07 Jul, 08:16AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Does prayers help in life?

Subscribe to Does prayers help in life? 91 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,040 posts since Oct '07
    • Sometimes when you are all alone and helpless, abandoned by family and friends.... Can geniune prayers to heaven help?angel.png

• EMERGENCY AMBULANCE
    6,006 posts since Feb '08
    3,893 posts since May '06
    151 posts since Dec '07
    • not to heaven no. but write down for yourself what do you want to do to change what's gone wrong with your life and think happy because you're as happy as you want to be and understand its a choice rather than an emotion someone or something material invokes in you. my personal belief is that while religion does provide one with a mutally caring community and keeps hopes up, its a load of tosh.

• EMERGENCY AMBULANCE
    6,006 posts since Feb '08
    • Originally posted by Catknight:

Thanks I went back to church now ..feel a sense of peace but I wish family life is toocat.png

don't worry, I'm sure god is listening to your prayers angel.png

• As the saying goes you can choose your friends but not your family, how many are born in a happy supportive family environment

• My family tends to put me down and make me feel like a loser only God and saints understand me now

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    155,074 posts since Dec '99
    • 安慰自己 a bit yah lah......

yday i was hungry
      i went to the kitchen
      and prayed for food to be on the table
      but then, when i open my eyes, i still see nothing on the table

tts when i realised is 骗人 one lor.........

4,094 posts since Sep '05
    4,718 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by Catknight:

My family tends to put me down and make me feel like a loser only God and saints understand me now

how do they understand you? how do you know they understand
      and what did they do?

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    155,074 posts since Dec '99
    • yah... then i ownself went to cook miso noodles...
      Then i thank myself for putting food on the table wink.png

4,718 posts since Oct '05
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

yah... then i ownself went to cook miso noodles...
      Then i thank myself for putting food on the table wink.png

icon_lol.gif  cute leh..

anyway we pray to comfort ourselves, praying will not confirm you to get what you prayed for.. you have to do somethin too. make changes

Edited by Lorry` 04 Mar `08, 2:07AM
    2,860 posts since Sep '04
    • Here is some circular logic.

God helps those who help themselves.

Do something more than just pray about your problems.

6,216 posts since Aug '02
    732 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

安慰自己 a bit yah lah......

yday i was hungry
      i went to the kitchen
      and prayed for food to be on the table
      but then, when i open my eyes, i still see nothing on the table

tts when i realised is 骗人 one lor.........

aiya...

cannot say is pian ren lar..

i myself is a free-thinker

yet i believe in praying...

like dat time b4 my exam.

i prayed to every GOD there is.

and heng heng i passed.

Pray hard..it works!

5,936 posts since Jul '07
    3,641 posts since Aug '07
    • God never help u, ok, all things in this world are managed by ourself. GOd is there watching only. God will sigh if you decide to suicide. God will laugh if you're funny. Simple as that.

God will see if you help yourself. Then only He show u the way, not He helps u. and the way only u can choose either u want it or not.

132 posts since Jan '05
    2,860 posts since Sep '04
    5,362 posts since Jun '07
    • I think it helps bring solace to certain people when their spirits are down.

Edited by soleachip 04 Mar `08, 11:41AM
    5,936 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by soleachip:

I think it helps bring solace to certain people when their spirits are down.

Ya, then they end up filling their life with spirit drown down their throat, over the counter nite after nite just to stay alive.

3,978 posts since May '07
    • when i was eager in praying.....it help me calm the mind and even cured my fears......

last time i used to fear the supernatural.......although i still do now when i was an eager prayer, somehow i feared nothing at all....all the fears came back to me slowly only when i stop.......

1,682 posts since Dec '07
    3,711 posts since Dec '05
    • of course yes. u see, sometimes prayer doesnt work its because if everytime we pray and god grant us that wish, life would be too simple and there wont be any problems, except for th fact that there will be chaos and all. just go watch bruce almighty and u will understand.

Please Login or Signup to reply.