Originally posted by xavier1979:Question: If SG womens have expectations, is it reasonable to have demands on them too? Case in point: National Service (NS).
Extract from Wikipedia:
" Some countries that draft women include Cuba, Israel, North Korea, Libya, and Eritrea. In 2002, Sweden's government asked the army to consider mandatory military service for women. Some have considered the practice of excluding women from the draft unfair, because they feel it goes against principles of equality. Some simply argue that women can be militarily useful, and that excluding them places an unnecessary limit on resources. During World War II, women were drafted into the armed forces of the United Kingdom and the Soviet Union. The United States came close to drafting women into the Nurse Corps in preparation for a planned invasion of Japan; the Japanese surrender made this unnecessary. "Since Singapore is facing a shortage in boys for our national defence, perhaps it might be a good example to follow our neighbour up north and start having female conscripts too.
PS: The last time I checked, women from those countries are still the child-bearers. So ladies, the I-have-to-bear-child-and-what-have-you stance isn't so strong anymore.
I don't mind going for some army training.
But is the army going to supply our monthly menstrual pads and tampons ?
Originally posted by jojobeach:Is that all ?
If we don't ask you men to carry our bags, you guys will finally be happy ?
That's an easy one.
When you are broke, why do you ask the girls to suggest a place to have their meals ? Wouldn't it be better if the guys initiate a place within his budget to have the date ?
So when you are broke,do you let your girl know you are broke ?
Or do you expect the girls to ALWAYS think you are broke ?
I'm easily contented. Show a lil' appreciation and i'm happy.
Just hate the whole "rolling of eyes" everytime i decide to go budget. Makes me feel inferior. I'm only getting a measley $640 allowance from the big guys running this country.
However this is just my expectation of Sg girls. Don't forget you've got to figure out what men like CatKnight really want in a relationship.
Originally posted by nullifi3d:
I'm easily contented. Show a lil' appreciation and i'm happy.Just hate the whole "rolling of eyes" everytime i decide to go budget. Makes me feel inferior. I'm only getting a measley $640 allowance from the big guys running this country.
However this is just my expectation of Sg girls. Don't forget you've got to figure out what men like CatKnight really want in a relationship.
Thank you for sharing your views.
I reckon you are a NS guy ?
By the time you start working, and you have a much higher income.. say $2000 per month.. with no monthly fixed expenses. Will you still go budget every date ?
Originally posted by nullifi3d:
I'm easily contented. Show a lil' appreciation and i'm happy.Just hate the whole "rolling of eyes" everytime i decide to go budget. Makes me feel inferior. I'm only getting a measley $640 allowance from the big guys running this country.
me 520 last time as cpl
money cannot buy 2 years of time...
Originally posted by BEARZAIS:I once dated a girl......i paid for everything ok.....somemore...i am still a student she is also a student...asked the girl wat she wanted to eat...she suggested jacksplace.....tat time siao liao...cos i only had 60 dollars with me....told her tat i only got $60....she stared at me......then suggested Sakae suhshi....i agree than..after bill come out 50 dollars...heng...but hor through the dinner...she was not really friendly....never talk much like Q and A session like tat i ask one Qn she Answer...after dinner....i suggested whether want to go window shoping anot.............she say that she tried liao...need to go home and rest........the remaining 10 dollars used as taxi fare for her.....reach her home liao....i asked her wat she think of me.......she said that i was too short.....break my heart leh........i 173cm not good enough for her.......but its the average height in sg leh sg population not really very tall ma......she say need at least 178 above then good enough
....that means that i forever also no chance liao well,this is the wrost dating experience i experienced.....but such encounters are quite rare
me also short 170 only but this girl is a slut
kaobei lah.
go marry vietnamese lah.
There's a difference between a cheapskate and a monetary poor chap.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:kaobei lah.
go marry vietnamese lah.
hello kitty
Actually i think if you really like a girl, carrying her handbag, seeing her home becomes very trivial stuff. I dont see why we need to discuss about that at all.
