Originally posted by pacoboy:Open book refer? huh. which book. Did you even completed ns yet? Warning shot, as in skywards? when the fellow is 3m or less away from you, that is suicidal, because by the time u fired skywards his knife would be in you. Wah lau eh. I am a new forumer here leh, but I seriously dunno where some of the opposers' ideas came from. Warning shot, tackling by unarmed combat or Tbaton, shoot legs etc... The officer got like a split second to make his decision. A decision which will decide who is the one lying down... To those who serve ns in police b4, esp the frontliners, you know all the elements jeopardy oportunity and ability is there in the case featured here.
So is it ok if the one who died or seriously injured is the officer instead? No. Call me pro govt, call me pro police, whatever. If the officer is wrong, I would say so. Just commenting based on the facts available so far... If wrong, I will say wrong. If right, I will say right.
Anyone who went thru Police Training / NS would see that this is a clear cut case fulfilling the SPF RoE. (A,O,J as mentioned.) Those who do not, simply lack the relevant knowledge of how it works.
The accused had already killed 1 and he would continue to kill to get his way out.
I bet the officer involved would'nt even have to write much for his report.
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:so, they had the right to pass death statements…
omg another funny statement!!!
The dumb c**t handed that to the officers the moment he decided to go aggro on them. "Hi! I'm charging at you with a knife but don't shoot me k?" wtf .... think before you type please, makes you look bad if you don't do it often enough.
TX
Originally posted by True_Xerion:omg another funny statement!!!
The dumb c**t handed that to the officers the moment he decided to go aggro on them. "Hi! I'm charging at you with a knife but don't shoot me k?" wtf .... think before you type please, makes you look bad if you don't do it often enough.
TX
agreeed
By all means shooting a person should be the last resort. A knife is no match to a gun. Even if the person is wielding a knife, he should have been first warned by shooting up in the air. Had he not succumbed to it, the police officer could shot him below waist, knees shoulder. Why in the chest not to mention the point blank range. The officer wanted to try something he had not done? Or is it message to the public. By all means this is wrong.
Originally posted by Dreamsahead:By all means shooting a person should be the last resort. A knife is no match to a gun. Even if the person is wielding a knife, he should have been first warned by shooting up in the air. Had he not succumbed to it, the police officer could shot him below waist, knees shoulder. Why in the chest not to mention the point blank range. The officer wanted to try something he had not done? Or is it message to the public. By all means this is wrong.
u think what? Shoot up in the air wont kena anything meh? They are underground leh mister..
I think its justifiable for him to shoot at the chest. If you aim the legs and miss, you might end up hitting someone further behind. If you aim to the top, the bullet will get reflected when it hits the ceiling. Dont aim chest, aim head ar?
The escape of Mas Selamat and the shooting incident were the most exciting thing that has ever happened to dull Singapore in such a long long time.![]()
Originally posted by Dreamsahead:By all means shooting a person should be the last resort. A knife is no match to a gun. Even if the person is wielding a knife, he should have been first warned by shooting up in the air. Had he not succumbed to it, the police officer could shot him below waist, knees shoulder. Why in the chest not to mention the point blank range. The officer wanted to try something he had not done? Or is it message to the public. By all means this is wrong.
Please don't think too much. If you were there i bet you'll panic. You try going to outram mrt station (which is underground) and shoot in the air lah. On top is the ceiling and other levels, not clouds. What if the bullet richochet and hit the crowds?
Lets not be armchair generals (or police officers for that matter). Only the officer who fired the shot has the right to determine if he did the right thing or not, not us. Anyway, there is general consensus that he did cosidering the facts involved. As much as we wish no one died, this is the way it is. Seriously, get your facts right.
Welcome to sgforums.
Originally posted by silverng:Dude, dun act like u know things. U just a dumb individual who is aimless in life. Go find something better to do rather then chatting all the time
This stupid clone here who joined as a member in Mar 08 and is his 1st post is probably the police officer who shot at that guy or 1 of his friends/relatives.
Go get a life stupid clone.
If you read TNP, you would have seen previous cases, all ruled in the favour of the POs.
The shooting IS justified, whether you think so or not.
Also, warning shot in enclosed areas is dangerous. Bullets do and will ricochet. Those in the force would probably know.
Originally posted by silverng:
This stupid clone here who joined as a member in Mar 08 and is his 1st post is probably the police officer who shot at that guy or 1 of his friends/relatives.
Go get a life stupid clone.
Btw Silverng, u a sex maniac? Seems like all your post demonstrated so. Umm.. suggest u go get your brain wash first before commenting on anything. Nothing constructive from u
Originally posted by aiglosicicle:i thought singapore policemen have tasers?
anyway i dont see how anyone can criticise local security just because of this incident. we dont have people who run in schools and shoot people every few monthes. no terrorist who throw grenades into cars. no militants who launch rockets into our cities.
Really?
