regardless, they shudnt be commenting about our ACCENT when their standard of english is way below ours.. they cant even comprehend the language, and they blame it on other people's accents?
like for eg. we dun not understand some other nationality's accent and we go laughing our heads off just becoz WE cant understand them?
or for eg. students dun understand what the teacher is teaching so they laugh at the teacher saying he's weird..?
Originally posted by purpledragon84:regardless, they shudnt be commenting about our ACCENT when their standard of english is way below ours.. they cant even comprehend the language, and they blame it on other people's accents?
like for eg. we dun not understand some other nationality's accent and we go laughing our heads off just becoz WE cant understand them?
or for eg. students dun understand what the teacher is teaching so they laugh at the teacher saying he's weird..?
they definitely do understand simple greetings like "uncle auntie"
you go hear any taiwan singers sing english songs then say
i think a better analogy will be that a student with lower marks for a test is laughing at the student with higher marks, saying he has poor handwriting in the test..
and that is ASSUMING the student with lower marks has BEAUTIFUL handwriting in the test.. which is
1. of no significant importance
2. simply not possible.. becoz everybody knows his handwriting sucks as well..
Originally posted by purpledragon84:i think a better analogy will be that a student with lower marks for a test is laughing at the student with higher marks, saying he has poor handwriting in the test..
and that is ASSUMING the student with lower marks has BEAUTIFUL handwriting in the test.. which is
1. of no significant importance
2. simply not possible.. becoz everybody knows his handwriting sucks as well..
1. except that this is an art test, not a maths test. so the beautiful handwriting is the one that scores, not the content
2. taiwan english accent sounds better imo
Originally posted by mudkipz:1. except that this is an art test, not a maths test. so the beautiful handwriting is the one that scores, not the content
2. taiwan english accent sounds better imo
they may have a better accent, according to ur standards.. but if they cant speak proper english and they cant convey their message across properly(which is generally true), there's no use in having a nicer accent.. so the content is primary, accent/handwriting is secondary, a privilege, i would say..
how many times did they encounter s'poreans speakin liddat loh? it may b juz dis time tat met our ppl whose english is not so gd... but if they stay here longer they'll noe our standard is not tat low.
their english isnt tat gd either...
they did not really suan us lah.
its true our speaking abililty is poor. even though the taiwanese and hong kongers arent fully educated in english they do make an effort to speak properly.
we may be better in english but our chinese standard really sucks as compared to them.
Out of kpo-ness, I happened to drop by the blog of the taiwan comedian that made fun of singaporean english.
The funny thing is that we are responsing with english, instead of mandarin.
The poor guy may not even understand what we have written on his blog.
So, did we get the message across ?
It will be a matter of time when he realised that most of sg chinese cannot write or read mandarin, then he will launch another fun segment on the pathetic chinese language standards that sinkie have.
First of all, I am a Chinese national. Having lived in Singapore for quite some time, I obviously find the views expressed in Kangxi Laile with respect to SG English to be rather preposterous. It is ignorance of this kind that really incites people's emotions. Therefore, think twice next time when one decides to lambaste China with remarks that are grounded in nothing but ignorance and bias. I know this is off the topic a bit.
Now back to Singapore English. I guess one reason Singaporeans have reacted so vehemently to those remarks is that there is some sense of insecurity with SG English. Otherwise, imagine the same remarks are applied to Australian/British English, would you think the Aussies and Brits would get so worked up about it? That said, there is no doubt that educated Singaporeans have a superb command of the English language...
Welocome to Singapore~~![]()
Originally posted by Medicated Oil:Out of kpo-ness, I happened to drop by the blog of the taiwan comedian that made fun of singaporean english.
The funny thing is that we are responsing with english, instead of mandarin.
The poor guy may not even understand what we have written on his blog.
So, did we get the message across ?
It will be a matter of time when he realised that most of sg chinese cannot write or read mandarin, then he will launch another fun segment on the pathetic chinese language standards that sinkie have.
No worries my dear, the English teacher can translate for him ![]()
Originally posted by idiotbutcherer:First of all, I am a Chinese national. Having lived in Singapore for quite some time, I obviously find the views expressed in Kangxi Laile with respect to SG English to be rather preposterous. It is ignorance of this kind that really incites people's emotions. Therefore, think twice next time when one decides to lambaste China with remarks that are grounded in nothing but ignorance and bias. I know this is off the topic a bit.