As for settling bills, if a girl is truly sensitive to your feelings, she would offer to pay sometimes.
Originally posted by GHoST_18:
hello kitty
gui guiiiiii ![]()
Originally posted by nullifi3d:All the other NSFs including myself are behind you bro.
But NS is just an excuse ya, after the 2 years we have the choice to work and pay for our girls or rely on her paying for you.
I'm the kind who'll treat a girl very well but also within my limitations. Too bad i'm wearing green at the moment; makes dating such an uphill task.
in NS there isnt much money. n some of my friends try to save as much as possible so when they enter local uni they can rely less on parents for pocket money. guys dont expect girls to treat us dinner when we in ns earning peanuts but going dutch, avoid keeping late nights 2 save on taxi fare can b done unless u driving yr dad car. even a newbie in workforce when starting out also need time. who knows he might have study loans to pay? cant always expect treats or dining at fancy rests just cos working n drawing a salary.
some gals after so late at night still expect guys 2 send them hm when they r capable of going hm themselves give rubbish say their parents worry 4 them or might call them ask abt them. then the guys parents dont call 2 ask where r their sons?
Originally posted by bryanw:
in NS there isnt much money. n some of my friends try to save as much as possible so when they enter local uni they can rely less on parents for pocket money. guys dont expect girls to treat us dinner when we in ns earning peanuts but going dutch, avoid keeping late nights 2 save on taxi fare can b done unless u driving yr dad car. even a newbie in workforce when starting out also need time. who knows he might have study loans to pay? cant always expect treats or dining at fancy rests just cos working n drawing a salary.some gals after so late at night still expect guys 2 send them hm when they r capable of going hm themselves give rubbish say their parents worry 4 them or might call them ask abt them. then the guys parents dont call 2 ask where r their sons?
If you are so financially tight. Why are you still trying to woo a girl ?
Wouldn't it be more prudent to just remain single until you are more capable of providing for your mate ?
no blain oly tink wif lan jiao.
Originally posted by jojobeach:If you are so financially tight. Why are you still trying to woo a girl ?
Wouldn't it be more prudent to just remain single until you are more capable of providing for your mate ?
i just echoing some of my friends thoughts. got once my friend's gf quarrelled with him cos she didnt like his close friends around n we just walked off since she like 2 show attitude. i even dumped a girl at the bus stop before when she was expecting a lift home after a night out.
haha.
so it muz have been a retribution.
haha.
Look let's get real,how many guys below 30 earn 60k per year?
And how many are rich man sons? If you go out twice a week with a gal spending 200 per week one month already come to 800 bucks..and this is before marriage![]()
its not yet midnight she can take the bus home. so i left her at the bus stop n told her got to go.
Originally posted by Catknight:Look let's get real,how many guys below 30 earn 60k per year?
And how many are rich man sons? If you go out twice a week with a gal spending 200 per week one month already come to 800 bucks..and this is before marriage
in the 1st place parents give pocket money 2 their sons is not to lavish everything on a pussie but 4 them 2 eat
It all comes down high maintainence...wan someone pretty...born rich and goodlooking lor if not tough luck or tough love![]()
200 per week is ok wat.
u deserve any shit dat cms ur way.
so stop whinin, u loserish wimps.
u wan thrifty gf, choose one dat looks the part.
all is fair & square.
If marriage cost 5X or more and you're the only one shouldering the burden, then who's the boss?![]()
Originally posted by bryanw:
in the 1st place parents give pocket money 2 their sons is not to lavish everything on a pussie but 4 them 2 eat
glad dat u knw.
go suck thumb.
learn to support urself & ur parents 1st.
Originally posted by Catknight:If marriage cost 5X or more and you're the only one shouldering the burden, then who's the boss?
5x of wat?
So guys want some one pretty... and expect her to not hiam your small wallet ?
If you are rich , will you pay 500K for a Toyota ?