<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<rss xmlns:atom="http://www.w3.org/2005/Atom" xmlns:opensearch="http://a9.com/-/spec/opensearch/1.1/" version="2.0">
  <channel>
    <title>Recent Posts in 'Does prayers help in life?' | sgForums.com</title>
    <link>http://sgforums.com/forums/8/topics/309626</link>
    <language>en-US</language>
    <ttl>60</ttl>
    <atom:link rel="search" type="application/opensearchdescription+xml" href="http://sgforums.com/open_search.xml"/>
    <description></description>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 20:12:56 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;God is always true. it just depends on whether we want to find
it a not&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;and so is the flying spaghetti monster &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Amen&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 20:12:56 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7918137</guid>
      <author>stupidissmart</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Catknight @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 20:09:45 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;Always pray for the second coming of messiah, our world has run
her last leg&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/angel.png" alt=
"angel.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 20:09:45 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7918134</guid>
      <author>Catknight</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by rlsh07 @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 19:06:12 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by stupidissmart:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;div class="quote_body"&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Depend on yourself lor...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Only if god is true, then it is logical. Heck, if god is true, I
believe in it even if I am bill gates&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;God is always true. it just depends on whether we want to find
it a not&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 19:06:12 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917946</guid>
      <author>rlsh07</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Hello Kitty @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 19:03:23 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;u ah...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;can oly pray for a miracle liao.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 19:03:23 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917936</guid>
      <author>Hello Kitty</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 18:56:25 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;blockquote class=""&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If you can't depend on family and govt then you depend on
God...isn't this logical?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Depend on yourself lor...&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Only if god is true, then it is logical. Heck, if god is true, I
believe in it even if I am bill gates&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 18:56:25 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917901</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Catknight @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 16:51:59 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;If you can't depend on family and govt then you depend on
God...isn't this logical?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 16:51:59 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917644</guid>
      <author>Catknight</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 15:41:32 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;i'm saying generally in war time but in today's world, yes life
may get better and lifestyles changes , but there is always
disadvantages and advantages no matter how you look at it
though.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well obviously the advantages r more than the disadvantages. U
encourage people to have wars ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well......it would've been a waste....you could teach your child
to do good......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The ultimae goal is to go to heaven isn't it ? They could go to
hell which is infinitely many times worse&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well learning from evil is the same as learning one's
mistake.....once learn you try not to repeat the same mistake
unless you choose to do it for some reason......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Learning from mistakes is not learning from failure &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;U r mixing up failure and evil as the
same thing. Evil is doing something tat harms other party while
failure is the inability to make something succeed or work. They r
different. U can learn from mistakes and failure but tat is
different from learning evil. Learning evil means becoming
evil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hmmm.....yesh without evil it would be possible.....i think evil
also mould cultures in someway......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if out of 100 people, 1 is born with autism and stuff and they
are a nuisance to the world population....wot would you propose to
be done if the world has no evil?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If the world has no evil, then obviously society will help them
more than if there is evil&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;wot if a virus spreads through a city and the risk of the virus
spreading is damn high and no cure found.....wot would you do to
the city?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I will quarrantine the city. And tat is not evil because I do it
in good faith. If evil exist, then people becomes selfish
and&amp;nbsp;will try to escape from the quarantine and doom
mankind.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 15:41:32 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917523</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:53:44 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by rlsh07:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not really why?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;just asking......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;sgf kinda quiet....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:53:44 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917205</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by rlsh07 @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:51:07 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Deino:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hello rlsh07.....you just woke up ah?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;not really why?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:51:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917201</guid>
      <author>rlsh07</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:49:18 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;hello rlsh07.....you just woke up ah?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:49:18 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917200</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:47:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Suicide is sin only because someone tell tat to u. If u wanna
your baby to go to heaven immediately, u should kill it and bear
the sin yourself while your baby enjoy his life immediately in
heaven&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Says who ? People learn because there is a need. They learn to
farm because they need food. They learn to make cars because they
can travel. It again has nothing to do with evil. U still cannot
sure me an example how evil can facilitate men to learn the right
thing&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is no evil, why learn evil ? Fighting for territory is
itself evil and without evil, there is no fight.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is no evil, people still can do population control such
as contraceptives etc. There is nothing evil using
contraceptives.&amp;nbsp;Effort to stem global warming can become
stronger because men have no greed and they r willing to spend
resources to combat the problem. Evil again has shown to cause more
problems than solving them&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U really predict my response :D It is hard to esay whether war
make science better because wars itself stop education, peace,
research and kill scientists and people. If there is no war, maybe
technology will become better due to the need of the people and
with better resources.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well......it would've been a waste....you could teach your child
to do good......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well learning from evil is the same as learning one's
mistake.....once learn you try not to repeat the same mistake
unless you choose to do it for some reason......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;hmmm.....yesh without evil it would be possible.....i think evil
also mould cultures in someway......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if out of 100 people, 1 is born with autism and stuff and they
are a nuisance to the world population....wot would you propose to
be done if the world has no evil?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;wot if a virus spreads through a city and the risk of the virus
spreading is damn high and no cure found.....wot would you do to
the city?&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:47:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917199</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by rlsh07 @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:47:19 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Tat is correct if u interprete from a society point of view.
