Originally posted by Promiscuous VaL*:
read the previous page, find my post.
treat it as a lesson to you then
Originally posted by rlsh07:i was like
"what? the reporter must be someone who surf sgforums though. but it's kind of like it should not be in the news actually"
I'd take it with a pinch of salt. Wan Bao is just tabloid reporting.
They never had good story angles to begin with.
nowing what the headline was helps. Do you remember what it screamed?
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:moral of the story: mosaic the face
hmm.. dun include the picture n post it in bar next time?
Originally posted by soleachip:No lah, I think what surfer meant was, the next time you post a photograph, think before you act.
Especially without the consent of both subjects, it could lead to dire consequences. In this case, casting the girl in rather negative light very publicly.
Games with intimate physical contact are very common, this one just happened to make it to the headlines.
Downsides of the digital era. Hai...
I wouldn't had censored the pic if i didn;t THINK b4 i act.
Whats the dire consequences now may i ask?
Like u said it common, so why are ppl making a big deal abt it? and there's nothing i can do now. Burnt SPH? burnt all newspaper?
Again, how would a picture with "no face" would cast a negative light
look. put it this way.
i'll come clean if you will. i just want to know where you get the pictures from.
anyways. about the lift, isn't it a totally different circumstance? and i believe someone rational wouldn't want to get into a lift that full.
why not we end this?
if this is what you guys wana know. yes. i'm the one in the picture. and it has seriously affected my relationship with the girl. i'm not asking anyone to be sorry for me. but i just need everyone to know that the picture is not some silly party games that our ms val has organised. to add on, i was clueless when i saw the article. why you may ask. because i'm not chinese. it is a big deal to me and her.
i understand that it wasn't your intention that to get it to the post. but it has. and you don't need a table to apologize. just say it and mean it and come clean, with the truth.
Originally posted by rlsh07:
hmm.. dun include the picture n post it in bar next time?
haha i dun think postin in bar helps leh.
the content matters more than the place i think.
Originally posted by soleachip:I'd take it with a pinch of salt. Wan Bao is just tabloid reporting.
They never had good story angles to begin with.
nowing what the headline was helps. Do you remember what it screamed?
i have the news paper with mi just that i can't type in chinese. i mean there are a lot of ppl who take it seriously though. i read it yesterday then i forget it today already. i guess it's just news though.
I think TS started off with the thread to garner some response to a simple question but things spiralled out of control!
Hey Val, I'm just curious to know, what's the purpose of this singles gathering?
Since you were there and part of the organizing committee, can you give us a summary of what the game was all about?
What actually happened in this photograph?
i dun knoe wat to say. she still dun get it. hmm..
Originally posted by Fabrication:squeezing into a lift means tt the person is cheap??? pls... think again a lift is like a public thing can? and look.. if a lift is small... tt means tt there are also other ppl in thr rite... so now... u see the difference between wrapping 2 person up???
Looking at the way u type i believe most likely u are the girl involved. So wats happenning huh? U 2 are afriad that your friends will somehow know that u 2 are the pppl involved?
I don understand what u are trying to explain here. But from evidence itself u 2 are wrapped side by side, not face to face.
And obviously u didn't read my post b4 u shout.
Originally posted by soleachip:I think TS started off with the thread to garner some response to a simple question but things spiralled out of control!
Hey Val, I'm just curious to know, what's the purpose of this singles gathering?
Since you were there and part of the organizing committee, can you give us a summary of what the game was all about?
What actually happened in this photograph?
i dun think it was something that she organised, surfer have explained that a few pages back i think
get the reporter to 澄清 lo.
best solution
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:get the reporter to 澄清 lo.
best solution
do you think the reporter would want to?
then he/she sucks lo.
he/she should leh.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:
then he/she sucks lo.he/she should leh.
i think it's a girl. i'm going to get some green tea to drink before i go to bed
take care leh
i siad earlier... i jus happen to be present when this picutre was taken... look... i can prove tt this is a christmas party organised my our company during last year christmas... haha... i really find it a joke man... abt u saying tt u r the organiser of tis single match-making gathering thingy... haha...
if u really r the one who organise this event... den prove to us... maybe the media is now more interested in how many singles have participated in this thing...
ms val.
you're missing my point. the picture is a picture. it's the way you portrayed it. the content mattered. it's all about the content. and fyi,i am the guy. i'm merely doing all i can to protect someone i care very much about. isn't that human nature?
as i was saying. you made it seem that the 2 of us were strangers and then binded together. that is totally not true isn't it? and yes, i directed fabrication here cos fabrication wants to know what all this is about.
but then again. what will you be trying to prove by posting more photos? you're telling me that you have all of the 50 odd photos we took that day? i used to look at those photos laughing, but now i look at it at a totally different light. the same light that you have shed onto the girl.
so you still think you're right?
Originally posted by Promiscuous VaL*:I wouldn't had censored the pic if i didn;t THINK b4 i act.
Heh ok. Not up to me to decide how the censoring should be done but the 2 subjects are pretty much still recognizable.
Originally posted by Promiscuous VaL*:Whats the dire consequences now may i ask?
Distasteful tabloid news.
Still too early to pin the real consequences but even if the public forgets this article in time, something tells me this will cause (or already has) distress to the 2 featured kids, especially the girl.
But that's just me.
Originally posted by Promiscuous VaL*:Like u said it common, so why are ppl making a big deal abt it? and there's nothing i can do now. Burnt SPH? burnt all newspaper?
What you can do now is make an attempt at clarifying what actually happened in the picture objectively. ![]()
If you were to ask me, why should you?
I'd say it's a matter of integrity.
Whether or not this shot has been taken out of context (accurately or unfairly) by the press and the forumers, leave it to their interpretation.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:get the reporter to 澄清 lo.
best solution
Nah. The photographer clarifies.
The reporter is under a paycheck and he or she was never there the time this shot was taken.
yeah that's true though
fair enough.. the reporter should've fact checked what.
since she didnt, she should clarify to the public shouldnt she?
but maybe it's a wee bit difficult to do a check on this story.
Originally posted by ChoCoChips:fair enough.. the reporter should've fact checked what.
since she didnt, she should clarify to the public shouldnt she?
but maybe it's a wee bit difficult to do a check on this story.
No this is tabloid, vulgar and very distasteful stuff.
Me thinks objective reporting won't sell such a paper.
i dun think straits times would run such an article though
Lazy to quote all.
Fabrication: I can create one acc, and says Hey Val's is the real one.
Surferdude: I seriously think that u are thinking too much, or too sensitive. TO answer your qns, u 2 are not going to b some scandal like Tammy and such. I browse thru hardwarezone i don find any thread like this, neither do i find any thread of the picture in any other forums.
No ppl are talking abt it, at least in my own friends circle. So wats your sadness abt huh.
Chip: Read the first few pages. Lets say i show u face with his eyes covered but showing his nose and such, will u recognize him again if u see him outside?