Home Chit Chat

2 mths bonus

Subscribe to 2 mths bonus 61 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,911 posts since Mar '05
    587 posts since Jun '05
    • Civil servants to get two-month bonus in December
      Posted: 27 November 2007 1723 hrs

SINGAPORE : Next month, the Government will pay civil servants a year-end Annual Variable Component (AVC) of one month on top of the 13th month bonus.

On top of that, eligible civil servants will be paid a new performance-based Growth Bonus next March.

Payable in times of exceptional economic performance, this bonus varies in amount depending on individual performance and aims to strengthen the link between performance and pay.

Good performers will receive 0.5 month of Growth Bonus, and better performers will receive more, up to 0.8 month.

In a statement, the Public Service Division said the economy has performed better than anticipated this year.

The Trade and Industry Ministry has forecast that the Singapore economy is expected to grow by 7.5 to 8 percent this year.

The unemployment rate has fallen from 2.7 percent last year to 1.7 percent, with a record high of 171,500 jobs created in the first 9 months of 2007.

In July this year, the Government paid civil servants a mid-year AVC of 0.5 month and a one-off payment of $220, in line with the call by the National Wages Council for employers to help low wage workers.

The total variable payment for 2007 is 2.5 months + $220, not including the Growth Bonus.

With the Growth Bonus, the total payments for a good performer will be 3 months + $220 for 2007, compared to 2.7 months + $220 in 2006.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,439 posts since Dec '99
    1,916 posts since Sep '02
  • Fallen...
    122,460 posts since Feb '01
    • if you guys only know..

it's actually 1 month.. the other part is the usual 13th month thing... which they slyly included in the news report..

587 posts since Jun '05
    • The total variable payment for 2007 is 2.5 months + $220, not including the Growth Bonus

Even if you take out the 13 month bonus, they still get 1.5 months + $220, which is quite a tidy sum.

Some people do not even get the full 13 month, maybe like 2 weeks bonus only.

587 posts since Jun '05
  • Fallen...
    • while some get up to 6 months or more..

one of me mom's friends.. her husband once had 18 months bonus that year because of exceptional performance..

somehow, everyone looks at the working hack civil serpent and begrudge them.. they're just working hacks..

if you guys want to be angry, please save your anger for the politicians... they're the ones gouging the people... and they are NOT civil but are serpents...

Originally posted by tortoise55:
      Even if you take out the 13 month bonus, they still get 1.5 months + $220, which is quite a tidy sum.

Some people do not even get the full 13 month, maybe like 2 weeks bonus only.
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,439 posts since Dec '99
    2,485 posts since Aug '04
    587 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by the Bear:
      while some get up to 6 months or more..

one of me mom's friends.. her husband once had 18 months bonus that year because of exceptional performance..

somehow, everyone looks at the working hack civil serpent and begrudge them.. they're just working hacks..

if you guys want to be angry, please save your anger for the politicians... they're the ones gouging the people... and they are NOT civil but are serpents...

Well, how many people in the world get such a high bonus? For example, I am in medical industry and my company is earning money. The medical industry is growing very well. But I foreseen I am only going to get the 13 month only.

18 month bonus, in finance or oil industry?

587 posts since Jun '05
    • Originally posted by Hellraiza:
      aye. i thought last year's end-year bonus was 2.2 including 13th month??? so this year if include 13th month, it's only 2.0 what! so where got more?

last year announcement
      http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/242897/1/.html

In July this year, the Government paid civil servants a mid-year AVC of 0.5 month and a one-off payment of $220, in line with the call by the National Wages Council for employers to help low wage workers.

This year is total is 2.5 including 13th month, last year is 2.7 including 13th month. But this year have a new performance-based Growth Bonus which good performers will receive 0.5 month of Growth Bonus, and better performers will receive more - up to 0.8 month.

So if you work hard this year, with the Growth Bonus, the total payments for a good performer will be 3 months + S$220 for 2007, compared to 2.7 months + S$220 in 2006. And 3.3 months + $220 is you are a very good performer.

15,763 posts since Oct '04
  • MOUSEHUNT - I GOT CHEESED.
    34,404 posts since Jul '00
  • Fallen...
    • oil of course Laughing

that being said, hey.. i've seen civil serpent do about 3 people's jobs.. whoever leaves, usually no replacement in the unit.. and more and more work...

but then, no one sees that.. to them, the civil service is like that of 20 years ago.. but times have changed... they are not the politician gabrament... they are the civil service.. they are working hacks.. and along with every working hack out there, they are financially sodomised by the politicians..

Originally posted by tortoise55:
      Well, how many people in the world get such a high bonus? For example, I am in medical industry and my company is earning money. The medical industry is growing very well. But I foreseen I am only going to get the 13 month only.

18 month bonus, in finance or oil industry?
  • MOUSEHUNT - I GOT CHEESED.
    34,404 posts since Jul '00
    2,485 posts since Aug '04
    • Originally posted by tortoise55:
      So if you work hard this year, with the Growth Bonus, the total payments for a good performer will be 3 months + S$220 for 2007, compared to 2.7 months + S$220 in 2006. And 3.3 months + $220 is you are a very good performer.

Sorry arh... I'm in the army. So is this "Growth" Bonus equivalent to the SAF's Performance Bonus for regulars, or is the government adding on to it (which is almost impossible)? If it is, am i right to say that SAF regulars are in fact getting less than what they did last year, since they get Performance Bonus every March?

Edited by Hellraiza 28 Nov `07, 12:01AM
    8,708 posts since Apr '06
    353 posts since Nov '05

• why government must count the growth bonus into this year's total bonus when it will only be paid in march next year? even if this so called performance based bonus is based on this year's performance, but people getting it only next year lor.

1,479 posts since Sep '07
    • Originally posted by CoolMyth:
      Bo pian...my bonus will be pro-rated. Laughing

At least u still get some Razz
      For me like so many years never get liao Sad

1,843 posts since Jan '05
    31,720 posts since Jun '05
    1,717 posts since Jan '05
    • Originally posted by CoolMyth:
      Bo pian...my bonus will be pro-rated. Laughing

you better than me... I have not had a bonus, including 13 months for the last 5 years, I know the company is making money.. Crying or Very sad

• ALL YOUR BASES ARE BELONG TO ME
    6,571 posts since Apr '05
    15,250 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by newcomer:
      my parent company staff got 6 mths...

we only got 2 mths nia... nbz...

u newcomer, wait a little longer Laughing

Please Login or Signup to reply.