However from a religion point of view it cannot answer why suicide
is discouraged&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In wartime it doesn't means there is no diesease&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Is just tat at peace time, more effort
r spent on combatting dieseases and tat is why the highlight&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
do you knoe that society point of view is influenced by a person's
moral values. A person's values can come from a lot of places, his
experience, his religion and his friends and family. you are only
restricting your thoughts though&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i'm saying generally in war time but in today's world, yes life
may get better and lifestyles changes , but there is always
disadvantages and advantages no matter how you look at it
though.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:47:19 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917198</guid>
      <author>rlsh07</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:44:07 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;suicide is a way of running away and it should never ever be an
option to resolve anything. because it always hurts the people who
are left behind and they will have to resolve the problems you
created.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tat is correct if u interprete from a society point of view.
However from a religion point of view it cannot answer why suicide
is discouraged&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In war, many lives were killed. when technology and life become
better, a lot of weird diseases is coming up.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In wartime it doesn't means there is no diesease&amp;nbsp;&lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Is just tat at peace time, more effort
r spent on combatting dieseases and tat is why the highlight&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:44:07 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917195</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by rlsh07 @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:39:50 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;suicide is a way of running away and it should never ever be an
option to resolve anything. because it always hurts the people who
are left behind and they will have to resolve the problems you
created.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;there is always good out of every situation. in every situation,
there are disadvantages and advantages. as you say,&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;strong&gt;"wars itself stop education, peace, research and kill
scientists and people. If there is no war, maybe technology will
become better due to the need of the people and with better
resources."&lt;/strong&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;In war, many lives were killed. when technology and life become
better, a lot of weird diseases is coming up.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;so it really depends on one's perspective. life is a matter of
perspective though&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:39:50 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917189</guid>
      <author>rlsh07</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:33:51 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;suicide is sin......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Suicide is sin only because someone tell tat to u. If u wanna
your baby to go to heaven immediately, u should kill it and bear
the sin yourself while your baby enjoy his life immediately in
heaven&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;wrong.....the only way for man to learn is to
experience.....some people can becoz they learn from others's
experience....so being able to do evil is imoprtant......its not
about wot you have done, but wot you will do in the future&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Says who ? People learn because there is a need. They learn to
farm because they need food. They learn to make cars because they
can travel. It again has nothing to do with evil. U still cannot
sure me an example how evil can facilitate men to learn the right
thing&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;like i said, in this world, without the ability to do evil, do
you think people would've known wot is evil? same goes to animals,
they dunno how to differenciate between doing evil and
good....fighting for territories etc....men have many times over
fought for territories to but we learn not to harm each other in
the process over years and decades......animals, uptil now have
still fought for territories the same way they did since who knows
when.....people may still be killing now and then, history repeats
itself but hell at least we learn from them......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is no evil, why learn evil ? Fighting for territory is
itself evil and without evil, there is no fight.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if there is no evil, the world overpopulated.....global warmin
may still happen and wot are we gonna do to the overpopulated
world?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If there is no evil, people still can do population control such
as contraceptives etc. There is nothing evil using
contraceptives.&amp;nbsp;Effort to stem global warming can become
stronger because men have no greed and they r willing to spend
resources to combat the problem. Evil again has shown to cause more
problems than solving them&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the world without evil maybe a good thing if you see it.....who
wouldn't......but the most important thing is how you use
it......many breakthrough technologies have been found from wars
etc.....i know you would probably say that it is possible to find
these technologies without war but it has happened.....you cannot
change it....just live through the times......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U really predict my response :D It is hard to esay whether war
make science better because wars itself stop education, peace,
research and kill scientists and people. If there is no war, maybe
technology will become better due to the need of the people and
