posted by Tiggerific:haha.. thank you for your kind words.
anyway, i'm just a sergeant with still lots to learn.and i try to do what i can lah. perhaps being in this line, dealing with all sorts of people is making me more patient. haha..
I always believe in explaining to people the rationale behind some of our actions, because, to quote your example of your mum in hospital, the family members will always give me a perplexed look when I inform them that the hospitalisation of their parent has been classified as a police case by the doctor.I understand how they feel, and usually after explaining all's fine. Sometimes, people just want to know why we do certain things we do. And usually after explaining the rationale behind some of our procedures, they feel better.
I hope my effort is not wasted too. If anyone wishes to ask any question he/she can always ask me. I'll do what I can lah. But if it would enroach on the Official Secrets Act then I must apologise, for I really cannot do anything then.
All the best to you too.![]()
haha.. yeah, i do know that your main concern are them black sheep.Originally posted by eviljustice:hm. tigger, we nv sae police no gd. we r just saying some black sheeps in e squad. u need not explain to us everything. cuz we are onli concern abt those black sheeps. yes. we can deny tat w/o police, singapore will be in deep mess. however, there is always a 'but' in every situation.
well said *clap*Originally posted by Tiggerific:haha.. yeah, i do know that your main concern are them black sheep.
black sheep abound everywhere, in every organization. however, having said that, I strongly believe that they are a cause for concern, especially in our line, because there is trust placed in this moral fabric which is our vocation.
after all, if people come to us, it means that they require our help. and if the one you need help from cannot be trusted, then who can you trust?
And I do agree with you: there is always a 'but' in every situation. It's just something that we all have to deal with I guess.
the best is to whack the black sheep: take their wool and make them go 'yes sir, yes sir, three bags full'.
But, on a more serious note: to those who have helped hit out at the black sheep, thank you.![]()
Haha I see.. yeah, sometimes it's like that lah. The uniform has... I don't know how to say it, 'effects'? Both on the public's perception and on the coppers themselves.Originally posted by ORIGAMIST:Thank you.. oh before I forget ( well I almost forget ), there was once I joined the police for a fishing trip to Sibu a few years ago. Well police are human afterall and I supposed without those uniform you tend to forget that they are actuall a policeman ...
thank you for your kind words. *bows*Originally posted by eviljustice:well said *clap*
First of all, we are only hearing one side of the story. For all we know the TS's bro could be the one that was aggressive. He could have been insisting that the dog was his. Just imagine you minding your own business walking down a street with ur dog then out of the blue a stranger comes out and accused you of stealing his dog 2 years ago when the dog is actually urs... would you not argue back with him?Originally posted by abnn:Incident happen yesterday. My bro together with his wife + 2 kidz was on the way home while he saw a guy holding a dog, and that dog look like the dog we lost 2 yrs ago. So my bro went up and have a closer look, but the guy was like so nervous and asked her gf to go up his hse to get his "police warrants". Awhile, his friend came down with his gf, that guy shown the "police warrants" to my sis in law ask her where she stay, my sis in law insists she is not going to say, that guy then give her warnings around 3 times to ask her her adddress.
**** ok the top one I do not wanna tell grandma story ****
in the end, they end up in police station ... after everything .. then we realise the so call policeman is only a NS police ... faint ....
so my bro lodge a complaints and when he finished the complaint, the police in the station said the HQ (dun know which head) is coming down so got to stay there ... but i was too tired to kpo ... haha ...
may I know wat will happen to that NS police ? (I tink the complaint is "Misuse of power of policeman")
Your reply really sadden me as to how police really treat the people who have been cheated. It only shows one thing. Even if people do report the lose of their money to the police, will they really doing anything about it?Originally posted by Tiggerific:wow. I must say that your reply is a total eye opener for me, simply because I have never read such a load of bollocks in my entire life. regardless of whether it is a massive amount of money involved or a small one, should you make a police report then police intervention is already underway.
the only difference is this: if it is a massive amount of money involved, then CAD will be the ones taking the case. if the amount of money isn't as large, then it will be undertaken at divisional level by a Commercial Crime Squad (CCS).
And no, you do not call in the Police when you lose small amounts of money like $10k. I do not think it is a small amount, though you may, but that is totally besides the point.
If you lose an amount of money, any amount, when you get cheated, then you make a police report. if you sense any crime ingredients leading up to your loss of money, then you make a report. why? because if you call in the police, they cannot generate a police report for you. reports can only be generated by police post counters.
and you're wrong too about people not informing the police about them being cheated. CAD and CCS get plenty of reports from people who get cheated. I wonder who fed you with your info. They're obviously wrong. Very, very dead wrong.
And if a policeman gets cheated of his money, everything is the same. he is treated like a victim, just like everyone else.
the only difference is, the Investigator might not need to record his statement since, being a Police officer himself, he should be able to record his own statement before despatching it to the investigator involved. If need be, then a further statement will be recorded.
but then, you won't hear of such cases often because cheating cases usually arise from business matters. and being coppers, we aren't supposed to be involved in any other business besides our own profession.
whether he gets comments like 'he spent the money liao' or not would depend on who he is talking to i guess? since different people will inevitably say different things?
and yes, it isn't always so easy. it very seldom is.![]()
If a police report has been created, the case will be referred to the investigator in-charge, who will then do his own follow up on the case, ie contacting the victim to find out further information, checking for past history of complaints against the alleged offender, if there are any more victims of the company, etc.Originally posted by zeny:Your reply really sadden me as to how police really treat the people who have been cheated. It only shows one thing. Even if people do report the lose of their money to the police, will they really doing anything about it?
