31 Aug, 12:12AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Bintan and Batam

Subscribe to Bintan and Batam 29 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,315 posts since Apr '06
    • Anybody been to these Indonesian islands? How is it? Will they follow you around and demand you buy this buy that? Is it safe? Will they “chop” you? (meaning sell things/services very expensive)

4,903 posts since May '06

• Bintan no idea

but batam yes

they will follow you

been there once

My first and last time

No more to batam again
      Laughing

681 posts since Jan '07
    • bintan nothing to chop - basically an island with lots of beach resorts, the management dont allow touts to chop u also

batam many people chop - footstalls,pimps,taxis, every1 is potential

12,033 posts since Jan '07
    1,315 posts since Apr '06
    3,991 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by chrisbenoit:
      Anybody been to these Indonesian islands? How is it? Will they follow you around and demand you buy this buy that? Is it safe? Will they "chop" you? (meaning sell things/services very expensive)

hahaha

got house in batam....

its better if you can speak and understand their language...

if you want to go 1 day shopping i suggest you go to batam centre....just beside the port got a mega mall.....should be safe there as i juz been there last few weeks....
      best if you go around with some guys and know the language.
      people won't fool you....
      i know how to speak bahasa indonesia and mimic their accent coz i lived there for a few years....so should be safe....lots of singaporeans go there....

684 posts since Apr '07
    • mostly the taxis will keep on horning at you and ask you where ya goin.

if you are just walking, then shake your head and say you dun want.

but try not to say in english....just smile and say....

568 posts since Jan '07
    • I am going to Batam middle of June. First time there with bf and frens. Can't speak malayu. jia lat...

There should be nothing much right? staying at the resort. Hope everything goes well. First time out of S'pore with frens only.

• Originally posted by TXian:
      I am going to Batam middle of June. First time there with bf and frens. Can't speak malayu. jia lat...

There should be nothing much right? staying at the resort. Hope everything goes well. First time out of S'pore with frens only.

really?
      hahaha
      i'm going there on the 18th of june

2,933 posts since Dec '04
    • probably we stay at some hotel near jodoh or something, then we go to the mall near batam centre…there is also another mall near nagoya which has a cinema…normally we aren’t that scared walking around…only coz we can speak their local stuffs though my accent is more of jakarta accent

2,453 posts since Apr '03
    • from my experience no one will follow u around in batam asking u to buy stuff. go Bintan if u r into watersports.

Batam is not bad, theres shops + water sports + food

7,267 posts since Jan '07
    • yup
      i go there for food though.....
      soo nostalgic...padang food, bakso, A&W, cheap pizza hut, good doughnuts at the mall near batam centre....wooooo cannot tahan want eat somemore

699 posts since Oct '02
    22,243 posts since Aug '05
    4,337 posts since Oct '04
  • you cannot has
    49,650 posts since Dec '03
    23,141 posts since Jul '04
    • Originally posted by ditzy:
      oops wrong thread. Laughing

u posted ahem ahem comment right? dun deny! Laughing

6,851 posts since Jul '05
      Anybody been to these Indonesian islands? How is it? Will they follow you around and demand you buy this buy that? Is it safe? Will they "chop" you? (meaning sell things/services very expensive)

Please stay within our island to avoid throwing our country mates' face... Go holiday surely spend mah... want buy and scare kena chop. Might as well dun buy anything during holiday... might as well stay within our island.

7,267 posts since Jan '07
  • you cannot has
    49,650 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by Ito_^:
      u posted ahem ahem comment right? dun deny! Laughing

I was suppose to post in the tanjong pagar thread, but I clicked the wrong one, alright? Laughing

4,315 posts since Jan '07

These Island people are friendly in their own way but city slickers do often get paranoid.All they want is make a living by selling something or offering some service to you....and who knows maybe become your friend.Batam and BIntan is still ok but if you want to go to the less popular or remote island then you better bring someone who knows his way around

325 posts since Dec '06
    • Batam is good man but go ther too many times will sian great resorts and massage centre $10 massage ur foot for 1 hr sia but careful of taxi call them wait awhile kena chop $10 b4 u board taxi ask 4 e price and u can bargain sometimes. ya wait u need great math thier money change to ours is around $1 change 5508 rupiah Exclamation Exclamation

Please Login or Signup to reply.