It's under 16 if I'm not wrong. Above 16, he will be charged in court and trial as an adult.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Nobody ever said that he shouldn't pay the price, no worries.
He's below 18, still a minor. Under Singapore jurisdiction, the most he will receive is a fine, Boy's Home or both.
Yes but he will learn from the shame. Nobody will want to go Boy's Home or suffer a national shame like this.Originally posted by dcx:If this guy will to be left off with light punishment (From a % of citizens' views), then next time, can i say that below 18, as a minor, can just punch anyone out there on the road?
I see you "bio" my char bor, i not happy, i punch you. But i'm not worried becoz i'm still under 18, still a "minor", the penalty or punishment i'll get will prob. be just doing some community services or warnings or light sentences which i can afford...????
Is that true?![]()
If you're referring to statutory rape, yes. Offences like battery, no.Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:It's under 16 if I'm not wrong. Above 16, he will be charged in court and trial as an adult.
no lah, i oso used the wrong word, there is indeed no teenager in law termsOriginally posted by Rock^Star:There's no such term as "teenager" in law. He's a minor if under 18.
didn't show his face to the world, where is the shame??Originally posted by Rock^Star:He has already lost so much face.....crying when the police came, that's shameful enough. Cut him some slack.....And it's over the national press too, still not shameful enough?
minor refer to young person n children below 16 years old under children and young persons actOriginally posted by Rock^Star:If you're referring to statutory rape, yes. Offences like battery, no.
What about people in school, relatives, friends, parents etc? And he brought shame to his school, one of repute.Originally posted by Kenashi:didn't show his face to the world, where is the shame??![]()
maybe his school mates, relatives, friends doesn't even know itOriginally posted by Rock^Star:What about people in school, relatives, friends, parents etc? And he brought shame to his school, one of repute.
He may probably feel like committing suicide now, given his weak mentality.
You are very unhappy BECAUSE you are one confused person... but of course you do not think yourself confused... if you know that you are confused, you stop being confused immediately... life is like that... hahahaOriginally posted by Darkness_hacker99:Yes. I am a very unhappy, but not confused person. I only have a small social group of friends but that doesn't mean I don't get along well with them.
Perhaps it would be helpful if you could cut and paste the exact words here. From what I understand, the Children and Young Persons Act of Singapore only states "child" and "juvenile", which are below 16.Originally posted by Kenashi:minor refer to young person n children below 16 years old under children and young persons act
Right. No one wants or likes to be punched infront of so many people, especially by a "minor".Originally posted by Rock^Star:Yes but he will learn from the shame. Nobody will want to go Boy's Home or suffer a national shame like this.
Don't think you have ever been through his situation before. I have been expelled from school before but was given a second chance. 12 years later today, I still treasure it very much. It was shameful enough just letting my entire circle of friends, relatives and schoolmates know. Excruciatingly shameful.Originally posted by Kenashi:maybe his school mates, relatives, friends doesn't even know it
so?? i don't think he care so much for his school in the first place
committing suicide?? i can hardly agree that a person like that will do something like thismore likely he trying to find the address of the bus driver to kill him first
I do not disagree with public caning, why not? He will bear it in mind and never repeat his mistake again. Just don't think there's any punishment like this anymore.Originally posted by dcx:Right. No one wants or likes to be punched infront of so many people, especially by a "minor".
I just feel that this "minor" needs to be punished through some physical punishment. Canning, is that good enough?
I believe you've seen public canning in school, right? Try to justify that when a student is being public canning in school, due to some faults/wrongs he has done in school, especially physical abuse (beating up) of other students.
Now, this incident does not happened in school, it's in a public where it has reflected very badly on Singapore's education system, teachings, guidance, etc.
Not only that, i believe it does not bring a good image to foreigners, for this case, the canadian lady a.k.a "the witness".
I wonder if any foreigner or FT will to witness such incident and to know that this student comes from a reputable school, what does this protray/reflect to them?
And if the punishment is light, how would they think of our system?
Can Micheal Fray/Frey/(dunno how to spell) be let off with light punishment? Imagine if he'll to be let off easily with light punishment....
Can't imagine my car everyday got "unique" design"...
