Everytime my black jeans' being washed, the dye somewhat came off.... and the whole pail of water turned black..
The jeans' still black now, but I can't be sure after few more washes ![]()
How do I save my jeans? Any special technique lke vinegar or warm water? Anyone can confirm?
add salt into the water to prevent color run
Originally posted by FireIce:add salt into the water to prevent color run
fifi? serious mah? add salt? just tap water? don't have to be warm right?
needs to be saturated? or just li'l salt can liao? everytime wash must use saltwater? or is it a one time thing?
normal tap water
one big tablespoon to one basin of water
soak for a while then wash
everytime wash must add, until the color ownself stop running
Originally posted by FireIce:normal tap water
one big tablespoon to one basin of water
soak for a while then washeverytime wash must add, until the color ownself stop running
Use detergent and all after soaking in salt water? :( I'm so noob at this.. Thanks fifi.. ![]()
the normal washing procedures.... whether washing machine or handwash......
Originally posted by FireIce:the normal washing procedures.... whether washing machine or handwash......
xie xie xie xie ![]()
FireIce is right!
Adding a tablespoon of salt will help retard fading.
ALSO: Wash the jeans in cold water.Turn them wrong side out before washing. Hang them up to dry (no clothes dryer). In ang moh land there are special laundry soaps to help black clothes stay dark. I do not know if those products are available in S'pore ?
xie xie ![]()
I'd hate to spend money on another pair of black jeans.. doesn't make sense to me to get so many black jeans ![]()
Every few years I re-dye my black clothes.
If you do that be sure to use a reactive dye.
And not the cheap dye sold at food stores.
remember not to wash it in the washing machine unless u want a black wardrobe.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:Every few years I re-dye my black clothes.
If you do that be sure to use a reactive dye.
And not the cheap dye sold at food stores.
Have you ever tried dyeing something that's e.g white to a black color? I've been thinking of dyeing something white to black, but I'm not sure how it'll turn out.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:Yeah I dye stuff all the time.
You just need to be sure and use the correct dye for the fabric.What is the white clothing made from
Any suggestions where to buy?
spotlight
Do a search online for reactive dyes.
I don't know of any Asian sources. I am very fond of a company called Grateful Dyes in the US.
If you are dying silk, wool, or nylon you will need to use what is called an acid dye.
There are also special soaps designed to wash away excess dye.
Originally posted by Eddie Lee:Yeah I dye stuff all the time.
You just need to be sure and use the correct dye for the fabric.What is the white clothing made from
53% cotton, 47% polyester. =X
It's a jacket and the cloth is quite thick.
Originally posted by Cz:53% cotton, 47% polyester. =X
It's a jacket and the cloth is quite thick.
Nippon paint ![]()
Originally posted by Detached:
Nippon paint
*sniffle*
Okay I won't hijack the thread. =X
Originally posted by Cz:
*sniffle*
okay okay... dye dye.. lets get some dye
Originally posted by Cz:Okay I won't hijack the thread. =X
You may ![]()
haha.
ermm, how about... don't wash the jeans so often? =X
some people wash once every year, some people wash once every week... =X
wah so many clever ppl here knws abt the saltwater trick![]()
i wash my exp jeans every year..but sun it once a mth, but dude...if its a pair of cheap jeans just let it fade la, looks good oso.