14 Oct, 05:39AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

NUS medicine -- how difficult is it to get admitted?

Subscribe to NUS medicine -- how difficult is it to get admitted? 69 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,157 posts since Nov '04
    • I am really keen on studying medicine and I think that my grades would qualify me. However, I have other things working against me: I'm a foreigner, so some quota applies to me, and I don't exactly have a wonderful track record when it comes to interviews. I'm really worried that I might not get accepted into medical school because I don't seem to have a genuine interest in other fields.

My biggest anxiety now is that I might not succeed in my career next time if I don't become a doctor. My passion lies solely in medicine; many things have inspired me to pursue that path and I want my dreams to come true, or I'll probably regret forever.

Does anyone here have any advice for an aspiring medical student?

92 posts since Nov '07
    • you cant, your a retard, moronSmile.JK actually its really hard, A A A is not a sure get in, but you need juicy testimonials as well

135 posts since Nov '07
    • lol when u see Doctors from some unknown uni they dont get as much or near as much respect from NUS doctors. in asia especially, my m8s tell me if u cant do ur medicine studies in NUS than no choice overseas.

theres a reason for such a prestige i guess. grades isnt everything. my friend who got A A A B 1 D 1 M beat my another friend 4 As 2 Ds. so from here can see to enter medicine u need more than results.

if no choice,than overseas lor.

show them u really want it la. in the interviews must wayang abit. u got go thru ns anot? if havent than u need to train ur wayang skills.cuz ur fellow medicine competitors spent 6 months wayanging training than defer to become Captains in medical centres.

Edited by buffered 02 Jan `08, 10:27PM
    33,833 posts since Dec '02
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,591 posts since Dec '99
    343 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by buffered:
      lol when u see Doctors from some unknown uni they dont get as much or near as much respect from NUS doctors. in asia especially, my m8s tell me if u cant do ur medicine studies in NUS than no choice overseas.

theres a reason for such a prestige i guess. grades isnt everything. my friend who got A A A B 1 D 1 M beat my another friend 4 As 2 Ds. so from here can see to enter medicine u need more than results.

if no choice,than overseas lor.

show them u really want it la. in the interviews must wayang abit. u got go thru ns anot? if havent than u need to train ur wayang skills.cuz ur fellow medicine competitors spent 6 months wayanging training than defer to become Captains in medical centres.

That was exactly my point -- I'm not too great at "wayanging". If given the time and proper environment, I can pen down coherently and convincingly my reasons and hopes for studying medicine. How do I improve my interview skills, really? I wonder if there are people here who have been through the medical school interview. Smile

100 posts since Nov '03
    • hmn.. why do you want to do medicine in the 1st place?
      lots of other choices out there, if u say u haf the grades
      you muz noe why u want it.... if u are going for the interview

1,247 posts since Mar '06
    • my friend with straight As and a splendid cca record couldnt get into nus medicine. however, she went overseas Wink

• Originally posted by kaoya:
      hmn.. why do you want to do medicine in the 1st place?
      lots of other choices out there, if u say u haf the grades
      you muz noe why u want it.... if u are going for the interview

I want to help people in their most vulnerable time by providing not only conventional medical treatment but also counsel, encouragement and hope. There is an incredible feeling of fulfillment associated with the improvement of the quality of life that makes me very interested in medicine. I also see medicine as a calling; to undertake the noble responsibility of revitalising my fellow human beings with the power and knowledge I hope to gain by attending medical school. Embarassed

34,790 posts since Apr '03
    • Originally posted by aiglosicicle:
      my friend with straight As and a splendid cca record couldnt get into nus medicine. however, she went overseas Wink

That's NUS's loss anyway.

31,727 posts since Jun '05
    • I am also keen to taking NUS Medicine.

My route will be...

Dip.Biomedical Science --> Bach.Biomedical Science --> MBBS.

It's a very expensive route, but higher possibility of admitting into NUS Medicine.

34,790 posts since Apr '03
    • Originally posted by RETARDED_MORON:
      That was exactly my point -- I'm not too great at "wayanging". If given the time and proper environment, I can pen down coherently and convincingly my reasons and hopes for studying medicine. How do I improve my interview skills, really? I wonder if there are people here who have been through the medical school interview. Smile

One important point to note.

There's only ONE CHANCE! If you failed it, then bye bye. There's no second chance. Neutral

3,337 posts since Oct '05
  • Mas Selamat Kastari
    9,805 posts since Dec '01
    • Originally posted by the.owl:
      show them your martial arts skills, they confirm impressed.

then he can become sinseh...fix bones and etc...also doctor mah...chinese doctor lar... Laughing Mr. Green

8,365 posts since Jul '07
      I am really keen on studying medicine and I think that my grades would qualify me. However, I have other things working against me: I'm a foreigner, so some quota applies to me, and I don't exactly have a wonderful track record when it comes to interviews. I'm really worried that I might not get accepted into medical school because I don't seem to have a genuine interest in other fields.

