-
-
If you are free, check this out http://youtube.com/watch?v=eYuIg7Tnc7g
I wasnt the one who posted this video online, if u r wondering.The 'dance' - 'thank' guy's blog http://www.wretch.cc/blog/younghope
I am PROUD to be a singaporean that knows how to use SINGLISH n PROPER ENGLISH.
We, singaporean have the ability to switch from one side to another.
Singlish to English.
English to Singlish.
Heeheeheehee...Happy early chinese new year to everyone
Edited by Broke_Sista84 06 Feb `08, 10:15AM
-
-
-
I'm also proud to speak in Singlish & English...
But the thing is u gotta know when to use em' both...
When the situation calls for us to speak in proper english...speak well..nobody's asking u to speak with a slang...just proper clear pronounciated english...
I mean looking @ this forum already gives us an idea how bad our english is...
I dun blame the taiwanese...
-
-
-
i m proud to be able to at least speak proper english n singlish ..... the taiwan ppl cant even pronounce a word properly n the got the cheek to make fun of singaporeans ..... do they have any shame?
thanks sounds like dance cos its the way they pronounce it .... wats worse ... birthday becomes BURSTday.. lol
so use ur brains before sayign anything .... simple words like these(refer to the 2nd para) can pronounce wrong still dare say so much .... wat a joke man
-
-
-
Originally posted by cairocks:
That taiwan lady, she can't even distinguish when the customs officer is asking her a question or pointing to her and declaring her pregnent. The tone of voice is clearly asking her if she is pregnant. She standard of english cannot pick this up and try to act smart on TV. Chey.
i guess she really do not understand though. maybe she prefer those normal slang one ba
-
-
-
Originally posted by maxtonian:
if an american or british criticises our local's english, we will just accept the fact and try to improve on it. but now, the prob is that, the taiwanese are trying to correct us and insult our english. of course, we will definitely be angry.
Even if it is British or American criticising, don't think we should just accept. Only those that like to kow tao to the Ang Mo will just accept. Whose standard are we to accept, the british or american? This is Singapore and this style of english is part of our culture. Can't we make our own stand? They have no rights to criticise other's culture. What if the we say the taiwanese mandarin is crap and should follow Beijing's or Malaysian's or someone else? See if the Taiwanese angry or not. Every one forget the old chinese saying of "Enter other people's place, follow their doing."?
-
-
-
if they are going to laugh at our english, they must be able to do it better.
but from what selina said in the show that they were being tested for the name of the months at their secondary school level... that pretty sums up their standard.
another thing with the pegnant and dance thing. they sure they heard it correctly or was it because their engrish was so powderful that they heard pregnant as pegnant and thanks as dance?
sometimes when you dont understand the other party doesnt means that they are lousy. it might be that you are the one that are lousy or you arent used to their accent. sometimes when i watch those drama from bbc, i cant catch what they were talking about. so according to those taiwanese, they doesnt know how to speak english?
you guys should watch some of their variety shows where they got some engrish teachers up there to teach them engrish.

-
-
-
I would like to add. This my race/culture is superior to yours thing is a very dangerous thing. It is part of the foundation in the idealogy that eventually leds to WWII. The Germans think they are the Aryan race, which is the superior race and the Japs also think they are the superior race and should rule over others... This fueled their thinking of the correctness to invade and kill other people. Seems a lot of people, including the people of victim countries of WWII have forgotten about this.
-
-
-
Well... that's variety show...

They have to make fun of everything that they can think. Yes, they are speaking the truth... Most of us, Singaporeans are speaking in Singlish slang and very little use of proper english in our conversation even when we are actually working.
That's the beauty of it... Just like other countries have their own slang, we should have our own. Chinese. Chinese in China consists of alot of slangs... Jia Xiang Hua which we would not know what they are talking about...
I agree with what some of the SGF posters as well as those in youtube. They could not even speak proper english and they have the cheek to laugh at people.

-
-
-
No others have the capability to switch between Singlish and English as good as the singaporeans.
The Taiwanese themselves don't even speak pure Chinese.. talk about the pot calling the kettle black.. Aiya embarrass themselves only.. Got balls then go speak on our sg tv show. Don't come here and act meek, then go home and talk c***..chey!
-
-
-
http://www.wretch.cc/blog/younghope
also in this blog, he apologised to us already. But to me its like nothing, the apologise is like nothing! No meaning, he's just using the blog as a platform to apologise. I can do that too with a blog.
I can't see sincere in his apologise. If he can suan us on television, i'm sure he should be able to apologise on television too. Till then, we will forgive him if not, suan liao, its just a non sincere apology using his blog.
-
-
-
If comparing Taiwanese & Singaporean's standard of English, there's really nothing to argue about. Everybody knows our Pri 6 kids can speak way better than majority of them.
But generally, Singaporean's standard of English or Chinese isn't that high as compared to native speakers. I will think that is the problem of any nation which is bilingual or trilingual.
-
-
-
HAHAHA... seen his blog loh.. All i can say is.. he is a COWARD.

How convenient, used controversy in tv to increase popularity, then type a lame apology in personal blog. (Probably it was even typed by his English PR lol)
Ehh.. who is his fan ar?? Time to look at your idol clearly k.. His personality stinks wor..
-