with better resources.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 12:33:51 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917184</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 10:57:26 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Precisely. If there is life after death, and it is a better
life, why don't u encourage mass suicide ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U can think and reason without the need to be able to do evil
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why does evil exist then can necessary lessons be learned ? U
can still learn tat helping others give them happiness. U can still
learn tat playing a piano is enjoyable. U can still learn science
and apply it. &amp;nbsp;In fact u can learn a lot of good things
without evil. And it does not means helping other is senseless. U
help other because they need help, not because u wanna go to heaven
or something. U help a granny cross a road because u think it helps
her. It is not senseless choice. It is meaningful even when there
is no evil&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With evil, wat do u learn ? U learn to be defensive to protect
yourself. U learn to hurt others to prevent others from bullying u.
U learn how to lie to prevent yourself being blamed. U learn how to
cheat to earn money. All these r bad and necessary things to learn
when evil is abound. But if evil is not around, these skills become
redundant&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why does evil means being able to use your brain ? R u trying to
say evil people r smarter then ? Then Ghandhi and mother teresa r
idiots while einstein is pure evil. They r mutually independent
events. Without evil, people can still learn how to play music or
learn a language. Without evil, people can still research and
study. Without evil, people can still make decisions. Evil and
thinking r mutually exclusive. Give me an example why evil have to
do with thinking.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U r making a logically flawed argument. U r saying animals r
stupid and does not display morals code and conclude tat without
displaying evil u r as stupid as animals. It is the same as
saying&amp;nbsp;smelly toufu&amp;nbsp;(food)&amp;nbsp;taste good if they
use&amp;nbsp;very smelly and rotten toufu&amp;nbsp;and conclude&amp;nbsp;all
dishes&amp;nbsp;must use&amp;nbsp;smelly and rotten toufu&amp;nbsp;to taste
good.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;suicide is sin......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;wrong.....the only way for man to learn is to
experience.....some people can becoz they learn from others's
experience....so being able to do evil is imoprtant......its not
about wot you have done, but wot you will do in the future&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;yes, smarter people are able to do more evil than dumb people
coz dumb people dunno how to differenciate good and evil at
times......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i didn't say einstein and ghandi was evil, but the fact that
they were able to yet they didn't do it is an example that they are
learned men........they learn and know wot is good and bad and they
choose.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;like i said, in this world, without the ability to do evil, do
you think people would've known wot is evil? same goes to animals,
they dunno how to differenciate between doing evil and
good....fighting for territories etc....men have many times over
fought for territories to but we learn not to harm each other in
the process over years and decades......animals, uptil now have
still fought for territories the same way they did since who knows
when.....people may still be killing now and then, history repeats
itself but hell at least we learn from them......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if there is no evil, the world overpopulated.....global warmin
may still happen and wot are we gonna do to the overpopulated
world?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the world without evil maybe a good thing if you see it.....who
wouldn't......but the most important thing is how you use
it......many breakthrough technologies have been found from wars
etc.....i know you would probably say that it is possible to find
these technologies without war but it has happened.....you cannot
change it....just live through the times......&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 10:57:26 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7917043</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 01:30:52 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;well.....from my learning and in this case, if there is life
after death, then wot is the problem with dying?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Precisely. If there is life after death, and it is a better
life, why don't u encourage mass suicide ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;we maybe programmed to be able to do evil.....but we also are
programmed to think and reason......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U can think and reason without the need to be able to do evil
&lt;img src="/images/emoticons/classic/icon_rolleyes.gif" alt=
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;free will is the ability to do anything that in this world which
is bound by its own laws.......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if men didn't have the ability to do evil, he won't know evil in
the first place and if he didn't know evil, there won't be any
lessons to learn.....this means that life would be
senseless........thus doing all those things that you mention would
have no impact on your morality.......giving, helping etc. would be
no more than a senseless choice expect becoz they need it.....these
are the properties of a robot......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why does evil exist then can necessary lessons be learned ? U
can still learn tat helping others give them happiness. U can still
learn tat playing a piano is enjoyable. U can still learn science
and apply it. &amp;nbsp;In fact u can learn a lot of good things
without evil. And it does not means helping other is senseless. U
help other because they need help, not because u wanna go to heaven
or something. U help a granny cross a road because u think it helps
her. It is not senseless choice. It is meaningful even when there
is no evil&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;With evil, wat do u learn ? U learn to be defensive to protect
yourself. U learn to hurt others to prevent others from bullying u.