They got tasers? Thats cool! But the other guy coming wiith knife, u whip out ur taser, u r finished. Taser must be close range.
Originally posted by Exige60:
Really?They got tasers? Thats cool! But the other guy coming wiith knife, u whip out ur taser, u r finished. Taser must be close range.
no..not those tasers..its those that u shoot and some kind of wire charged with electricity shoot out one...but to use taser gun in those situation is like maybe too slow..? Gun is much faster
i think all those posters who keep ranting on and on about firing 'warning shots' and 'aiming at non-lethal regions' should just slap yourselves hard in the face...
DUDES! the suspect was CHARGING at the officer with a GODDAMN KNIFE IN HIS HAND!! how to not shoot him u all tell me?? if lets say the suspect was walking over to the officer n shouting some vulgar threats or wat then fine, maybe the officer could have more chance or space to think about hooting elsewhere... and to shoot a warning shot in OUTRAM PARK MRT STATION?! in case u guys only just arrived in singapore 3 days ago.. that train station is UNDERGROUND... shoot a warning shot and see how it ricochets off the walls and ends up in a civilian probably 50m away from u and u just stand there like a dumb shit already stabbed by the suspect and regretting ur way to hell...
PLEASE USE YOUR BRAINS AND READ UP BEFORE SHOOTING OFF UR RANTS HERE...
Originally posted by scamx:i think all those posters who keep ranting on and on about firing 'warning shots' and 'aiming at non-lethal regions' should just slap yourselves hard in the face...
DUDES! the suspect was CHARGING at the officer with a GODDAMN KNIFE IN HIS HAND!! how to not shoot him u all tell me?? if lets say the suspect was walking over to the officer n shouting some vulgar threats or wat then fine, maybe the officer could have more chance or space to think about hooting elsewhere... and to shoot a warning shot in OUTRAM PARK MRT STATION?! in case u guys only just arrived in singapore 3 days ago.. that train station is UNDERGROUND... shoot a warning shot and see how it ricochets off the walls and ends up in a civilian probably 50m away from u and u just stand there like a dumb shit already stabbed by the suspect and regretting ur way to hell...
NICE!![]()
Originally posted by scamx:i think all those posters who keep ranting on and on about firing 'warning shots' and 'aiming at non-lethal regions' should just slap yourselves hard in the face...
x2 . but if i were the guy , i'd shoot somewhere further from the heart . like maybe towards the right chest .
but then again who would have time to think properly in such a situation . so i dont think the police officer should be blamed .
Originally posted by True_Xerion:omg another funny statement!!!
TX
WTF you typing??? you then think before you type...![]()
Cameras dont lie and if it is true that the man went beserk and charged at the officer then it is sad case for him.The officer's balls must have shrinked to the size of tau suan cuz he just point and shoot to kill.This proves that whatever Martial arts learned at the Police Academy is useless when you have a gun in your hand.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
Cameras dont lie and if it is true that the man went beserk and charged at the officer then it is sad case for him.The officer's balls must have shrinked to the size of tau suan cuz he just point and shoot to kill.This proves that whatever Martial arts learned at the Police Academy is useless when you have a gun in your hand.
the garbament never train the police to be steven segal mah.......to train like steven segal also need time to meditate and keep your cool while being constantly vigilant.....
so many lame, baseless,childish and unproductive comments....sigh...
shoot at waist lar...shoot a warning shot lar....this lar...that lar....come on citizens...be empathetic...
especially commens coming from school kids who only went to NCC and NPCC and Scouts and watever CC there is...including community centres...
shoot waist..shoot leg...so easy ar...sigh...see too much movies...
warning shot....sigh....split second fire warning shot...too bad..kena stabbed..too late...u all blame who later? blame the mata cos slow in firing...
warning shot...muahahaha...richohet and hit someone else...?? u answer??
to those who really interested and curious...learn and research first... sigh...
this thread could have been better without so many stupid post from lame people who type just for the sake of having more posts...so call contirbute a relevant comment..
dun teach teach a doctor how to cure...dun teach a pilot how to fly...dun teach a soldier how to fight...be them if u wanna criticise baselessy on others without knowing their procedures
What kind of rounds to the police use? FMJ?
i say its justified. fullstop.
Nosense. It's never a justification for a policeman to shoot and kill a man holding a knife. Why didn't the policeman shoot his shoulder?
Originally posted by googoomuck:Nosense. It's never a justification for a policeman to shoot and kill a man holding a knife. Why didn't the policeman shoot his shoulder?
u think he can aim properly in that kind of situation or not? IF miss how? Hit innocent bystanders how? Think first la
Originally posted by Maith:
u think he can aim properly in that kind of situation or not? IF miss how? Hit innocent bystanders how? Think first la
Tell me how can you miss at close range? The shoulders are broad enough and it's not a fatal part of the chest. The loud blast from the gun would probably have shocked and froze the victim too.