14 Oct, 05:41AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Nokia sibeh jialat

Subscribe to Nokia sibeh jialat 55 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1 post since Feb '08
    • Guys, came across this from omy today, just passing it around, don't let it happen to you! :(

"I finally won the battle against Nokia Pte Ltd.

I bought a Nokia phone in Aug 2007 through Starhub with 24months contract at $388.

The phone was not functioned properly in the very first week. I tried to ask for a one to one exchange and was replied, "Nokia has no such policy". I got no choice but to send to Nokia Care Centre for repair.

Between Aug 2007 and Nov 2007, countless of visitation and many phone call were made to Nokia. So much time was wasted but the phone was getting from bad to worst.

I gave warning to Nokia that I was considering to file a claim against them through Small Claim Tribunal. I finally took action as there was no proper follow up from Nokia after one month.

Nokia authorized a young girl to come for the first consultation and then in default of attending before the Tribunal for the rest.

I finally won the case and was awarded $778 by Small Claim Tribunal in 18 Dec 2007.

Nokia was given 15 days to make the settlement, but they did not respond to me.

I called to check about it on 22 Jan 2008, and Nokia said that they did not receive such notice.

I went to their HQ the next day, after presenting the Order of Tribunal to the Manager, he finally agree to pay. However, Nokia would pay me if only I agreed to sign a conditional letter. They wanted to keep my mouth shut and I was not allowed to disclose this claim to any third party. I refused as they had no right to impose any condition because this was not an out of court settlement.

I then applied for WSS (Writ of Seizure and Sale) the next day. An appointment date was scheduled on 11 Feb 2008.

I accompany the bailiff officer to Nokia HQ. Nokia was then given two options by the bailiff officer. One was to make settlement and the other one was let the bailiff officer to sticker their movable assets.

They finally woke up and agree to make payment. By then, they got to pay $1,018.43 instead of $778.

By sharing this experience, I hope that many have a better idea of what to do if encounter similar situation in the future."

Many of us wouldn’t want to take the trouble to make such claim. Some may have no time, and some may think that Nokia is such a big company and no point goes against them.

The Relations Manager of Nokia, Ms Serene Teo, told me that I won’t be able to win the case and the most I could only get back $388. This was what she believed, but she was wrong.

<!-- / message -->

• Certified Auntie Killer
    35,622 posts since Jul '00
    4,133 posts since May '07
    143 posts since Feb '08
    4,133 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by 我爱周杰伦:

how much time is waasted

i dun think it would've mattered coz he got around three times the amount he paid for the phone....

143 posts since Feb '08
    • Originally posted by Deino:

i dun think it would've mattered coz he got around three times the amount he paid for the phone....

is he the lucky one? will we get the same if we did that ?

6,386 posts since Mar '03
    143 posts since Feb '08
    • Originally posted by IamAngeline:

This person really got lots of time and energy pig.png

he is cheapskate. he will say it is a matter of principle but in fact is $$$$$$$

6,386 posts since Mar '03
    • Originally posted by 我爱周杰伦:

he is cheapskate. he will say it is a matter of principle but in fact is $$$$$$$

Haha I just sometimes don't understand why ppl can go through all these hassles to create so many problems.

It just make everyone life difficult.

I guess Nokia has no choice either to ignore him.

15,305 posts since Nov '06
    5,181 posts since May '06
  • Je'taime
    10,945 posts since Jan '07
    601 posts since Feb '08
    • Every brand of handphones sure got lots of ppl complaining. Nothing is perfect.

Edited by Miss Tiny 19 Feb `08, 6:15PM
    8,365 posts since Jul '07
    • Hi, holy,

Thanks for your info, hmmm...time to change to Samsung and sony ericsson liao.

16,494 posts since Nov '06
    • Well done.

You seem to know your consumer rights well and you are not afraid of those big choppers.

5,933 posts since Aug '06
    5,117 posts since Dec '05
    479 posts since Sep '03
    • my nakia phone 2 months old only with 10 months warranty left..

after 1 month 1 DP. thn now, dust get into the lcd screen.

i never go to NakiaCareCenter, reason. i dont want get more trouble to me, and my phone.

thy are many cases when u send in to repair e.g. keypad, thn after sometime the phone get worse with more problem.

so, nothing else.

and NakiaCareCenter everyday pack with ppl waiting waiting and waiting for 1 reason.

thumbs up for you,TS.

491 posts since Apr '07
    1,247 posts since Mar '06
    • that is why i tell everyone that nokia sucks. i have so many friends and family who buy nokia and almost all of them have malfunctioning phones. have you ever wondered why nokia service centers are always so full? icon_mrgreen.gif sony ecrisson ftw.

136 posts since Feb '08
    • Lmao Nokia got Owned Badly anyway i decided to switch to S.E cause i think now nokia becoming more and more lagging

11,458 posts since Oct '05
    7,023 posts since Jul '05
    • My case with Nokia still going on since last september. I think I should go to CASE and small claim as well...

It had always been me the party calling them instead of them calling me. Anyway, if anyone need to call them, their number is 67232323 for the HQ and not for some crampy hotline which you hold for a few hours.

Anyway, I find that it is hard to request people to call you from their side, be it in the office or the service centers. Everytime I call, I wait for a few weeks and I call again just for another long waiting period.

Nokia apparantly has no follow-ups and ignore customers.

323 posts since Jan '08
    • TS,

If what you wrote is true, then I would suggest you to write to the forums of ST and Zaobao and provide them with your evidence.  Hopefully they will publish your article.  That way, more in Singapore would know. 

7,023 posts since Jul '05
    • The form of confidentiality is true, I signed one before and I shall not reveal what model it was...wink.png

Please Login or Signup to reply.