Well... would juz like to ask u ppl out there... If u're a doctor, does it matter if someone addresses u as e.g. Dr Ng, or Mr/Mrs/Mdm/Ms Ng??? Well.. it's really juz a salutation only ma.. Unless it's like u're a Mr and that person addresses u as a Ms/Mdm/Mrs then of coz offended la.. But Dr.. pls la..
well, for some they really do care about their salutations..
if ppl is dr, me will call dem dr de.
so me xpect u all call me dr oso.
Originally posted by QX179R:well, for some they really do care about their salutations..
i concur.
me oladi proved it, din i.
Salutations to some is like face. Dr XXX certainly sounds better than Miss/Mrs/Mdm/Mr XXX
Some people think others should address them as dr because they spend good money and effort in achieving that title... but it is also very common nowadays cos now not like last time... people got money, can go for study... thus a lot of dr now also...![]()
I believe a standard response from them would be "I did not spend all those time and money pursuing a MD/PhD just to be called a Mister/Miss"
yes call me dr please
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:if ppl is dr, me will call dem dr de.
so me xpect u all call me dr oso.
errr...
Dr kitty jus doesnt sound...
right
me like humble ppl.
i also hate it when warrant officers want me to call them sir.
ms ba. those who ask them to call them dr i think is too particular
TS, doctors are mindful about the way people addressed them. Get it right if you can. I heard surgeons being addressed as Mr.
Originally posted by FireIce:me like humble ppl.
majority of the docs are not humble. many are arrogant and are fast to look down on people especially the looking down on the chinese TCM doctors. Some doctors even make fun of their patients behind their back.
Originally posted by qlqq9:majority of the docs are not humble. many are arrogant and are fast to look down on people especially the looking down on the chinese TCM doctors. Some doctors even make fun of their patients behind their back.
eh, i tink the Dr they mean is those that have PhD.
i haf this particular professor that only speaks to the rich and the famous. makes people sick in the guts. The other people in his class are treated as invisible beings.
Originally posted by ChiBet:I believe a standard response from them would be "I did not spend all those time and money pursuing a MD/PhD just to be called a Mister/Miss"
If all yr pursuing of MD or PhD is to get people to address u as Dr, i think you learn nothing except a stuck up personality.
Whether u are to be address as Doctor or not, is individual respect. With a Doctorate, you are academic trained to serve the peoples, earn your pride and status, not simply just to get the Dr addressing.
I had met Doctorate holders whose personalities are like shit, and you expect us to address them as doctor, ya, maybe on the front, but on the back, it shit.
And believe me, most doctorate holders have abit of psychotic in them due to long term studies that may hallucinated the rain, i call it Permanent head Damage...short for PhD
Originally posted by angel7030:
If all yr pursuing of MD or PhD is to get people to address u as Dr, i think you learn nothing except a stuck up personality.
Whether u are to be address as Doctor or not, is individual respect. With a Doctorate, you are academic trained to serve the peoples, earn your pride and status, not simply just to get the Dr addressing.
I had met Doctorate holders whose personalities are like shit, and you expect us to address them as doctor, ya, maybe on the front, but on the back, it shit.
And believe me, most doctorate holders have abit of psychotic in them due to long term studies that may hallucinated the rain, i call it Permanent head Damage...short for PhD
ya some doctorate personalities relly like shit. Damn yaya papaya. It's even sadder when these are the people who is there to groom and teach the future generations of singapore.
But of coz there are very very nice PhD holders also!
These are the ones that students really respect, not like the not so kind ones that people try to carry balls in front only.
me is a beri nice person wat.
my fellow dr frds oso beri nice wat.
call me Mr President can liao
u like the french butter?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:me is a beri nice person wat.
my fellow dr frds oso beri nice wat.
u really dr meh?
Originally posted by TehJarVu:u really dr meh?
Don't buy her crap ![]()
some ple yes.. esp those in the higher position. i have clients who die die want everyone to address him as Dr. X
Originally posted by Detached:
Don't buy her crap