30 Aug, 10:37AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Cyclists and Pedestrians - Footpaths

Subscribe to Cyclists and Pedestrians - Footpaths 130 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    632 posts since Oct '04
    • Cyclist are not allowed to ride on footpaths except for an ongoing trial in Tampines that allows the two-wheelers to do so.  The year-long trial ends in May.

The Traffic Police and Land Transport Authority said that for the trial to be successful, cyclists should give way to pedestrians who will still have the right of way on footpaths.

Cyclists must get off and push their bikes at pedestrian crossings and crowded public places such as malls and bus stops.  Those who wish to cycle fast should do so on the roads rather than the footways.

Edited by pisces8 27 Feb `08, 1:37AM
    632 posts since Oct '04
    • In respond to the issue “Whether cyclists and pedestrians can co-exist in the same space” by the Straits Times - Mr Johnny Seto, 39, a technical officer, said some cyclists shouted at him when he refused to give way on the footpaths. They kept sounding their bells but I deliberately blocked their way,” he said.  (The Sunday Times 17 Feb 08 - Readers say “no” to shared footpaths)

Are you like Mr Johnny Seto, a pedestrian who seems to own the footpaths?

What will you do, as a cyclist, if you meet one like Mr Johnny Seto on the footpath?

Edited by pisces8 27 Feb `08, 1:34AM
    3,991 posts since May '07
    • wot next......cyclists are obliged to wear helmet, apply for license and register their bike to get license plate?

1,247 posts since Mar '06
    •  

i cant stand pedestrains who think they own the pathway. i like to zoom straight at pesdestrains who block me intentionally. then we see who is stronger icon_lol.gif.

3,991 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by aiglosicicle:

i cant stand pedestrains who think they own the pathway. i like to zoom straight at pesdestrains who block me intentionally. then we see who is stronger icon_lol.gif.

yeah....its not fair for us cyclists who has no intention to actually harm anyone on the pathway........wtf man......why need to bloody get of the bike when at the traffic light.....this is absurd.....

4,223 posts since Sep '05
    6,273 posts since Aug '02
    • I don't know why they put the cycling prohibition sign at bus stops so high up.

As if the cyclists will lift their heads and look at the blue sign.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    159,711 posts since Dec '99
    28,799 posts since Jun '03
    • Originally posted by pisces8:

In respond to the issue “Whether cyclists and pedestrians can co-exist in the same space” by the Straits Times - Mr Johnny Seto, 39, a technical officer, said some cyclists shouted at him when he refused to give way on the footpaths. They kept sounding their bells but I deliberately blocked their way,” he said.  (The Sunday Times 17 Feb 08 - Readers say “no” to shared footpaths)

What will you do, as a cyclist, if you meet one like Mr Johnny Seto on the footpath?

LL lor. cos as a cyclist, i'm suppose to cycle on the road.

i feel if there r pedestrians walking in front, the cyclists should stop cycle n walk along wif their bicycle until the path is clear.

• Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    19,188 posts since Dec '99

u're supposed to be on th road.

altho i've nvr been in favour of it.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    159,711 posts since Dec '99
  • Pink Leftie with child bearing hips and fertile eggs
    19,188 posts since Dec '99
    6,933 posts since Jul '07
    • In here, if motorists had not given way to cyclists, i think alot would had died. Cyclists are suppose to wear the blink red light at nite, but damn, i alway have to jam my brake for indians at nite riding on a black bicycle and wearing black shirt...how to see leh??

And as for the chinese, they ride like here is tiananmen.

i go repair brakes first

3,095 posts since Aug '07
    542 posts since Feb '06

In respond to the issue “Whether cyclists and pedestrians can co-exist in the same space” by the Straits Times - Mr Johnny Seto, 39, a technical officer, said some cyclists shouted at him when he refused to give way on the footpaths. They kept sounding their bells but I deliberately blocked their way,” he said.  (The Sunday Times 17 Feb 08 - Readers say “no” to shared footpaths)

Both cyclists and pedestrians need to share the blame. But first of all, let’s get one thing straight: Pedestrians have the right of way on footpath. Period.

Having said that, it is easier for pedestrians to give way to cyclists than it is the other way round. All a pedestrian need to do is to walk to one side. Conversely, for a cyclist to give way, they sometimes need to dismount from the bike, push the bike past the pedestrian, remount the bike, and cycle on etc.

The problem is that cyclists must recognize that pedestrians make way for them out of courtesy, not because cyclists have the right of way or that cyclists can bull their way through pedestrians. Accordingly, every time a pedestrian make way for a cyclist, it is an act of courtesy when must be returned. A simple "thank you" will do nicely.

But how often do pedestrians get this basic courtesy returned from cyclists? They ring their bell incessantly as though they own the road, and when pedestrians give way to cyclists, they just cycle past as if they have the right of way. This action will cause some pedestrians (like the aforementioned Mr. Johnny Seto) to take a hard stance against cyclists, which in turn makes cyclists even more reckless. It is a downward spiral which could be avoided if cyclists will just ease off the bell a bit, and say “thank you” whenever a pedestrian make way for them.