U learn how to lie to prevent yourself being blamed. U learn how to
cheat to earn money. All these r bad and necessary things to learn
when evil is abound. But if evil is not around, these skills become
redundant&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is just like animals.......if you wan the ability to not
commit evil, then be an animal which have no moral code.......becoz
they dun have this ability, it wouldn't be a sin to them for eating
their young and fighting each other off to the death.......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the ability to do evil is very important coz it has put senses
to our brains.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if we dun have the ability to do evil, then we won't have the
ability to think.......both co-exist......if not, even kicking a
granny into a pit hole wouldn't be considered a sin.....and that
would make us an animal&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why does evil means being able to use your brain ? R u trying to
say evil people r smarter then ? Then Ghandhi and mother teresa r
idiots while einstein is pure evil. They r mutually independent
events. Without evil, people can still learn how to play music or
learn a language. Without evil, people can still research and
study. Without evil, people can still make decisions. Evil and
thinking r mutually exclusive. Give me an example why evil have to
do with thinking.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;U r making a logically flawed argument. U r saying animals r
stupid and does not display morals code and conclude tat without
displaying evil u r as stupid as animals. It is the same as
saying&amp;nbsp;smelly toufu&amp;nbsp;(food)&amp;nbsp;taste good if they
use&amp;nbsp;very smelly and rotten toufu&amp;nbsp;and conclude&amp;nbsp;all
dishes&amp;nbsp;must use&amp;nbsp;smelly and rotten toufu&amp;nbsp;to taste
good.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 01:30:52 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7916423</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by soleachip @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 01:03:22 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Coevolver:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;I prefer an attitude of humility corresponding to the
weakness of our intellectual understanding of nature and of our own
being.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
- Albert Einstein to Guy H. Raner Jr., Sept. 28, 1949, quoted by
Michael R. Gilmore in &lt;em&gt;Skeptic&lt;/em&gt; magazine, Vol. 5, No. 2&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Well said.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 01:03:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7916354</guid>
      <author>soleachip</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by caleb_chiang @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:53:02 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Catknight:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sometimes when you are all alone and helpless, abandoned by
family and friends.... Can geniune prayers to heaven help?&lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess/angel.png" alt=
"angel.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
Well, it depends on you... &lt;img src=
"/images/emoticons/kde-3.5.8/KMess-Cartoon/wink.png" alt=
"wink.png" /&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:53:02 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7916330</guid>
      <author>caleb_chiang</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:45:57 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Then tis god is ridiculous.We r programmed by him to commit evil
then we r punished because of his programming. If your left eye
caused u to sin, gorge it out and throw it away. Since committing
evil caused us to sin, then take it out from us and lead us to
heaven directly.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If he forgive, then he will remove the punishment of death. We
still die now.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sorry man... goodness is not dependent on evil as well. I help a
granny cross the road. Tat is goodness, and without evil tat is
still goodness. I help a friend call a cab, give begger some food,
raise public awareness about hazard on the road, return wallet to
police, research a medicine to help the world and they r good
things without involving evil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Without evil tat is still goodness. Goodness exists irregardless
of evil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why wouldn't it be right &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Why give us the ability to do bad
things unless god is evil himself ? We can still have a power over
most things but just tat we do not have the power to commit evil.
