but i dont often see other races complaning besides you guys...
btw do you like those new indian migrants?
Originally posted by hotmail08:but i dont often see other races complaning besides you guys...
btw do you like those new indian migrants?
are you sure ? .... is that just a supposition on your part ? ....
would you like to go read the few previous pages and see if non-chinese are complaining ? ....
at least those indian migrants speak ENGLISH to everyone they meet ...
In Singapore, there are many races, with different backgrounds, ENGLISH is our lingua franca ... if you cannot accept this, or accept that Singapore is a multi-cultural place, or you want to be a chinese chauvinist, again, kindly fark off back where you came from ....
Originally posted by Fatum:are you sure ? .... is that just a supposition on your part ? ....
would you like to go read the few previous pages and see if non-chinese are complaining ? ....
at least those indian migrants speak ENGLISH to everyone they meet ...
In Singapore, there are many races, with different backgrounds, ENGLISH is our lingua franca ... if you cannot accept this, or accept that Singapore is a multi-cultural place, or you want to be a chinese chauvinist, again, kindly fark off back where you came from ....
wa, Fatum fierce, ya we nan song, go back ur bei ... jing...![]()
Originally posted by NemesisAlien:wa, Fatum fierce, ya we nan song, go back ur bei ... jing...
ler gong si mi ? ....
last time south china also known as song chao was flooded by north china ppl, also known as bei jing, now we sg ppl flooded by china ppl, den all kpkb...
helo, repeat ar... in e end also like dat... LPPL...
I do agreen with you that English in a common language not only here but almost everywhere. But you cant just simply pick the language issue to complain abt them, you are quite right in the sense that Indian can speak in English, well that's because of the british. Then again, according to your logic, the accent would become another issue to be argued that if you should stay or go back to where you from. I hope my prediction is wrong btw.
Dont you find it you just wasting your time? It is inevitable, as the world becomes more and more globalised. what can you with it? Get all for foreigners out? Possible? Whos gonna clear your plates, whos gonna build your home, whos gonna teach your children chinese or other MTs, whatsoever....can the person be you?
Originally posted by hotmail08:I do agreen with you that English in a common language not only here but almost everywhere. But you cant just simply pick the language issue to complain abt them, you are quite right in the sense that Indian can speak in English, well that's because of the british. Then again, according to your logic, the accent would become another issue to be argued that if you should stay or go back to where you from. I hope my prediction is wrong btw.
Dont you find it you just wasting your time? It is inevitable, as the world becomes more and more globalised. what can you with it? Get all for foreigners out? Possible? Whos gonna clear your plates, whos gonna build your home, whos gonna teach your children chinese or other MTs, whatsoever....can the person be you?
oh, changing tracks here now are we ? .... let's visit what you said previously shall we ? ...
I quote you ...
I wonder if the British complained as much as you guys abt the number of Chinese (yous forefathers)in Sg during the colonial time. Maybe the British should get all them back to China, so we dont have to argue this meaningless issus today.
Bare this in mind, you are chinese no matter where you are, Singaporean, PRCs, American(if you are!) are just your nationality.
so you see yourself as chinese, and you seems to imply that because we are chinese, we all ought to speak chinese, and feel some sort of ancestral affinity to the "motherland" ? ...
well ... I don't, I see myself as Singaporean first, being chinese, is just my ethnicity ... maybe it's an alien concept to you, you sound like you just got here from a homogenous society where they ALL speak in chinese ...are you implying that your loyalty to your "race" supersedes the loyalty you should pledge to your country ? .. well of course, if you come from say China, that loyalty is one and the same for both ? .... well hey, I got news for you again ...
Singapore is a multi-cultural society .... and you must learn to look beyond the color of the skin as well ... just because someone looks "yellow" to you, doesn't mean he or she automatically understands Mandarin ... some of us are babas ... some of us speak dialects at home ... speaking better malay or hokkien than we do mandarin ... and some Singaporeans are NOT even chinese ....
true ... the world is becoming more and more globalized .... and Singapore is a globalized city .... and ENGLISH, happens to be the most widely spoken and understood language in the world right now ... so don't you think it's a step backwards for cosmopolitian Singapore to have non-english speakers on the frontlines of customer service ? .... even if we put aside the implications for our multi-cultural society ? ....
Chinese Chauvinism does not sit well in multi-cultural Singapore, I suggest you re-evaluate your own values ....
So, what do you propose?
Originally posted by hotmail08:So, what do you propose?
I propose that you ... yes YOU ! ... start re-examing your own values ....
that you learn to accept the mult-culturalism of Singapore, and get off your chinese chauvinist high horse ... Singapore is NOT made up of chinese alone ....
if not, I don't think you really belong here ....
Hmm, nowadays ang mors also a lot what.
then what abt you? Arent you gonna start re-examing your own values also?
if nt, i suppose accent will the next issue? "oh you cant speak beautiful singlish, so you should be back to where you come from" arent you gonna say that?
