Nobody can be sure what is the true ethnicity of Jesus.Originally posted by fymk:Jesus is no Ang moh lah. He is a jew born and bred in his homeland which is inside asia. The most you can call him is a middle eastern if not asian.
Jewish custom - they follow matrilineal line. Doesn't matter about the father . A jew has to be born of a jewish mother. They automatically inherit the birthright of being a jew. So if we follow jewish traditions - Jesus is a jew . Where do jews come from? Israel. Where is Israel ? Southwestern Asia. What do you call someone who comes from Asia? Asian.
Correct me if I am wrong but after dating 2 jews , I don't think I will get that very wrong.
I am not christian anymore so the concept of immaculate conception is not really a concept I wish to discuss.
Anyone can convert to Judaism but that doesn't mean that they will be recognised as jews. Haredims don't recognise converts as well as a few factions of orthodox judaism. Reformist Judaism and conservative judaism can recognise a convert but conversion still have the issue of recognition.Originally posted by jojobeach:Ah well, Jews are Jews because of their religion.
In our time and age, anyone can be Jewish.
Your any how wacked posting was what I cringed at.
Don't make SG forumers a laughing stock for the global community ya ?
Bless you brother.
I see.Originally posted by fymk:Anyone can convert to Judaism but that doesn't mean that they will be recognised as jews. Haredims don't recognise converts as well as a few factions of orthodox judaism. Reformist Judaism and conservative judaism can recognise a convert but conversion still have the issue of recognition.
A jew can be a jew because of religion but a jew can also be a jew because of the jewish ethnicity at the same time. Being a Jew is ethnoreligious. The religion is entwined with the ethnicity.
Not everyone can be a jew and they do not encourage conversion. Not like christianity.
There is a jew in our forum - maybe he could shed some light.
You have to ask a rabbi about that.Originally posted by jojobeach:I see.
Well since I am no expert in this, I shall not make a bigger fool of myself any further.
So what happens when a Jewish man marries a non-Jewish woman ?
Does it means the child is no longer Jewish by birth?
Aye... so it still comes down to mortals decision.Originally posted by fymk:You have to ask a rabbi about that.
I don't know. Some say can , some say nay, some say ok but with conditions.
The simplified way of looking at it is:
Jewish man + non jewish woman = child does not inherit birthright
Jewish woman + non jewish man = child inherits the birthright instantly.
Not mortal decision - it is just the lineage route.Originally posted by jojobeach:Aye... so it still comes down to mortals decision.
Thank you for the insight.
Just an out of topic discussionOriginally posted by Nata|ie:Why is Religion being brought in???![]()
*fainted*Originally posted by fymk:Just an out of topic discussion. Interesting but out of topic.
page 14 and 15 entertainers go off already, now new onesOriginally posted by Nata|ie:Why is Religion being brought in???![]()
they all don't dare to reply to thisOriginally posted by BadzMaro:Leave Jesus out of this..
if u want to drag him in... ask yourselves this question.. after all the heated bullsh|t debate..
what would Jesus do ?
If this is the true situation.Originally posted by fymk:Not mortal decision - it is just the lineage route.
Like I said , some forms of judaism recognises converts while others don't .
Originally posted by gigabyte14:No lah giggy boi, because the statement itself is very flawed.
they all don't dare to reply to this
what f[b]ags[/b]
That's the case with my parents, I'm not actually considered Jewish because my mother isn't but it still says I am on my IC for some reason...Originally posted by jojobeach:I see.
Well since I am no expert in this, I shall not make a bigger fool of myself any further.
So what happens when a Jewish man marries a non-Jewish woman ?
Does it means the child is no longer Jewish by birth?
Originally posted by gigabyte14:If we reply to this , sure kenna start flaming war .
they all don't dare to reply to this
what f[b]ags[/b]
*chokes* My dear, I am actually female.Originally posted by jojobeach:If this is the true situation.
There shall be dwindling in the population of true Jews in the next few millenniums.
Wouldn't it be better you lay off the Jewish girls ?
In order for Jewish men to keep their own lineage Jews, they will need to marry Jewish girls.
Now they have to compete with non-Jewish guys like yourself ?
I thought that for you to be considered a jew if u did your bar mitzvah (assuming that you did it) . Just curious , that's all.Originally posted by jondizzle foshizzle:That's the case with my parents, I'm not actually considered Jewish because my mother isn't but it still says I am on my IC for some reason...
Meh I'm not really jewish, just of jewish heritage I guessOriginally posted by fymk:I thought that for you to be considered a jew if u did your bar mitzvah (assuming that you did it) . Just curious , that's all.