We can still save the environment, help species adapt, help fellow
people make the world a better place, world peace and tis power
does not come because evil exist. Evil actually make us
powerless.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;well.....from my learning and in this case, if there is life
after death, then wot is the problem with dying?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;we maybe programmed to be able to do evil.....but we also are
programmed to think and reason......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;free will is the ability to do anything that in this world which
is bound by its own laws.......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if men didn't have the ability to do evil, he won't know evil in
the first place and if he didn't know evil, there won't be any
lessons to learn.....this means that life would be
senseless........thus doing all those things that you mention would
have no impact on your morality.......giving, helping etc. would be
no more than a senseless choice expect becoz they need it.....these
are the properties of a robot......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;This is just like animals.......if you wan the ability to not
commit evil, then be an animal which have no moral code.......becoz
they dun have this ability, it wouldn't be a sin to them for eating
their young and fighting each other off to the death.......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the ability to do evil is very important coz it has put senses
to our brains.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;if we dun have the ability to do evil, then we won't have the
ability to think.......both co-exist......if not, even kicking a
granny into a pit hole wouldn't be considered a sin.....and that
would make us an animal&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:45:57 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7916302</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Coevolver @ Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:25:33 +0800</title>
&lt;div class="quote_from"&gt;Originally posted by Catknight:&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If einstein think there's a intelligent creator out there in our
universe, who are we to say there's not?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Einstein most certainly did not believe in a personal god,
contray to what Catknight said. When Einstein used the word "god"
in his conversation or writings, he used it as a metaphor to mean
"nature" or the universe at large" and not the god(s)&amp;nbsp;that
religionists recognise.&amp;nbsp;&amp;nbsp;This is similar to me saying
"Santa came early this year" when I get a big bonus fr my boss in
June, but it certainly does not mean I believe in the existence of
Santa Claus.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Einstein is either&amp;nbsp;agnostic or&amp;nbsp;atheistic. Einstein
also felt that a belief in a personal God is a main source
of&amp;nbsp;conflicts in the Mankind's history:&amp;nbsp;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;The following are Einsteins's own words:&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;It was, of course, a lie what you read about my religious
convictions, a lie which is being systematically repeated.
&lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;I do not believe in a
personal God and I have never denied this but have expressed it
clearly.&lt;/span&gt; If something is in me which can be called religious
then it is the unbounded admiration for the structure of the world
so far as our science can reveal it.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
- Albert Einstein, letter to an atheist (1954), quoted in
&lt;em&gt;Albert Einstein: The Human Side&lt;/em&gt;, edited by Helen Dukas
&amp;amp; Banesh Hoffman&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
&amp;nbsp;---------------------------------------------------------------------&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;I have repeatedly said that in my opinion the &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;idea of a personal God is a childlike
one&lt;/span&gt;. &lt;span style="text-decoration: underline;"&gt;You may call
me an agnostic&lt;/span&gt;, but I do not share the crusading spirit of
the professional atheist whose fervor is mostly due to a painful
act of liberation from the fetters of religious indoctrination
received in youth. I prefer an attitude of humility corresponding
to the weakness of our intellectual understanding of nature and of
our own being.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
- Albert Einstein to Guy H. Raner Jr., Sept. 28, 1949, quoted by
Michael R. Gilmore in &lt;em&gt;Skeptic&lt;/em&gt; magazine, Vol. 5, No. 2&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;
&lt;em&gt;-----------------------------------------------------------&lt;/em&gt;&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;em&gt;Scientific research is based on the idea that everything
that takes place is determined by laws of nature, and therefore
this holds for the action of people. &lt;span style=
"text-decoration: underline;"&gt;For this reason, a research scientist
will hardly be inclined to believe that events could be influenced
by a prayer&lt;/span&gt;, i.e. by a wish addressed to a Supernatural
Being.&lt;br /&gt;&lt;/em&gt;&lt;br /&gt;
- Albert Einstein, 1936, responding to a child who wrote and asked
if scientists pray; quoted in: &lt;em&gt;Albert Einstein: The Human
Side&lt;/em&gt;, edited by Helen Dukas &amp;amp; Banesh Hoffmann&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;&lt;a href=
"http://atheism.about.com/od/einsteingodreligion/tp/Einstein-on-a-Personal-God.htm"