186 posts since Mar '06

Cyclists must get off and push their bikes at pedestrian crossings and crowded public places such as malls and bus stops.  Those who wish to cycle fast should do so on the roads rather than the footways.

All talk and no action. Have you ever seen any cycists get down and push their bikes at pedestrian crossings?

The cyclists just ring their way through. The LTA might consider changing the green man to green bicycle lights at these crossingsicon_twisted.gif 

Edited by dragon_stone 27 Feb `08, 3:24PM
    186 posts since Mar '06
    • the MP made a mistake, if the experiment goes thru', then it is legal for cyclists to share the footpaths which would not goes down well with the pedestrians. Cyclists would be even bolder and reckless thus causing more accidents...the cyclists would blame the LTA or TC or installing obstacles which cause accidents (a previous bridge accident test case)

If the experiment is the other way, cyclists would not be happy...

Let's see how our dear MP gets out of the popularity vote.biggrin.png

12,127 posts since Dec '04
    1,247 posts since Mar '06
    • actually i never use my bicycle bell because i think it is rude. most of the time i just say EXCUSE ME or i go on the grass and move pass pedestrians.

i do not support forcing cyclists to use the roads. it is very... VERY dangerous.

186 posts since Mar '06
    • when cyclists use the roads, it is very dangerous

but when pedestrians use the pavement, it is also very dangerous with cyclists around icon_evil.gif

376 posts since Dec '06
    2,928 posts since Sep '04
    • Every year 200+ people are killed on our roads. Most of them motorcyclists.

If bicyclists are forced on to the roads. the figures will surely increase. And who will be these new vulnerable people? Besides Banglas and PRC, it will be our aunties and uncles and nephews.

The simple solution is to widen the footpath so that pedestrians and cyclist can coexist. But the LTA (the government) would rather widen the road. The LTA spend much of their energy and resources on cars, millions of dollars upon million of dollars for cars, but for bicycles they have only excuses. This lends credence to the cliche: "Some people are more equal."

There is no point in complaining about inconsiderate cyclists and selfish pedestrians. They will alway be around. We have to think solution. Since the government contol every aspect of our lives, they should come up with a solution, rather than a law just banning cycling on the footpath. They should provide space for bicycles.

This should go hand-in-hand with encouraging Singaporeans to take up cycling.

The Minister for Transport, Mr Raymond Lim is totally unaware that HDB heartlanders use bicycles for transport, and not the feeder service. Some people are not equal enough.

71 posts since Jul '02
    • Tampines is coined a bicycle town in police brochue, I believe due to the high concentration of cyclists in the area.   Just some points I want to raise.  I am a cyclist cycling to work daily and encouter many incidents. Cyclists are king of road? not true, pedestrians too are king of cylcling track in Tampiness too.  There are park connectors in Tampines for leisure and cyclists to move from town to town.  However, the following happens.

Pedestrians gather and crowd along park connectors, leaving no space for cyclists to move, but to go onto walkway.  When walkway is separated from connector, I will have to ring my bell to alert them. Reaction I got was, some stared at me, some don't bother and 1 case, got scolding as pedestrians thought he had the right of way.  Of coruse, there are those who give way.

Another point, since connector being built, many pedestrians started using them instead of the walkway.  Something very strange and true.  Then you also have the sports enthusiasts who jogs on the connectors.  I am find with that... however, this adds on to the many hazards cyclists already facing.

My experience, you probably encounter more rude or rather inconsiderate cyclists than good ones.  More problem when kids cycle as they tend to speed or rather can't stop on time. some even playing with friends even on bike. 

Cyclists going on the road? yes but more accidents to happened.  As quoted by figures, since the trial in Tampines started, less accidents. How true, that's waht they say.  like it or not, I see it coming, even if its not successful, as mentioned, they will try monitor and tune it. 

Widening of road, already been considered but have problems, create bicycle track, same problems as widening.  there are already park connectors as reported and this actually "eats" into the space... where to find more space to create bicycle lane? 

Cyclists never walk across crossing?  Wrong again, there are cyclists who walked their bike across... I had seen it so I can tell you this although most don't

632 posts since Oct '04
    • Originally posted by dragon_stone:

All talk and no action. Have you ever seen any cycists get down and push their bikes at pedestrian crossings?

The cyclists just ring their way through. The LTA might consider changing the green man to green bicycle lights at these crossingsicon_twisted.gif 

I am just quoting what the Traffic Police and Land Transport Authority is saying – ie cyclists must get off and push their bikes at pedestrian crossing.

I believe the Traffic Police and LTA will say that the cyclist if cycling on the road, he/she will have to follow the traffic light at road junction also, ie red light – stop, green light – go.

Yes, there are cyclists who ride across the pedestrian crossings, similarly there are cyclists who beat red light, similarly there are motorist who beat red light.  Other than the chance of getting caught by the Traffic Police, it is a matter that there is higher chance of  an accident to happen.

632 posts since Oct '04

actually i never use my bicycle bell because i think it is rude. most of the time i just say EXCUSE ME or i go on the grass and move pass pedestrians.

i do not support forcing cyclists to use the roads. it is very... VERY dangerous.

I agree with you totally.

Please Login or Signup to reply.