I'll not go into specifics on what I'm selling because advertising is not allowed in this forum. So just take it that I'm dealing with electronics over at least $2000. This is not a registered business.
For my items, I require 10% non-refundable deposits.
So there has been interested buyers who always ask the question "How do I know this is not a scam?".
I haven't been able to respond to that except with "You don't." And I'll refer them to my eBay page of 4 ratings and Yahoo auctions of 190 ratings.
Is there any easy way to prove 100% that I'm not a scam?
Crap. Grammar error on title.
10% non-refundable deposit.....is it part of the item price that is being paid...if it's excluded then ahem....
meet up with them n sign a contractual agreement?
parkaparkaparkaparkaparka
Originally posted by kengkia:10% non-refundable deposit.....is it part of the item price that is being paid...if it's excluded then ahem....
Cannot remove the deposit.
I've people backed out on the deal before. The 10% will make the item easier to sell when the buyer backs out.
Originally posted by skeujin:meet up with them n sign a contractual agreement?
parkaparkaparkaparkaparka
Heeheheh.
Hmmmm. Sign contract like a bit troublesome to follow up?
What are the avenues if the buyer defaults?
Put your picture on your website or the ebay site. There are sellers doing that. If that is not enough hold your IC together with your picture. That will certainly be proof enough you are not scamming anyone.
Originally posted by Parka:Heeheheh.
Hmmmm. Sign contract like a bit troublesome to follow up?
What are the avenues if the buyer defaults?
well if you are going to be dong his for te long term thn i suggest you register yourself. do proper paperwork like proposals and contracts that clearly state payment terms and defaults.
if your jus doing this to pass time then all you can do is make them trust you with your personal details and mayb some black and white about the sale
Originally posted by Parka:Cannot remove the deposit.
I've people backed out on the deal before. The 10% will make the item easier to sell when the buyer backs out.
i neber said must remove the deposit what....what i asking is whether the deposit is being included in the price of item or two seperate entities...?
Maybe u can post images and for those interested,exchange contact and maybe arrange to see the goods in questions.This would lower people's suspicious
Originally posted by kengkia:
i neber said must remove the deposit what....what i asking is whether the deposit is being included in the price of item or two seperate entities...?
I misunderstood your reply.
E.g. If the buyer is getting a $2000 item. There will be a $200 deposit. The rest of the $1800 is cash-on-delivery.
Originally posted by ceecookie:Maybe u can post images and for those interested,exchange contact and maybe arrange to see the goods in questions.This would lower people's suspicious
Oh. I always post tons of photos of the item I'm selling from past customers.
But the goods have a shipping time of 10 days. Maybe that's why people are suspicious?
Originally posted by Parka:Oh. I always post tons of photos of the item I'm selling from past customers.
But the goods have a shipping time of 10 days. Maybe that's why people are suspicious?
How about giving interested buyers ur IC number?
Originally posted by ceecookie:How about giving interested buyers ur IC number?
Good point.
IC no can't be easily abused, right?
Originally posted by Parka:Good point.
IC no can't be easily abused, right?
Well,make it really interested buyers so the chance of identity fraud is very low...well there's a risk in everything
how about simply registering a business ? .....
it costs peanuts, and you can do it online in an instant ... ![]()
nowadays ah long also don't want to take IC liao ... ![]()
Originally posted by Fatum:how about simply registering a business ? .....
it costs peanuts, and you can do it online in an instant ...
nowadays ah long also don't want to take IC liao ...
It's not a real business.
More of a if there's someone buying then good. If no customer also nevermind.
just register urself in acra... and make sure to tell us about it later... ^_^
It tends to be quite sticky if the business you're doing is not registered. Also, it takes time to build up online reputation if you're selling goods online. However, it is proven that testimonials from previous buyers will help to minimise the doubts.
I go inline with what skeujin's suggestion. The goods are worth that much of money so it is a good thing to invest in proper documentation that serves both the buyer and seller. Terms and conditions and other personal details to be included in the docs. However, do not reveal IC no. online/offline anyhow. Damage can be massive if it is known in the wrong hands.
hmmm... sounds fishy though
Originally posted by rlsh07:hmmm... sounds fishy though
Haha. I like this response.
Why fishy?
Wah... like shooting blanks... got buyer then order... people usually go for people with stocks ready to ship leh...![]()
Originally posted by caleb_chiang:Wah... like shooting blanks... got buyer then order... people usually go for people with stocks ready to ship leh...
It's a way to minimise business risk. But I sell lower than normal retail price. The longer shipping time and lower price are like compromising each other.
Electronics depreciate that's why I don't hold stock.
Just register loh.
Deposit 10 % leh. U ask me deposit $2 with strangers i also dun wan. Let alone $200.
It's a sideline to my main job. So can't register.