05 Jul, 12:36PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Student charged with abusing teacher in class

Subscribe to Student charged with abusing teacher in class 118 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,508 posts since Dec '06
    • Student charged with abusing teacher in class

A 17-YEAR-OLD student was charged on Wednesday with using abusive language on a teacher in class earlier this year.

Jeremy Tan Wei Liang is accused of abusing Ms Tang Anqiong, 36, at Clementi Woods Secondary School at West Coast Road on April 26.

His lawyer, Mr Edmond Pereira, told the court that he would be making representations. A pre-trial conference will be held at Community Court on Dec 5.

If convicted, he faces a fine of up to $5,000 under the Miscellaneous Offences Act.

source

• i think.......
      both teacher and student must be got fault
      my first time seeing such case

3,486 posts since Jun '04
    • lol finally its back at the students.

nowadays students always try to use law to protect themselves. a little bit then call up MOE. So cannot cane right? Fine u $5000! Laughing Laughing

• Originally posted by dibilo:
      lol finally its back at the students.

nowadays students always try to use law to protect themselves. a little bit then call up MOE. So cannot cane right? Fine u $5000! Laughing Laughing

but rmb this point wor
      it is not he pay
      it is his parents pay
      and he has to go thru alot u know~
      but his lawyer is a famous lawyer who fight teenage cases.

• and according to the csi team of edmw, its said that the teacher is a PRC Shocked

and its verbal abuse
      most probably some hokkien profanities like the very common ones like inviting ppl parents and all.
      and when thats the case, can i sue those officer in NS too ~ Laughing

Edited by spadeTwo 08 Nov `07, 8:34AM
    2,163 posts since Aug '07
    • Think we must launch a class action suit against teachers who physically abused us as children via caning.

• Originally posted by spadeTwo:
      and according to the csi team of edmw, its said that the teacher is a PRC Shocked

and its verbal abuse
      most probably some hokkien profanities like the very common ones like inviting ppl parents and all.
      and when thats the case, can i sue those officer in NS too ~ Laughing

haha. i remember in BMT, the 1st day i got enlisted, they asked the whole platoon this question. "anyone of you cannot stand the word "ch** bye? if you cannot please voice out now or forever hold your peace" Laughing

anyway, theoritically u can sue them if you feel insulted. but i guess we are all so used to it.

ok back to the teacher and student.

if the teacher were the one who blurted out those profanities, do you think the students will let him/ her off?

the is what the educational system has become. Students and their parents are so used to sue and complain about teacher's behavior. so right now, its pay back time.

I do agree that the parents are the ones paying, and i do believe this will serve as a wake up call to them, to take their child in hand, wake his idea up and get him to give his teacher the due respect like we all did in the past.

haha. i remember in BMT, the 1st day i got enlisted, they asked the whole platoon this question. "anyone of you cannot stand the word "ch** bye? if you cannot please voice out now or forever hold your peace" Laughing

anyway, theoritically u can sue them if you feel insulted. but i guess we are all so used to it.

ok back to the teacher and student.

if the teacher were the one who blurted out those profanities, do you think the students will let him/ her off?

the is what the educational system has become. Students and their parents are so used to sue and complain about teacher's behavior. so right now, its pay back time.

I do agree that the parents are the ones paying, and i do believe this will serve as a wake up call to them, to take their child in hand, wake his idea up and get him to give his teacher the due respect like we all did in the past.

please lah
      in my school
      or rather, cuz im at my teenage stage also
      i have scolded teacher in their face "fck you"
      they also have scolded me "fck you" before
      what did i do ? nothing
      what did they do when i scold ? detention. thats it.

the teacher is just kicking a big fuss right here.

i use to have a classmate who is every time must say the 7 word hokkien rhyme.
      once, he used it on the teacher, the teacher only explain and reason it out with him and gave him some light punishment
      i really don't see the need to fcking put the boy through such a process.

its not about the money. its the mental trauma that he's gona go through.
      i'm a been there done that person. i know jolly well whats happening.

