25 Jul, 04:16AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Sliding Spectacles :O

Subscribe to Sliding Spectacles :O 34 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    24 posts since Dec '03
    • Hi, I'm currently facing problems with spectacles, which I'm finding it a nuisance now. I realise that when I wear spectacles, the 2 portruding oval-shaped piece that sits nicely on your nose, will turn oily easily due to my easily oily nose. Because of that, my spectacle usually slowly slip down my nose, causing great discomfort to me. Then I'll have to push the spectacle up, before waiting for another minute before it starts coming down again. One solution I know is wearing spectacle hooks, which is black in colour.. and it doesn't really look nice too. I'm just wondering if there's any others facing the same problem and if there is a better solution? Or maybe, can someone advice me on how to reduce oily face other than washing your face frequently? Thanks alot!

276 posts since Mar '08
    4,911 posts since Sep '06
    • hw abt using contact lens?

uhm or get those specs wif its frame directly rest on ur nose(like black frame specs),

like tat it will sit nicely on ur nose, man

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    156,611 posts since Dec '99
    • Originally posted by a-Lost-9uY:

uhm or get those specs wif its frame directly rest on ur nose(like black frame specs),

no use one.

this slips too.... cos im wearing now

4,911 posts since Sep '06
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

no use one.

this slips too.... cos im wearing now

mine ok le, haha..

276 posts since Mar '08
    • Originally posted by extra one:

mine slides to one side

and when it doesnt slide, it bends

588 posts since Mar '07
    • wash yr face when its oily straight away? cause i m having this problem too. But for me, when my face oily, straight away wash face n specs.

10,477 posts since Nov '03
    • Originally posted by Razor87:

Hi, I'm currently facing problems with spectacles, which I'm finding it a nuisance now. I realise that when I wear spectacles, the 2 portruding oval-shaped piece that sits nicely on your nose, will turn oily easily due to my easily oily nose. Because of that, my spectacle usually slowly slip down my nose, causing great discomfort to me. Then I'll have to push the spectacle up, before waiting for another minute before it starts coming down again. One solution I know is wearing spectacle hooks, which is black in colour.. and it doesn't really look nice too. I'm just wondering if there's any others facing the same problem and if there is a better solution? Or maybe, can someone advice me on how to reduce oily face other than washing your face frequently? Thanks alot!

Get the shop replace the 2 small plastic to rubber ones. I think your specs too big for your face. Try on many different types of specs then decide which design suit your face.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    156,611 posts since Dec '99
    • i tot now they have the new kind of rubber which is "anti-slip" or wat
      i heard at the optical shop one
      like those anti-slip mats?? hahahaa...
      but i think it may be a bit rough?

9,807 posts since Jun '07
    883 posts since Mar '08
    470 posts since Apr '07
    1,932 posts since Jan '04
    9,145 posts since Sep '04
    • Maybe your frames are too heavy. It's time to change a new frame if that's the case.

If not, I suggest you get your nose pads changed and adjusted. It only costs $2 or free if you go back to your usual optician. =)

201 posts since Sep '06
    • other than your face, occasionally wash the pads(dunno wat it's called) with soap to remove the oil.

46,564 posts since Jan '03
    4,929 posts since Jul '07
    • TS, I had the same problem as you before.   I got so fed up that I gave up wearing specs.   Why don't you wear contact lens or go for lasik?

3 posts since May '08
    • Try change to contact lens ,
      If contact lens make you feel un-comforatble.
      Buy the blue colour sheets of paper , Should be Clean and clear bah . The one who helps you remove your oil from your face.
      Then use them once in awhile it should help .

This is what i suggest O:

12,538 posts since Feb '04
    • i used to have thi problem too.. but.... i found the solution already.... but.. are u willing to let someone cut and burn ur eyes?

11,256 posts since Jun '05

can someone advice me on how to reduce oily face other than washing your face frequently? Thanks alot!

Wash face is a must.  Use the right product to wash and also apply the right moisturiser lah.

You can also powder your nose a bit.  And if you are a guy and shy about powdering your nose like the girls.  I suggest you use those talcum powder that is formulated for face.

Go to Guardian Pharmacy. Look for bins that has this brand called Silky something.  Its a small bottle about 50ml of face talcum powder.

After you washed your face, put on moisturiser, then spread on some face talcum powder.

2,178 posts since Dec '03

Hi, I'm currently facing problems with spectacles, which I'm finding it a nuisance now. I realise that when I wear spectacles, the 2 portruding oval-shaped piece that sits nicely on your nose, will turn oily easily due to my easily oily nose. Because of that, my spectacle usually slowly slip down my nose, causing great discomfort to me. Then I'll have to push the spectacle up, before waiting for another minute before it starts coming down again. One solution I know is wearing spectacle hooks, which is black in colour.. and it doesn't really look nice too. I'm just wondering if there's any others facing the same problem and if there is a better solution? Or maybe, can someone advice me on how to reduce oily face other than washing your face frequently? Thanks alot!

........... unless you're thinking of using contacts or washing your face the whole day i suggest getting someone to adjust your glasses. glasses when adjusted properly can stay on no matter how oily your face is unless the size and the design of the glasses don't fit your head. assuming the glasses fit the length of your head if the ear hooks can fit them,then i don't see why your optician can't adjust the legs to bend right behind your ears or around your head so that they'll grip

Edited by oldbreadstinks 11 May `08, 12:06AM
    433 posts since Jul '06
    • Contact lenses require user’s compliance ar.. u can see optician/optometrist(preferably the shop where u get the glasses) for frame adjustment.

2,927 posts since May '01
    • use spectacle hooks lor. Anybody serving their NS will experience this. Just add in a spectacle hook to press the spec to your face.

768 posts since Jul '03
    • ermm i think it is the fit of the frame that is the problem,just the right size of frame couple with spring hinge resolved the problem for me. (i have an extremely oily face too)

8,987 posts since Sep '05
    • dont make it too tight hor.

last time in pri sch i always wear specs tight2...

then PE lesson my friends told me..

"your nose bleeding!!"

then i go toilet see the two spots where the specs rest are bleeding.

Please Login or Signup to reply.