inspired by a convo with a friend. haha
what accents can you not understand?
what accents do you not like?
what accents do you like?
please be as specific as possible! dont tell me american or british. because those places are huge and there are tons of different accents within each of those countries! ><
(taken from wiki:an accent is a manner of pronounciation of a language. Accents should not be confused with dialects which are varieties of language differing in vocabulary and syntax as well as pronunciation)
im talking about the different accents spoken by native english speakers. not people who speak english as a second/third/etc language.
Chinese accent.....
Got one time one chinese man ask my sister where is the carpark....he pronounced it as parkark.....wtf man.....
then room becomes noom......
India Accent! Very hard to understand sia! Last time got a guest speaker come my school and give a talk, -.-" I don't really understand leh!
I don't like China Chinese speaking English Accent. -.-" I don't understand either.
I like England's English accent. Very thick~ but can understand.
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:India Accent! Very hard to understand sia! Last time got a guest speaker come my school and give a talk, -.-" I don't really understand leh!
I don't like China Chinese speaking English Accent. -.-" I don't understand either.
I like England's English accent. Very thick~ but can understand.
i like tis oso ![]()
All of them are fine...as long as they are not imitated...i'm fine with them...because some posers are just so annoying...
a bit cannot tahan korean and hongkie speaking english
korean will be damn monotonous.... zzZZzzz...
hongkie will speak until damn farinie....
Originally posted by FireIce:a bit cannot tahan korean and hongkie speaking english
haha. me too!
when those people from china speak english. it totally freaked me out. i feel like smacking them when they speak because it would take them so long to speak a complete sentence, #$%#$%!. however, indian accents do make me laugh though i understand it. for example, the word volume can be spoken "wo-lume". and the word "earth,both" can be spoken as " ert, bot"
anyways, my favourite accent would be received pronunciation and estuary english. ( both are british accents) =D
uncomfortable wif people speaking english with the cantonese 'twang', they sound like they're singing =.="
British accent i like
Indian accent sounds funni,
Chinese accent sounds a little bit weird
Originally posted by FireIce:a bit cannot tahan korean and hongkie speaking english
koreans speak like they are out of breath..
arrrhhh....uuuuuu ddooontttth mmakke funnn offf *no breath*koreans...
laurence82's accent is the best
Chinamen ones... Hate and dun understand...
I like the french accent, when i hear my french navy uncle speak... sounds cool...![]()
i dun like tai wan ppl who only know afew words laugh at us when we speak english
Originally posted by elementalangel:i dun like tai wan ppl who only know afew words laugh at us when we speak english
gotta love the irish accent!
Originally posted by O_ok:gotta love the irish accent!
Then again, yea... They sound cool too.
Originally posted by elementalangel:i dun like tai wan ppl who only know afew words laugh at us when we speak english
haha ya lor ... me too
Sheiffield Accent FTW!!!!
i dun mind any accents
only can't stand FAKED accent
esp Chinese talking to ang mo purposely come out 1 cmi ang mo accent
a person's accent is acquired by 6 years of age
so dun think go overseas and one can have a new accent
that is FAKED
Originally posted by noopi:i dun mind any accents
only can't stand FAKED accent
esp Chinese talking to ang mo purposely come out 1 cmi ang mo accent
a person's accent is acquired by 6 years of age
so dun think go overseas and one can have a new accent
that is FAKED
i think i have a little accent too but i dont think its chinese accent..................people in beijing must have chinese accents
Everybody has an accent.Mine is singlish when in Singapore more like Hawaian when speaking to others.