Thoughout my arguments, I did not neglect the importance of english, as. However I failed to see your understanding abt the current situation which is the fact that Singapore is lacking manpower in all its sectors. That's why we see many new PRCs here, admittedly,some are good, some are not. Language is just one of the problems caused by the immigration. Certainly you cant expect those PRCs can speak english as fluent as you, it takes generations to build up its linguistic ablity, and you could be the best proof. So, I do not agree with you that it is chinese chauvinist high horse.
I quote you also...
"Singapore is a multi-cultural society .... and you must learn to look beyond the color of the skin as well ... just because someone looks "yellow" to you, doesn't mean he or she automatically understands Mandarin ... some of us are babas ... some of us speak dialects at home ... speaking better malay or hokkien than we do mandarin ... and some Singaporeans are NOT even chinese ...."
According to this, we are looking for those ppl who can speak not only in english but all the dialects,malay and tamil, because there are still number of Singaporeans who cannot fully understand english, especially the older generation. I think you've forgotten them.
The truth is that migrants are here, and still many of them are coming. They need to adapt the change in the environment, and you do.
aiyo cannot speak proper singlish how to survive in singapore. compare broken prc english to broken singlish, of course angmo can only understand the latter. "singapore is fills with so many china ppl..." that's how you speak in proper english okie hor, prcs better brush up on their singlish
all prcs who come to spore should take a singlish proficiency test, like how to use the local lexicon (hokkien superlatives, random malay words etc) and poor grammar. somemore they should take a speech test to see if they can speak in a monotonous, choppy, unintelligible (to those outside spore) without sounding prc-ish
Originally posted by hotmail08:then what abt you? Arent you gonna start re-examing your own values also?
if nt, i suppose accent will the next issue? "oh you cant speak beautiful singlish, so you should be back to where you come from" arent you gonna say that?
Thoughout my arguments, I did not neglect the importance of english, as. However I failed to see your understanding abt the current situation which is the fact that Singapore is lacking manpower in all its sectors. That's why we see many new PRCs here, admittedly,some are good, some are not. Language is just one of the problems caused by the immigration. Certainly you cant expect those PRCs can speak english as fluent as you, it takes generations to build up its linguistic ablity, and you could be the best proof. So, I do not agree with you that it is chinese chauvinist high horse.
I quote you also...
"Singapore is a multi-cultural society .... and you must learn to look beyond the color of the skin as well ... just because someone looks "yellow" to you, doesn't mean he or she automatically understands Mandarin ... some of us are babas ... some of us speak dialects at home ... speaking better malay or hokkien than we do mandarin ... and some Singaporeans are NOT even chinese ...."
According to this, we are looking for those ppl who can speak not only in english but all the dialects,malay and tamil, because there are still number of Singaporeans who cannot fully understand english, especially the older generation. I think you've forgotten them.
The truth is that migrants are here, and still many of them are coming. They need to adapt the change in the environment, and you do.
oh ? ... not the chinese chauvinistic high horse ? .... then what's with the
Bare this in mind, you are chinese no matter where you are, Singaporean, PRCs, American(if you are!) are just your nationality.
? ? ? ...
it appears that the issue of ethnicity seems to be stuck in your head ... but suddenly, you start speaking for members of other ethnic groups in Singapore ? ... when you still haven't answer my question in that other thread "what happens when a malay or indian compatriot comes along and ask to buy something, or to ask for service, at a service counter manned by a mandarin speaking only service staff ? ....
it's good that you're acknowledging the need to change according to circumstances .... cos it is YOU that has to accept that it's the migrants that have to adapt and accept certain fundamental facts of singapore, that we are a multi-cultural society, that chinese chauvanism doesn't sit well here. ... and ENGLISH is the language that allows all the races to communicate with each other, you don't expect the malays and the indians to learn mandarin, just as they don't expect you to learn their language .... but without ENGLISH, we are lost .... YOU have to get it in your head that is it simply unacceptable for migrants to come here and expect accomodations from Singaporeans ... and YOU too, need to get the issue of ethnicity out of your head, you are a Singaporean now ( are you, really ? I suspect it's not so) ... so don't come gelding about on your chinese high horse ...
if you want to migrate to say, Canada or Australia, you're asked to prove your proficiency in english over there ... so how is it that we're taking in all and sundry here ? ... our national identity and social cohesion is being eroded !
By right all of us should be using Malay to communicate with each other, because it the national language. You are right that the English is the common language among all the races, and it the the official language together with MANDARIN,MALAY AND TAMIL.
I understand that you have encountered the PRCs who could not speak in proper english, or could not speak at all. But I also understand that the shops are not solely running by the PRCs, there are Singaporean sales assistants who are able to communicate with you in english. Maybe you can re-visit the shop after a few months later, you will realise its either the person's english is getting better, if not the person is no longer there. I suppose either scenario can make you feel better.
But, if you went to this coffee, and old chicken rice stall auntie who can only speaks in dialect and mandarin, assume that you cant speak either of the language, or you are a indian if you want to. I am just curious what would you like to say. Isnt it sounds familiar?
Please do consistently check out the environment around you, and you will realise that your previous assumption of the penetration of english in singapore is not so sound.
