Subscribe to Teacher lost job coz of STOMP!!! 100 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    4,014 posts since May '06
    • Teacher humiliates his students in blog

leads to

In defence of teacher who humiliated his students in blog

leads to

Sacked: Teacher who mocked students' essays in blog

Stomp really went too far with this one... The teacher had a rough day and whine about it in his/her blog...

We all do the same once in a while... I remember I got post long time ago about how I was having a bad day coz of a bitch of a project partner...

But stomp went and twist the meaning to make the teacher look bad... Its like making my whinehouse post from "i'm having a bad day coz of a bitch of a project partner" scenero to a "I called my project partner a bitch" kind a scenerio...

Stomp really is getting out of control... They got a lot of people thinking "police is not doing their job", "aunties ar rude on MRTS", "students are getting bullied by their teachers", etc...

Most af their negative stories are very one sided... this closely resemble how american media keep showing about muslim terrorist and now a lot of americans hate muslims...

Same thing with stomp... if they show enough one sided news about teachers being mean to students, parents are going to believe their children when they say "teacher bullied me" eventhough they are exagerating... i was a student once and I can remember there are more students bully teachers than the opposite...

What's worse, stomp is making money out of this...

They really make me sick to my stomache... angry.png icon_evil.gif unhappy.png

5,784 posts since Aug '06
    • EDMW is the real cause.

Some guy same church of the teacher was jealous and hence posted it on EDMW.

Some kaypoh EDMWer thinks that the teacher was wrong then go send it in.
      Hence now all papers.

5,784 posts since Aug '06
    • EDMW is the real cause.

Some guy same church of the teacher was jealous and hence posted it on EDMW.

Some kaypoh EDMWer thinks that the teacher was wrong then go send it in.
      Hence now all papers.

15,351 posts since Jan '06
    14,838 posts since Nov '06
    • =/ the compo has substance, but it is not written properly.

not really horrible for a primary 3 kid.

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • Morale of the story: Blogs are public domain. Whatever you put up, you must be able to withstand scrutiny.

839 posts since Sep '04
    9,610 posts since May '04
    109 posts since Nov '07
    • i think the teacher should just keep it to his/her self. it's not worthwhile mentioning in the blog lor, furthermore it can be viewed by the public. lesson learnt : this kind of thing just write inside your personal diary but not blog. =D

6,851 posts since Jul '05
    • I think he deserved it.angry.png

It is really a disgrace to have a teacher like him joking openly to the public with the works of his students. Didn't he know that it was his fault that the compo came out that way? Cos he was not able to teach his student properly and still have the cheek to make a joke out of it.icon_rolleyes.gif

Anyway, I read about it in the newpaper that they will not be disclosing the school cos it might bring embrassement to the students but mypaper disclosed it as Holy innocent Primary...icon_rolleyes.gif

I tot they same press? Contradicting...icon_rolleyes.gif

6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • Originally posted by caleb_chiang:

Anyway, I read about it in the newpaper that they will not be disclosing the school cos it might bring embrassement to the students but mypaper disclosed it as Holy innocent Primary...icon_rolleyes.gif

I tot they same press? Contradicting...icon_rolleyes.gif

Tabloids and mainstream papers different mah...

839 posts since Sep '04
    • STOMP is not at fault.

If you're fired, it's your bloody fault. Why can't people understand that they are accountable for what they do, even if its on the internet?

I don't like STOMP, but to say it's at fault is being unfair. The guy is at fault. It's as clear as that.

839 posts since Sep '04
  • MOUSEHUNT - I GOT CHEESED.
    34,102 posts since Jul '00
    172 posts since Jan '08
    33,051 posts since Apr '05
    • Today the principal warned all of us not to repeat the mistake the guy made..

I think the teacher is at fault also, even when I am a teacher myself. The teacher should think about he wrote his essays, when he was at their age.

• Phoenix Fudge
    16,290 posts since Jan '04
    • I don't like STOMP either....

..... but hey, the teacher had it coming.

What he did was not only extremely unprofessional; poking fun of Primary 3 kids who are under his charge is seriously, seriously wrong.

I can agree that English standards in Singapore schools have generally been declining, but humiliating his students online is NOT the way to solve it.

