Our youths don't like to read Chinese books and only wants to read those from USA ones.Even in music, they prefers English music over Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.In the cd shop,I saw many youngsters browsing English cds and only uncles and aunties browsing Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.
err..i ah pek liao and only listen to elton jones....nvr liked chinese ones
anyway this syndrome is akin to macdonald or starbuck...we dun find youngster chit chating at kopitiams, do we?? it's a culture thingy...our chinese culture jus dun promote this sort of thing.
the chinese way is still the conservative way. until the chinese culture can keep up with times and learn to evolve, it would forever stay in the Chin Shi Wang eras ![]()
...but then pro-chinese wud call it retaining their "orginal flavour" untouched and unblemished culture
u hv smtg against th youths ah.
i m stil beri traditional wat.
i read engrish.
i listen engrish.
i speek engrish.
bt who say i duno hw to speak mandarin.
Originally posted by Ongsoosiang:Our youths don't like to read Chinese books and only wants to read those from USA ones.Even in music, they prefers English music over Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.In the cd shop,I saw many youngsters browsing English cds and only uncles and aunties browsing Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.
can you go fuck yourself?
i loathe chinese songs, not because i hate the language
look at the content, 99.9999% of the lyrics are all romance, love, and all the same
english lyrics are more creative, so much more creative than their chinese counterparts
apparently we youths can think better than you
so please, use your fucking brain before you create any gay posts which will only make yourself self contented, like OMG I CREATED AN ONLINE THREAD SHOOTING YOUTHS
Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:err..i ah pek liao and only listen to elton jones....nvr liked chinese ones
anyway this syndrome is akin to macdonald or starbuck...we dun find youngster chit chating at kopitiams, do we?? it's a culture thingy...our chinese culture jus dun promote this sort of thing.
the chinese way is still the conservative way. until the chinese culture can keep up with times and learn to evolve, it would forever stay in the Chin Shi Wang eras
...but then pro-chinese wud call it retaining their "orginal flavour" untouched and unblemished culture
i prefer kopitiams, you know
it's not the place, it's the price
anywhere that is cheap, i don't care the place
Originally posted by gigabyte14:i prefer kopitiams, you know
it's not the place, it's the price
anywhere that is cheap, i don't care the place
i dun know....and i onli drink at starbuck....kopitiam no chio bu's ![]()
JJLin , SHE = Talentless . Enough said ... Having said that , I'm not implying Western artistes like Britney Spears or Hannah Montana have more talent or whatsoever ... Most commercial music are marketed for their looks
sum kopitiam kopi beri nice one ok.
anyway, u shudnt chat at kopitiam drurin peak period.
kopitiam is not a lifestyle concept, so juz finish ur food n fark off.
Mr Ong,
Don anyhow say ok ?
I also speak and write Mandarin.. and my Hokkien also is sibeh Tok Gong one !!
Nowadays don have many good Mandarin song already.
The good Mandarin singers either retired or committed suicide, ok ?
The young ones.. mostly got look no voice.
Worst, the one no look, no voice.. dunno what the hell he singing can get so many awards.. you know the Mandarin Song industry is going down the pots.
Only one.. got good voice , but too bad he is blind.
So hor Unker.. you cannot make unfair statement.. please go talk to your teenager children first, we also don like the generation gap one.
I no like to go Kopi Tiam.. is because every time I go there.. those tiko Ah pek .. all stare at me drinking my cold beer.
Dunno is they look at me because I good looking.. or they donch like a young ger drinking beer ?
So, you see.. we have our reasons for not behaving like old folks.
Thank you very much, and have a good day.
Originally posted by Ongsoosiang:Our youths don't like to read Chinese books and only wants to read those from USA ones.Even in music, they prefers English music over Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.In the cd shop,I saw many youngsters browsing English cds and only uncles and aunties browsing Chinese music like JJlin and SHE.
I think, our youths don't like to read books, no matter what language.
No, uncles and aunties do not listen to JJLin and SHE. You must have stepped into HMV on the wrong day at the wrong time.
haha... dunno why i but i dislike english songs now
i listen to jap or chinese only...
the lyrics of jap-rock are rather interesting... better than english ones to me....
Originally posted by jonchao72:haha... dunno why i but i dislike english songs now
i listen to jap or chinese only...
the lyrics of jap-rock are rather interesting... better than english ones to me....
Seems like you love dir en grey
Originally posted by Trump_Card:Seems like you love dir en grey
nono... not really...
the gazette better i think
You generalize too much... although I spend a lot of time with science and tech books... I still read Chinese books... and er... I don't really have a passion for ang moh songs... other than those introduce to me when I was primary school kid.
mandarin songs?
come on lor... yes old mandarin songs were nice. those in the early 90s.
but the new mandarin songs now just cannot make it.
knn 90% of the lyrics in the song doesnt make any sense. just anyhow dump some words in to fill the rhythm.
not only songs. movies also. knn. the new actors and actresses all cannot act one. only know how to act cute and act cool nia.
they always produce rubbish, like that how to support them?
Because of ppl like digi and no one support our local singers, how to survive? Hence they moved to Taiwan and develop also better.
culture imperialism
Originally posted by jojobeach:Mr Ong,
Don anyhow say ok ?
I also speak and write Mandarin.. and my Hokkien also is sibeh Tok Gong one !!
Nowadays don have many good Mandarin song already.
The good Mandarin singers either retired or committed suicide, ok ?
The young ones.. mostly got look no voice.
Worst, the one no look, no voice.. dunno what the hell he singing can get so many awards.. you know the Mandarin Song industry is going down the pots.
Only one.. got good voice , but too bad he is blind.
So hor Unker.. you cannot make unfair statement.. please go talk to your teenager children first, we also don like the generation gap one.
I no like to go Kopi Tiam.. is because every time I go there.. those tiko Ah pek .. all stare at me drinking my cold beer.
Dunno is they look at me because I good looking.. or they donch like a young ger drinking beer ?
So, you see.. we have our reasons for not behaving like old folks.
Thank you very much, and have a good day.
I am not an uncle.I am 23 this year.I found Westernisation of our youths threatening to me since the church incident with my friend which resulting comdenmations from my friend.I apologised to him already but he does not accept my apology.
wat church incident?
english is betta then chinese la
Negative impact of globalisation
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:wat church incident?
I comes from a Buddhist family background and my friend is a Christian.He has always want me to be baptised but my father objects to it because of ancestral religious reasons.When he found out that I just want to go to church only and don't want to be baptised, he starts to comdenm me saying I take God for granted and without Jesus Christ, I will be going to hell.
ur friend is too narrow-minded le.
not all christians nit to be baptised.
anyway, u go same church as catknight?
huh wtf.. many sec sch kids especially those from neighbourhood schools still listen to mandarin pop leh.
Originally posted by Ongsoosiang:I comes from a Buddhist family background and my friend is a Christian.He has always want me to be baptised but my father objects to it because of ancestral religious reasons.When he found out that I just want to go to church only and don't want to be baptised, he starts to comdenm me saying I take God for granted and without Jesus Christ, I will be going to hell.
so wat has it got to do with yur topic?