09 Jul, 10:56AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Is polygamy coming back?

Subscribe to Is polygamy coming back? 32 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    2,040 posts since Oct '07
    • I just dunn get it, our forefather do it and it helps lower single motherhood and foster a healthier society with big families..

I don't want to feel guilty of having to love another woman outside of a marriage so why can't I marry her and bring her home to make her No.2?I 've a strong feeling monogamy do not work in a real sense ..why so many men have mistresses outside not only big towkays and taxi drivers too across malaysia lao

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    155,278 posts since Dec '99
    3,979 posts since May '07
    • i think polygamy is fine only if the person can sustain his family and not like not pay bills and feed his children juz coz he wants to support his 2nd wife or wotever...also he should never hurt his....doing so could result in having children who will hate him till the day he dies...

354 posts since Sep '07
    • When a couple takes the marriage vow they promise to stay true and devoted to each other.

So why is it that the guy should be allowed to bring in another women into the marriage under the context of not wanting to destroy the first marriage? It is nothing but just egoistic excuses. Why should the guy who had promised to stay true to the first wife be allowed to 'fall in love' with a second women in the first place?

Just because many rich man do it does not make it right.

If a guy is allowed to have multiple wives, what does it says about the status of women in the society? Aren't they being reduced to being just commercial products?

Marriage is not like buying handphones. I buy the first handphone. Two months later a newer, fresher and nicer looking handphone comes out and I buy the newer one even though the first handphone is already very good.

Unless you agree that women should be allowed to have multiple husbands too, which is another story.

Then again, the fundamental purpose and function of a family will surely disintegrate if both males and females are allowed to have multiple partners.

45,944 posts since Jan '03
    1,095 posts since Sep '07
    12,439 posts since Feb '04
    • if can shiok lor.. most important is it help the char bor to think it's acceptable lor.. u know those char bor one lah... always think so much about no face... or how others think of her...

• I pray to know whether does heavenly father allows sons of Adam have multiple wives..till now no answer leh

2,439 posts since Aug '05
    • The traditional family unit model is one husband and one wife with the marriage vows being sacred. Humans are mammal afterall, with feeling kept inside our conscience. To reproduce by polygamy is not an agrumentative and supportive reason to begin with. 

• the male yellow bunny
    1,050 posts since Dec '04
    • culture conformed us to practice monogamy. men and women was barbaric, so that time, polygamy was norm.

deep down we're still after all humans, thats why the lust and affairs comes in. temptations etc. It has always been around.

there's no way it's going to happen for men to have a few wives. one family quite siong liao.still want so many..

• sometimes more wives also headache but it helps to keep the husband from straying since since energy and money spent at home

6,373 posts since Nov '03
  • the male yellow bunny
    • crazy. if one woman "gao bu ding" still "geh kiang" go get more just to get headache?

somemore if really can get so many wives, there won't be the decency to be faithful liao.

• the male yellow bunny
    • more than one woman in life, is not two at the same time. should be one after another.

1,475 posts since Oct '07
    • Originally posted by cuddles:

more than one woman in life, is not two at the same time. should be one after another.

nice :D

354 posts since Sep '07
    • TS like to give so many excuses...fate lah, more fair to wife lah, it's God lah, stop husband from straying lah...icon_rolleyes.gif

4,725 posts since Mar '05
    • Originally posted by Catknight:

I just dunn get it, our forefather do it and it helps lower single motherhood and foster a healthier society with big families..

I don't want to feel guilty of having to love another woman outside of a marriage so why can't I marry her and bring her home to make her No.2?I 've a strong feeling monogamy do not work in a real sense ..why so many men have mistresses outside not only big towkays and taxi drivers too across malaysia lao

Hahaha...you want double trouble?

• is juggling between poly life, work and DotA.
    1,884 posts since May '07

I just dunn get it, our forefather do it and it helps lower single motherhood and foster a healthier society with big families..

Hmm. How will you feel if you enter your bedroom and see your wife fucking with another man, and she turns around to say to you, "Husband No. 4, I'm having a good time with Husband No. 2 right now, can you leave us for a moment?"

• bb
    10,281 posts since Jun '07

go back to the bible and check wat it says then

405 posts since Aug '07
    • You really can manage your wife?Teach them to ur fellows on how to.

It's still practised in Arabian countries.

Please Login or Signup to reply.