• Originally posted by RobinHood69:

in b4 the lock

Dude... your in b4 lock post is getting to be a really annoying spam... I suggest you stop before banned...

Anyway, back to topic... I'm the type of guy that puts myself in other people's shoe... And I don't think he deserves it... He's a teacher, he instill knowlege... he helps the children to get smart... then one wrong move (which I still doubt to be a very wrong move to deserve to be fired), *poof* bye bye rice bowl... and once he's fired by MOE, he's never going to be a teacher in SIngapore anymore...

Pretty heave price to pay for something so small huh...

I would understand if he's habitual and openly humiliates the students personally, but this is nonsense... plus no one was hurt by the teacher's action...

I bet if this was never posted on STOMP, this probably would just be a complaint to MOE and the teacher would be warned to take down the post... no one had to get hurt, but becase of stomp the teacher got hurt...

There's another article from stomp (I can't remember where), the army driver accidently knocked down a fence... but the damage was superficial and he fut the fence back up like nothing has happened... but an idiot stomper post it on the net and now he kena DB... no one had to get hurt, but because of stome, someone got hurt...

• Originally posted by MohamedF:

Dude... your in b4 lock post is getting to be a really annoying spam... I suggest you stop before banned...

Anyway, back to topic... I'm the type of guy that puts myself in other people's shoe... And I don't think he deserves it... He's a teacher, he instill knowlege... he helps the children to get smart... then one wrong move (which I still doubt to be a very wrong move to deserve to be fired), *poof* bye bye rice bowl... and once he's fired by MOE, he's never going to be a teacher in SIngapore anymore...

I would understand if he's habitual and openly humiliates the students personally, but this is nonsense... plus no one was hurt by the teacher's action...

I bet if this was never posted on STOMP, this probably would just be a complaint to MOE and the teacher would be warned to take down the post... no one had to get hurt, but becase of stomp the teacher got hurt...

There's another article from stomp (I can't remember where), the army driver accidently knocked down a fence... but the damage was superficial and he fut the fence back up like nothing has happened... but an idiot stomper post it on the net and now he kena DB... no one had to get hurt, but because of stome, someone got hurt...

Have u put urselves in the shoes of the 3 kids he laughed at then ? Or their parents ?

No one was hurt?

What about the pride of the students? Would you like it if I put up your work which is full of mistake, and reveal where you are from so that everyone knows whose work it belongs to?

This is public humiliation la, blogs are read by millions all over the world...it doesn't get anymore public than this...

• the identity of the kids were never showned... I put myself is the student's shoes, I wouldn know about the existance of the post... and even if I know, at most I would feel angry enough to tell the principal coz only I myself know it was my compo and no one else...

• Phoenix Fudge
    16,290 posts since Jan '04

Sorry man, the only nonsensical behaviour I see is that of the teacher.

Try putting yourself in the shoes of the kids he humiliated..... how would you react if you were publicly humiliated online by your own teacher?

Sure, he didn't think long and hard about the ramifications of posting those essays online.... well, I say that if his mouth goes faster than his brain, and he can't process the possibility that his words may hurt the kids under him, then he's not qualified to teach.

I'm just glad that we got rid of one useless teacher.

• The schools were identified. The compos were exact. People had read the blog and the link was spread.

the identity of the kids were never showned... I put myself is the student's shoes, I wouldn know about the existance of the post... and even if I know, at most I would feel angry enough to tell the principal coz only I myself know it was my compo and no one else...

They know which school the three pupils come from...and it is bad for the school image. Imagine having teachers who laughed at the students when they made mistakes, do you think as a parent you would want your kids to go to this kind of school if nothing is being done to the teacher?

6,249 posts since Jul '04
    • he only lost his job. and if he does not possess the inherent patience required for being a teacher - then it is good that he realises it now. I can imagine a teacher complaining about difficult behaviour, disinterested students, stressful administration - but a teacher complaining about his students' academic weaknesses? isn't that why he is there for?

as an adult, he shd learn from his mistake and move on.

the kids lost their self esteem, their confidence. Imagine to have your works put up for the public to laugh at - over what? Not because you wilfully don't do something properly - but simply because you are not good enough.

who lost more?

Edited by ShrodingersCat 20 Feb `08, 12:12AM
Please Login or Signup to reply.