Since you are in the police force, I would like to know many times have u seen a case being solved and the money being return to the owner?
Have you ever lost $10k before?
hm. to add on what tigger had sae. yes it indeed takes some time. cuz 2 yr ago i lost my hp in a snookerium. den i reported e case to e police whu went to e place n watch e cctv n they found e guy. after a few mths, they sent a letter informing me that the guy was caught n send to imprisonment. i called back to ask for my hp. the police said, the handphone was sold, n they had no rights to take it back from e shop as the shop itself was a victim too. they did not noe tat e phone was stolen. if i wanted the phone bad, i haf to engage a lawyer n appeal to e court. sad.Originally posted by zeny:Your reply really sadden me as to how police really treat the people who have been cheated. It only shows one thing. Even if people do report the lose of their money to the police, will they really doing anything about it?
Since you are in the police force, I would like to know many times have u seen a case being solved and the money being return to the owner?
Have you ever lost $10k before?
I think in law, you can still have your handphone back as the shop had bought over without the property rights transferred to him. You see, the thief do not have the owner right ( he stole from you ), so when he sold it, he sold it without the right.. This right is still with you, you are the owner ... so technically you can get it back ... I am not a lawyer so I can't tell you how you can take it back except that you may need a lawyer ... anyway two years ago, the shop would had sold to someone else ... may not be easy to take back the same set.. At least you see justice done ...Originally posted by eviljustice:hm. to add on what tigger had sae. yes it indeed takes some time. cuz 2 yr ago i lost my hp in a snookerium. den i reported e case to e police whu went to e place n watch e cctv n they found e guy. after a few mths, they sent a letter informing me that the guy was caught n send to imprisonment. i called back to ask for my hp. the police said, the handphone was sold, n they had no rights to take it back from e shop as the shop itself was a victim too. they did not noe tat e phone was stolen. if i wanted the phone bad, i haf to engage a lawyer n appeal to e court. sad.
Originally posted by abnn:My bro was not aggressive, how can he be aggressive when he is with his wife + 2 kidz (less than 2 yrs old)
[quote]Originally posted by nikoz:
[b]
First of all, we are only hearing one side of the story. For all we know the TS's bro could be the one that was aggressive. He could have been insisting that the dog was his. Just imagine you minding your own business walking down a street with ur dog then out of the blue a stranger comes out and accused you of stealing his dog 2 years ago when the dog is actually urs... would you not argue back with him?
My bro was not aggressive, how can he be aggressive when he is with his wife + 2 kidz (less than 2 yrs old)
This whole thing sounds a bit fishy to me. It could also be the guy walking his dog felt threatened by her bro's attitude. And dont think just because this guy is a NS police you can bully him. Cos as long as he carrys the"police warrant card", he is more than able the request to see tho not withhold ur IC, moreover he seemed to have followed the proper procedure by giving her warnings 3 times.
so sorry to say, what's there to be fishy? he is not walking his dog, but the dog is in his arm. and in the first place, you mean NS police man will have "NS police" written on his forehead? And to what i know, even a off duty policeman cannot request for IC. (please any policeman correct me for this)
I believed they end up in the police station was apparently not the TS's bro idea but rather the 2 NS policemen's decision. I am assuming that both were NS policemen cos TS mentioned "asked her gf to go up his hse to get his "police warrants". Awhile, his friend came down with his gf, that guy shown the "police warrants".
You are wrong again this time, the NS policeman did not even mention to go police station, is my bro who want him to go with him. And when my bro is heading to the station, he is still reluctant to follow.
PS: I did not mention 2 NS policemen. if you cannot read the thread properly then I rather you read it again before replying.
The police are not so dumb just to take the TS's bro's word for it, They will also listen to the guy with the dog and his gf as well. And dont for a minute think many would seriously belief the TS's when she says..."actually my bro just wanna confirm the dog is in good hand lor " Yea right! If that was really the case than i dont think all these problem would have come up.
Yes indeed you are right, policemen will not ONLY take my bro's word. They did interview for both party sepeartely. Ya if that guy would allow the dog to be seen by my bro (or even more courteous) then ya .. all these problem would not have come (I agree) but sad to said ..
PS: NS police took out warrant give warning correct procedure ... OMG
As for the NS policeman, you may be disappointed to know that Sg police dont usually punish their own unless there are very damning evidents which in this case there isn't only your words against his, their words against yours won't be good enough. But ur bro may have a record with the police after this case even tho how light it may be, they could keep records like he would make claims of police abuse of power quite easily and if future his words against any other gov servant won't have much credibility anymore.
Don't worry for this, the 2 big shot from the HQ has already given my bro words that they will keep him update. what record will my bro have? you mean complains record? ooooo i see ....
BTW, you know the power of civilian's mouth (complains) + the power of MP ?