My biggest anxiety now is that I might not succeed in my career next time if I don't become a doctor. My passion lies solely in medicine; many things have inspired me to pursue that path and I want my dreams to come true, or I'll probably regret forever.

You want to take aspiring pills? U need to go JB or other countries, i think singapore govt banned aspiring here.

There was a time when peoples took aspiring here and was admitted straight into NUH, maybe u can try, it not difficult, just swallow a few pills will do.

1,248 posts since Jan '07
    • Maybe its just me.. but i dunno what the appeal of going into medicine is. Is it the prestige? Cos work environment wise its so staid n sterile, pay wise, unless u specialize, otherwise its only on par or less than certain professions. Work hours r ridiculous, responsibilities and liabilities tremendous. Job satisfaction wise probably isn't as great as many ppl think (even today medicine is not as effective as ppl think... u can't cure or save most patients, u can prolong life a bit, lessen their pain etc. most of the time u feel helpless as a doc or u dun feel at all)

Rolling Eyes

3,337 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by Xcert:
      then he can become sinseh...fix bones and etc...also doctor mah...chinese doctor lar... Laughing Mr. Green

Laughing Laughing

240 posts since Dec '07
      I am really keen on studying medicine and I think that my grades would qualify me. However, I have other things working against me: I'm a foreigner, so some quota applies to me, and I don't exactly have a wonderful track record when it comes to interviews. I'm really worried that I might not get accepted into medical school because I don't seem to have a genuine interest in other fields.

Damn difficult. Grades are everything for NUS.
      I am an ex-NUS.

240 posts since Dec '07
    • Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:
      I am also keen to taking NUS Medicine.

My route will be...

Dip.Biomedical Science --> Bach.Biomedical Science --> MBBS.

It's a very expensive route, but higher possibility of admitting into NUS Medicine.

That'sa crap route n next to impossible and not respected among the peers.

2,302 posts since Jul '07
    • darkness a loner, so me reply would be, i dun care =x as long as i get the course? =x =x=x=x=x=x

83 posts since Sep '07
    • Eh, really pays to boost up ur CV a little. get involved in some medical volunteer work. Go volunteer your service at a local hospital or something. A friend of mine went for the interview and was told by the interviewer during the interview she was too slack.

During the months after A levels, most of the them would get be involved in some form of internship. By the time of the interview, at least they have some relevant experience in the field.

But don't get too disheartened if you don't get in.. I have friends taking medicine from famous universities in Austraila. There they have only 1 exam at the end of the year and its MCQ.. The NUS medicine examination system is MUCH more hectic. Exams every month and they aren't usually MCQ.

So if you have the financial capabilities to study abroad, do consider alternative places lah. You get to practise medicine as well after you graduate. Its really 5 years of hell if you do it in Singapore.

• Originally posted by joyc:
      That'sa crap route n next to impossible and not respected among the peers.

Rolling Eyes

If what you said are true, then I will really feel sad for them.

The truth has yet to be told.

Edited by Darkness_hacker99 03 Jan `08, 3:35PM
    527 posts since Oct '06
    • Hey yo fellow batch mate!

Want to study in NUS medicine? Please do take note the following points:

1) Your application essay must be well written

2) Your grades must be good enough for their requirements. This point I am quite sure you are qualified. Chemistry grades is important too. Since you are constantly top 20 in chemistry in the level + chem olympiad gold, this should be no problem too. Bio would be a good bonus and you take it too, so pass (Do not take their words that Bio is not necessary. It is not necessary but it is certainly a BIG factor)

3) You must give them what they want during the medicine interview. Being brutally honest is not going pay. Everyone loves sweet talks eh? It helps too if you have some relatives who are possibly on the panel or know people on the panel (i heard there's this guy from hci whose father and uncle is possibly on the interview panel). Yea connections do help. It sux but it's the reality out there.

4) Do some internships in medical boards like NUH, SGH etc etc. Get the idea?

And the rest is really a function of the position of the stars, the moon, the sun, the planets and your luck.

These are just what my seniors told me. Anyway do consider that a good 4 to 5 years is spent studying medicine in NUS. By the time you finish your housemanship of around 2 years, your peers in other courses may already be higher on the wage ladder. If you want to be a surgeon, you are looking at your 30th birthday before you can start to work as a doctor properly.

Originally posted by angel7030:
      You want to take aspiring pills? U need to go JB or other countries, i think singapore govt banned aspiring here.

There was a time when peoples took aspiring here and was admitted straight into NUH, maybe u can try, it not difficult, just swallow a few pills will do.

Really. If you do not talk, no one will say that you are dumb.

BTW, it's aspirin, not aspiring. Aspiring is a continuous form of the word aspire.

OMG you are truly more retarded than the TS here. Rolling Eyes

Please Login or Signup to reply.