Now back to Singapore English. I guess one reason Singaporeans have reacted so vehemently to those remarks is that there is some sense of insecurity with SG English. Otherwise, imagine the same remarks are applied to Australian/British English, would you think the Aussies and Brits would get so worked up about it? That said, there is no doubt that educated Singaporeans have a superb command of the English language...
it's not getting wrked up though. just expressing our opinions in regards to this. interesting topic wat that sparked up a lot of interest though
Originally posted by idiotbutcherer:First of all, I am a Chinese national. Having lived in Singapore for quite some time, I obviously find the views expressed in Kangxi Laile with respect to SG English to be rather preposterous. It is ignorance of this kind that really incites people's emotions. Therefore, think twice next time when one decides to lambaste China with remarks that are grounded in nothing but ignorance and bias. I know this is off the topic a bit.
We are entitled to our own opinions and we are justified to have a platform, such as this, for us to vent our annoyance with the issue.
We did not ridiculed the "culprits" on our national tv, that's what differentiated us from them. Besides, there is no lifetime grudge here.. only some freedom of speech.
Originally posted by fiberz:We are entitled to our own opinions and we are justified to have a platform, such as this, for us to vent our annoyance with the issue.
We did not ridiculed the "culprits" on our national tv, that's what differentiated us from them. Besides, there is no lifetime grudge here.. only some freedom of speech.
yeah that is correct though
First of all, I am a Chinese national. Having lived in Singapore for quite some time, I obviously find the views expressed in Kangxi Laile with respect to SG English to be rather preposterous. It is ignorance of this kind that really incites people's emotions. Therefore, think twice next time when one decides to lambaste China with remarks that are grounded in nothing but ignorance and bias. I know this is off the topic a bit.
how would u know that they would not get worked up? or rather, if someone blaspheme your house would you stay quiet?
Originally posted by dragg:they did not really suan us lah.
its true our speaking abililty is poor. even though the taiwanese and hong kongers arent fully educated in english they do make an effort to speak properly.
we may be better in english but our chinese standard really sucks as compared to them.
è€�å…„ä½ æœ‰æ²¡æœ‰æ�žé”™ï¼Ÿ
they are not laughing at our chinese, they are laughing at our english! they are taiwanese! have you heard them speak english before???
Originally posted by noopi:
è€�å…„ä½ æœ‰æ²¡æœ‰æ�žé”™ï¼Ÿthey are not laughing at our chinese, they are laughing at our english! they are taiwanese! have you heard them speak english before???
yeh i have heard. it's not gd actually
Those taiwanese can't even pronounce simple words properly.. I can't stand the way they try to pretend as if they are so proficient in English while they only know "Hi, I'm fine, thank you".. erm no, it should be "shang kew".
Anyway, let them think whatever they want. If they were to study English in Singapore, I think they would fail terribly.
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:Those taiwanese can't even pronounce simple words properly.. I can't stand the way they try to pretend as if they are so proficient in English while they only know "Hi, I'm fine, thank you".. erm no, it should be "shang kew".
Anyway, let them think whatever they want. If they were to study English in Singapore, I think they would fail terribly.
they definitely would though. can be seen in those taiwanese students who come to singapore to study though
Countries adopting the American style of English would surely have some problems in spelling words..even the American kids themselves and 'not say I say what one ah'...even the President of the United States of America!!![]()
Originally posted by rlsh07:they definitely would though. can be seen in those taiwanese students who come to singapore to study though
That's because they came here to receive education while they are young. It's very very rare for them to excel in English if they were to come here to study English since they only started learning English back at Taiwan from secondary school onwards.
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:
That's because they came here to receive education while they are young. It's very very rare for them to excel in English if they were to come here to study English since they only started learning English back at Taiwan from secondary school onwards.
yeah that is true though
Aiyo,don't have to make such a fuss, everyone got his mouth, just lets them say what they like.
it not gonna hurts u . ![]()
Just like a piece of joke, if that make u laugh, it a good joke, if not, then just walk away lor. ![]()
We must set good example of ourself, forgive and forget. ![]()
People who lives to complaint, or always looking at other people fault. Then lives on them are not peaceful. Eg: like u hit a person, u can't sleep peacefully, but, they other person u hit able to sleep peacefully. ![]()
Originally posted by Tosan:
Aiyo,don't have to make such a fuss, everyone got his mouth, just lets them say what they like.
it not gonna hurts u .
Just like a piece of joke, if that make u laugh, it a good joke, if not, then just walk away lor.
We must set good example of ourself, forgive and forget.
People who lives to complaint, or always looking at other people fault. Then lives on them are not peaceful. Eg: like u hit a person, u can't sleep peacefully, but, they other person u hit able to sleep peacefully.
well.. no one express then this forum would be no one posting le. hahaha