rel=
"nofollow"&gt;http://atheism.about.com/od/einsteingodreligion/tp/Einstein-on-a-Personal-God.htm&lt;/a&gt;&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Sun, 09 Mar 2008 00:25:33 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7916217</guid>
      <author>Coevolver</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Fri, 07 Mar 2008 12:12:34 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;he sets mankind over all beings....we have the ability to
think......we may be programmed to be able to commit evil.....but
we are also programmed to choose, think and reason......thats wot
sets us apart.....in the end he did forgive adam for commiting
sin.....we're not robots.....we are given the power to
choose.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Then tis god is ridiculous.We r programmed by him to commit evil
then we r punished because of his programming. If your left eye
caused u to sin, gorge it out and throw it away. Since committing
evil caused us to sin, then take it out from us and lead us to
heaven directly.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;If he forgive, then he will remove the punishment of death. We
still die now.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;goodness without evil is not goodness......thats why we can
choose......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Sorry man... goodness is not dependent on evil as well. I help a
granny cross the road. Tat is goodness, and without evil tat is
still goodness. I help a friend call a cab, give begger some food,
raise public awareness about hazard on the road, return wallet to
police, research a medicine to help the world and they r good
things without involving evil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Without evil tat is still goodness. Goodness exists irregardless
of evil.&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but it wouldn't be right......everything in this world has the
ability to do bad things.....animals eat their young etc.....god
gave us this world so that we may dwell and take care, and have
power over most of it......hmmmm.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Why wouldn't it be right &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;Why give us the ability to do bad
things unless god is evil himself ? We can still have a power over
most things but just tat we do not have the power to commit evil.
We can still save the environment, help species adapt, help fellow
people make the world a better place, world peace and tis power
does not come because evil exist. Evil actually make us
powerless.&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 07 Mar 2008 12:12:34 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7912661</guid>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Fri, 07 Mar 2008 12:00:30 +0800</title>
      <description>&lt;p&gt;goodness without evil is not goodness......thats why we can
choose......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;i get your point on having free will but without the ability to
do evil.......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;but it wouldn't be right......everything in this world has the
ability to do bad things.....animals eat their young etc.....god
gave us this world so that we may dwell and take care, and have
power over most of it......hmmmm.....&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;gotta go now.....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 07 Mar 2008 12:00:30 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7912645</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by Deino @ Fri, 07 Mar 2008 11:59:22 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;Tat is the only freewill we really want &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;U want freewill without committing evil
or freewill tat commit evil ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;I don't see god liking tis effect himself since it decide adam
have to die in the end &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;He&amp;nbsp;create hell and sinning and
etc&amp;nbsp;when we r programmed by him&amp;nbsp;to commit evil. He like
us to commit evil or not ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Isn't tat wat we all want ? &lt;img src=
&lt;p&gt;Remember god is omnipotent. He can do tis&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/div&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;the keyword here is power......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;p&gt;he sets mankind over all beings....we have the ability to
think......we may be programmed to be able to commit evil.....but
we are also programmed to choose, think and reason......thats wot
sets us apart.....in the end he did forgive adam for commiting
sin.....we're not robots.....we are given the power to
choose.....&lt;/p&gt;</description>
      <pubDate>Fri, 07 Mar 2008 11:59:22 +0800</pubDate>
      <guid isPermaLink="false">sgforums.com:8:309626:7912639</guid>
      <author>Deino</author>
    </item>
    <item>
      <title>Does prayers help in life? replied by stupidissmart @ Fri, 07 Mar 2008 11:54:05 +0800</title>
&lt;p&gt;free will wthout the ability to commit evil is not free
will......&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;/blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;Tat is the only freewill we really want &lt;img src=
"icon_rolleyes.gif" /&gt;&amp;nbsp;U want freewill without committing evil
or freewill tat commit evil ?&lt;/p&gt;
&lt;blockquote&gt;
&lt;p&gt;becoz we are given the choice to do so but we do not do is why
god prefers us over other beings and also the reason why he made
the angels bow down to adam.....&lt;/p&gt;