• Originally posted by spadeTwo:
      please lah
      in my school
      or rather, cuz im at my teenage stage also
      i have scolded teacher in their face "fck you"
      they also have scolded me "fck you" before
      what did i do ? nothing
      what did they do when i scold ? detention. thats it.

the teacher is just kicking a big fuss right here.

i use to have a classmate who is every time must say the 7 word hokkien rhyme.
      once, he used it on the teacher, the teacher only explain and reason it out with him and gave him some light punishment
      i really don't see the need to fcking put the boy through such a process.

its not about the money. its the mental trauma that he's gona go through.
      i'm a been there done that person. i know jolly well whats happening.

yes i agree in many /most cases it is possible to be in a situation whereby teacher and students can accept such behaviors.

But

how many times have you seen or heard about parents and students bringing matters up to the ministry just because the teacher used an inappropriate word, such as calling the student "Stupid"? Yes, I am not making this up.

So, if there are cases like this, had anyone considered the mental trauma the teacher has to go through?

if we consider all human beings as equals, don't you think the teacher has the right to do so now?

anyway, that being said, if i am the teacher in the case, i'd probably return the amount of money that they judge gave me. The lawsuit is just to wake the whole education system up and to show that teachers need protection from crazy parents too.

Edited by dibilo 08 Nov `07, 9:19AM
    14,410 posts since Nov '06
    • kill the teacher liao then say Surprised Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing Laughing

cos liddat can ask the whole class to say sth, the teacher cannot argue

15,762 posts since Oct '04
    • Kids need to realise vulgarities are not meant to be spewed as and when you song and very frequently. Laughing

This time, I support ST making this case big big...send a deterrent down to the students, who are getting too authoritative for their young age. Laughing

412 posts since May '07
    5,651 posts since Aug '06
    • Shocked

shows the failure of our education system.

to have the need to use law to teach younger generation???

34,735 posts since Apr '03
    • Fining the kid won't teach him anything nor solve the problem. There's no smoke without fire.

Then again, we're not known for creative punishments and always hiding behind the Penal Code.

2,070 posts since May '07
    717 posts since Oct '07
    9,519 posts since May '04
    • If i were Jeremy,i will counter-sue for defamation against the school,MOE and Education minister Laughing

23,424 posts since Feb '06
    • Miscellaneous Offences Act????

like misc fees sia....

so anything else tat the law dont cover.. goes under here? Mr. Green

5,735 posts since Jan '06
    • if it is a verbal abuse, must be the teacher got do something one dat lead the student scolding the "magical" words.

while teachers has the right to sue the students or wadever, i believe this teacher has the very least professionalism among all her colleagues.

it is true that students nowadays are more difficult to teach, teachers are facing pressure from principal and parents, but if u cant withstand them, den i am sorry, please get out of this job.

1,234 posts since Oct '06

Did they also make you sign an agreement?? Laughing Laughing Laughing

5,877 posts since Jul '07
    • I believe that teacher is also at fault, a good teacher will cultivate good student.

Some teachers i knew only support and pamper the good students and left the bad ones to rot, such mindset should change, in reverse, they should take care of the bad students, bring them to their best and ask the good ones to help out. The good are already good, no need much taking care of, but many teachers are blinded to it. This lead to unethical mentoring in our education system.

• Very Junior Member
    1,228 posts since Aug '04
    9,741 posts since Dec '04
    419 posts since Dec '06
    • Originally posted by Y_Shun:
      Shocked

shows the failure of our education system.

to have the need to use law to teach younger generation???

Dun put the blame on the education system.......the blame is on the parents who treat their boy/girl like gold!! It all starts in the home....parents giving too much leeway to their child.....child learns not to respect elders..but to demand more!! Hence, child learns that they can abuse elders...any elders...and that includes their teachers. Confused It's like the child feels the world belongs to their fancy and the world owes them a living........fcuk to these kinda kids.!!

This kind of children will noe they can't get away with it.....when they go into the real world.....when they start working........using abusive words against their superiors at work will get them nowhere....just becoming a rolling stone that gathers no moss.........
      Twisted Evil

451 posts since Dec '06
    • i think this is meant to be a warning to tell those kids not to push their luck too far.. same goes to the parents..

Please Login or Signup to reply.