Our law & justice system need to be stern & firm.
Everyone is equal, especially Singaporeans, be it if you're born with super gold/silver spoon or your father/mother is MP or president/CEO of a super MNCs, everyone should be treated equally for any mistakes they did.
Otherwise, what's the point of the "Singapore Pledge" (Sentence of "Based on justice & equality) whereby we've gone through everyday during our school lifes and even on National Day?
Arbo pledge for fun mah? Or just a standard normal bo liao routine which we're "forced" to do/pledge?
End of the day, everyone's and have to be fair and we're taught to be fair since small.
I won't say that his father's kneeling is right or wrong but I can bet you my last dollar that his son will forever remember this act of forgiveness.Originally posted by tokyofire:the dad treat the son too well.. Dad kneeling on behalf of son, pleading for forgiveness. Give the son a farking slap lah. Dare to punch, dont dare to own up to mistake, give excuses, what kind of logic is that?
How many forummers here can take it if your dad does that? Dont u feel ashamed of yourself? if u dont, pls let me know~
You've learnt, don't you? Which have made you a better person now, am i right to say so?Originally posted by Rock^Star:Don't think you have ever been through his situation before. I have been expelled from school before but was given a second chance. 12 years later today, I still treasure it very much. It was shameful enough just letting my entire circle of friends, relatives and schoolmates know. Excruciatingly shameful.
There're harsher ones....but i'm lenient enough to recommend public canning...Originally posted by Rock^Star:I do not disagree with public caning, why not? He will bear it in mind and never repeat his mistake again. Just don't think there's any punishment like this anymore.
eh....i many many years no study liao...how i know unless i'm a teacher or principal....Originally posted by tokyofire:Nowdays still got public canning meh??
ya, but i can't find minor in the criminal lawOriginally posted by Rock^Star:Perhaps it would be helpful if you could cut and paste the exact words here. From what I understand, the Children and Young Persons Act of Singapore only states "child" and "juvenile", which are below 16.
of course i do, but i learned to accept my mistake n my punishment n moved on.Originally posted by Rock^Star:Don't think you have ever been through his situation before. I have been expelled from school before but was given a second chance. 12 years later today, I still treasure it very much. It was shameful enough just letting my entire circle of friends, relatives and schoolmates know. Excruciatingly shameful.
Yes, I'm thankful that I have become a better person. However, I would have been very bitter if I had gone to jail. I'm currently training to be a pilot, something not possible if I had gone the jail route.Originally posted by dcx:You've learnt, don't you? Which have made you a better person now, am i right to say so?
I would dare to say that it's wrong for his father to kneel, it's his wrong (his son).Originally posted by Rock^Star:I won't say that his father's kneeling is right or wrong but I can bet you my last dollar that his son will forever remember this act of forgiveness.
The father may slap him in private but not in public eye.
Ha....i do not know if he will seek out the bus captain for revenge after his ordeal is over. However, we also cannot confirm if a harsher sentence will even make him repent or make him more bitter.Originally posted by dcx:There're harsher ones....but i'm lenient enough to recommend public canning...
There's no gurantee that he'll not repeat his mistake again.
Who knows, he might want to kill the BC after this punishment?
But, if but, he knows & is sincere to admit his fault and is willingly to accept any punishment, i can say that he has learnt his lesson and high chances he will not repeat the same mistakes or commit any similar offences in the future.
If not, how can he teach his kids in the future (Long way to go) by not setting himsef a good example?
It's good to learn & realize the mistakes young.
haha...i neber kenna....i'm a good boi....Originally posted by Kenashi:of course i do, but i learned to accept my mistake n my punishment n moved on.
i ganna the rottan when i was nine![]()
a pm i got from someoneOriginally posted by Skibi:Dear Mr Kenashi,
I am sure that you are feeling very upset and miserable right now about certain things which you cannot understand. Please do not do anything foolish that will cause undue harm to yourself. Think about your parents who brought you up to be such a fine young man. You will be considered as unfilial, disloyal, and untruthful if you did such a thing. Also, I believe I speak for everyone on this forums that we will all be sorry and miss you if anything happens. Take care and goodbye.
regards
Skibi