-
-
Personally my conversational english is poor in its sentence structure, the addition of colloqial and past present tense problem.
If I were to speak to english speaking foreigners, they would find our english abit not used to it although they can get quite lot of the information.
I am in mid 20s and I guess my conversational english standard is quite mediocre as i come from chinese speaking family. My knowledge of vocabs is quite high though because I read relatively alot in english. I think Singaporeans standard of spoken english is not very correct standard type in general.
Therefore , when we are talking about standards of english, there are many ways to see it.
-
-
-
Singaporean listen to singaporean speak english we can absorb fully and quickly. But if an ang mo listen to singapore styled english, he will get abit obstructed by the improper english and maybe prononciation.
Anyway, regarding taiwanese people criticising our english, I think we should not be upset because as long as we know our real standard of english can liao.
-
-
-
Originally posted by january:
Singaporean listen to singaporean speak english we can absorb fully and quickly. But if an ang mo listen to singapore styled english, he will get abit obstructed by the improper english and maybe prononciation.
Anyway, regarding taiwanese people criticising our english, I think we should not be upset because as long as we know our real standard of english can liao.
to different ppl you have to use different approach. it's the same with language.
-
-
-
C'mon lar~Nobody actually bothers to speak perfect english de lar..U tok to Americans, u wll oso hav hard time understanding them, not bcos of their slang, but sometimes oso bcos of their phrasing of words. Why bother?? As long as both understand wat the other party is sayin can liaoz..We r not teachin English~.

-
-
-
c'mon theres no perfect english.
even caucasians of different nationality can't understand each other proper. theres the story of the american football player (demarcus beasely if im nt wrong) whos playing in the scottish league and hes hving a hard time understanding his teamates.
and on top of the different colloqials tht ppl of diff nationality uses, theres also the different accent. i can understand what my american bosses are saying clearly, but when i was watching movies like Trainspotting (Scottish accent), This is Britain (Scouse or Cockney...not sure) and Last King of Scotland (Scottish + African accent)..i need to concentrate really hard to pick up what they're saying.
so i guess thts wht beautiful about language...we're all speaking in English, but tht doesnt mean we'd understand each othr perfectly.
-