12 Oct, 02:06AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Man regenerates lost fingertip using magic stem cell powder

Subscribe to Man regenerates lost fingertip using magic stem cell powder 26 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    4,118 posts since May '07
    • Imagine a future where transplant surgeries are mostly a thing of the past. Imagine a future where all it takes is a few weeks and some magic band-aid or powder, and voila! You heal a lost limb like you're Wolverine.

That future may not be long in coming. The latest in stem cell research from the University of Pittsburgh has already been able to regrow about a centimeter's worth of fingertip for a man who accidentally sliced his off in the propeller of a hobby shop airplane.

All it took was a sprinkling of powder and four weeks. The man was able to regrow not only his skin, but also the nail and the bone. The powder contains an extracellular matrix made from pig bladders that tells the body to regenerate, summoning up even adult stem cells.

Research is now ongoing to find if they can regrow a whole limb. There is also research going into regrowing parts of the heart, and even the esophagus. Watch the video below for a mini-documentary on the stem-cell research:

[Via CBS News]

go to the link to see the video.....harry potter grew back his bones just by drinking some potion.......many sci-fi movie technologies are coming true......

• i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,415 posts since Dec '04
    12,024 posts since Jan '03
    • Originally posted by dumbdumb!:

wolverine can regrow limbs meh.

woo, interesting.

i dunno...just copy past from website....

• Je'taime
    10,945 posts since Jan '07
    • Thats the new technology that they are developing to replace organ transplants due to the lack of donors

Edited by fairlady_xoxo 25 Mar `08, 1:40PM
  • Certified Auntie Killer
    35,560 posts since Jul '00
    • imagine if people start cutting their fingers and regrow it just for the fun of it.......

• Originally posted by Deino:

imagine if people start cutting their fingers and regrow it just for the fun of it.......

u forgot the pain.

• Originally posted by Ferret:

u forgot the pain.

well, when i say for the fun of it, some people find pain fun....like those people who use cutters to cut their body and stuff

that stuff's probabaly gonna be expensive u know.

• Originally posted by Ferret:

that stuff's probabaly gonna be expensive u know.

some people are rich mah....... it should get cheaper if its mass produced

Edited by Deino 25 Mar `08, 1:59PM
  • i spy with my night vision eyes.
    11,415 posts since Dec '04

some people are rich mah....... it should get cheaper if its mass produced

Maybe you can even get it off the shelf like plasters...

495 posts since Nov '07
    • you remind of the movie Species, the monster tied a woman to a bed and just cut her finger off in front of the freak-ed out woman

scare the shit out of her lol.

• Originally posted by wonderamazement:

Maybe you can even get it off the shelf like plasters...

hmmm.....yeah.....maybe even plasters will use em......

and then all those people who kena amuptated also can grow back their leg.......the thought of it is somehow funny.......those people who cock kena chopped by the wife can also make it grow back....haahhaha

• Originally posted by mortified:

you remind of the movie Species, the monster tied a woman to a bed and just cut her finger off in front of the freak-ed out woman

scare the shit out of her lol.

the house of wax also scary shit.....the girl kena trapped under the basement, then when she put her finger out of the grill to surface, the bloody bastard go and use cutter to cut her finger sia......

4,586 posts since Jan '07
    • Originally posted by Short Ninja:

Can regenerate the 11th finger ar not?

why would you want an 11th finger?

• Originally posted by Short Ninja:

it is called Kontol power!

imagine if your kontol regenerate to become two......

743 posts since Jul '07
Please Login or Signup to reply.