English is the way to achieve social cohesion, but for sure it is not the sole factor. Lever of understanding, toleration, and trust among the ppl are more important. GET IT?!
btw, if you can call my viewpoint as chinese chauvinism, so i think you are the english chauvinist. Because I FAILED to see your understanding abt the meaning of the TRUE multi-racial and cultural society. Maybe you should shift to england, because I think you purely cant tolerate those who are not born english speakers, like yourself.
Originally posted by Fatum:
oh ? ... not the chinese chauvinistic high horse ? .... then what's with the
? ? ? ...
it appears that the issue of ethnicity seems to be stuck in your head ... but suddenly, you start speaking for members of other ethnic groups in Singapore ? ... when you still haven't answer my question in that other thread "what happens when a malay or indian compatriot comes along and ask to buy something, or to ask for service, at a service counter manned by a mandarin speaking only service staff ? ....
it's good that you're acknowledging the need to change according to circumstances .... cos it is YOU that has to accept that it's the migrants that have to adapt and accept certain fundamental facts of singapore, that we are a multi-cultural society, that chinese chauvanism doesn't sit well here. ... and ENGLISH is the language that allows all the races to communicate with each other, you don't expect the malays and the indians to learn mandarin, just as they don't expect you to learn their language .... but without ENGLISH, we are lost .... YOU have to get it in your head that is it simply unacceptable for migrants to come here and expect accomodations from Singaporeans ... and YOU too, need to get the issue of ethnicity out of your head, you are a Singaporean now ( are you, really ? I suspect it's not so) ... so don't come gelding about on your chinese high horse ...
if you want to migrate to say, Canada or Australia, you're asked to prove your proficiency in english over there ... so how is it that we're taking in all and sundry here ? ... our national identity and social cohesion is being eroded !
Huh??? what??, do u know in today, china had more english (america) speaking young pples in beijing alone than the whole of malaysia and singapore citizens??
Do u know that some of us singaporeans are working for the china companies here and its expanding?? eg seiyu brought over by BHC China, Cilli Motors, and Cosco etc etc ??
Do you know that Chinese speak Malays are making good money as tourist guide for the booming chinese tourist here as they are in hot demand than chinese guide due to the origin of our state, do you know that one of the reason the IR resort is built is to attract china million and billionaires??
And finally, do you know that chinese lecturers are in great demand in US, europe, australia and NZ just for the purpose of teacher them how to speak proper Chinese so as to enter the china markets??
U still sleep huh??
Originally posted by angel7030:Huh??? what??, do u know in today, china had more english (america) speaking young pples in beijing alone than the whole of malaysia and singapore citizens??
Do u know that some of us singaporeans are working for the china companies here and its expanding?? eg seiyu brought over by BHC China, Cilli Motors, and Cosco etc etc ??
Do you know that Chinese speak Malays are making good money as tourist guide for the booming chinese tourist here as they are in hot demand than chinese guide due to the origin of our state, do you know that one of the reason the IR resort is built is to attract china million and billionaires??
And finally, do you know that chinese lecturers are in great demand in US, europe, australia and NZ just for the purpose of teacher them how to speak proper Chinese so as to enter the china markets??
U still sleep huh??
my dear, I'd never know you're pro-china too ... not from your posts about ang moh men .....
so you're advocating bending over for them too ? .. since they'll be the next superpower ? ....
i have no problem with any people of any race....
Juz as long as they dun bother me....
Originally posted by Fatum:my dear, I'd never know you're pro-china too ... not from your posts about ang moh men .....
so you're advocating bending over for them too ? .. since they'll be the next superpower ? ....
Aren't our govt today are pro china too?? it's not a case of pro china or not, but they are blooming, u cannot stop them, you cannot beat them, so you join them. Ask yourself, if today, u shut your door to china and refuse to do business with them, do you think our economy will be so vibrant if we tight ourselves toward the US of A only, which is having a bear situation? Now given an option, we must ride the wave with china so as to gain from it success. But of course they do have a different culture, living style, habits and mindset. But if you are able to understand them, listen to them, understand their way of living, doing business and working. They mean no harm.
And in term of super power, they can be the next economy powerhouse but not in arms. Because now their new lots of young leaders understand that investing in economy is better than wasting time and money in arms with negative return. As Deng xiao peng once said, if we got foreign investors here in China from Europe and America, do you think they are going to attack us with their asset at stake??
Originally posted by Deino:i have no problem with any people of any race....
Juz as long as they dun bother me....
...and also as long as you dun bother them
do u know how many % of their budget is spent on arms?
Originally posted by GHoST_18:do u know how many % of their budget is spent on arms?
PRC gals arms or fire arms??
go google...
The china invest billions of dollars ( Ren ming bi ) into their people's liberation of armies and technologies. The chinese's culture will definitely become another kind of cultural revolution in asia and the world, in years to come. When the west chase the china chinese, singapore will chase the west who chase the china chinese.
Underground Submarine base!
Well done!
The bean looking down on the bean stalks and the bean stalk is burning to cook the beans!