07 Sep, 05:22PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

how much does it cost to get married nowadays?

Subscribe to how much does it cost to get married nowadays? 103 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    28 posts since Apr '06
    • say u r getting a average pair of wedding bands, proposal ring, the dinner, foto album... and the list goes on...

kinda curious =\

4,941 posts since May '06
    28 posts since Apr '06
    1,402 posts since Apr '01
    • wow, going to take the plunge soon? anyways, here's some of the money you'll have to spend...i'll presume you're chinese...

wedding bands depends on the design, with or without diamonds...most ppl now go for white gold, and a decent pair would cost ard at least $500, without diamonds...

foto shoots depends if you wan to get a packaged deal, mine cost ard $4k, including dinner shoots, car rentals, studio and actual day make up...

the dinner banquet itself depends on locations...normally, dinner at restaurants cost at least $800 per table, and that is for weekdays...expect to pay more for weekends..venues like country clubs or other non-hotel restaurants (e.g shopping centres) costs anything from $388 per table, depending on menus...dun forget to include GST...there shouldn't be any service chage though...and you'll probably get a complimentary nite stay if you are holding it in hotels...

also, beware of "hidden" costs...like how much dowry and gifts(like cans of pig trotters, cakes etc, depending on dialect groups) the ladies side requests, and then there are neccessary items for different dialect groups' tradition, like clogs, baby's bath tub, fans(those paper, foldable types, not electrical)...all these costs ard 2-3 hundred, excluding dowry...also, your bride might want to go for facials prior to the shoot and dinner, which should set you back another 5-6 hundreds for a package...

phew...just mentioning these brought back nightmares, i mean, memories...

7,176 posts since Jul '07
    • Kopi tiam 3k

HDB void deck 5k

HDB playground 6k with ge tai +3k

Towncouncil Hall 7k

Public field and carpark 10k +ge tai and opera 4k

Restaurant 20k

Hotel

1 star 30k

2 stars 40k

3 stars 50k

4 stars 60k

5 stars 70k

Many stars until no stars 100k including limousines, lucky draws and door gifts

4,929 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by angel7030:

Kopi tiam 3k

HDB void deck 5k

Towncouncil Hall 7k

Restaurant 20k

Hotel

1 star 30k

2 stars 40k

3 stars 50k

4 stars 60k

5 stars 70k

wow, angel, know so much huh.   angel going to get married?    any more nan ren come and da shan with u?

1,089 posts since Apr '07

Kopi tiam 3k

HDB void deck 5k

Towncouncil Hall 7k

Restaurant 20k

Hotel

1 star 30k

2 stars 40k

3 stars 50k

4 stars 60k

5 stars 70k

Wah...Angel, you are really hi crass leh....Luncheon at The Regent, The Bar only cost $2.5k. Your kopi tiam already 3 k!!! How many peeps?? Waiters and waitresses not counted leh...

991 posts since Jan '07

Kopi tiam 3k

HDB void deck 5k

Towncouncil Hall 7k

Restaurant 20k

Hotel

1 star 30k

2 stars 40k

3 stars 50k

4 stars 60k

5 stars 70k

Angel so experienced in wedding sia!

• Originally posted by nehpyh:

Wah...Angel, you are really hi crass leh....Luncheon at The Regent, The Bar only cost $2.5k. Your kopi tiam already 3 k!!! How many peeps?? Waiters and waitresses not counted leh...

yo, boi, the kopi tiam now got young nice PRC aunties serving ok, no need cost meh?? I guarantee all men turn up for the occassion one lah.

1,357 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by Schwing:

wow, going to take the plunge soon? anyways, here's some of the money you'll have to spend...i'll presume you're chinese...

wedding bands depends on the design, with or without diamonds...most ppl now go for white gold, and a decent pair would cost ard at least $500, without diamonds...

foto shoots depends if you wan to get a packaged deal, mine cost ard $4k, including dinner shoots, car rentals, studio and actual day make up...

the dinner banquet itself depends on locations...normally, dinner at restaurants cost at least $800 per table, and that is for weekdays...expect to pay more for weekends..venues like country clubs or other non-hotel restaurants (e.g shopping centres) costs anything from $388 per table, depending on menus...dun forget to include GST...there shouldn't be any service chage though...and you'll probably get a complimentary nite stay if you are holding it in hotels...

also, beware of "hidden" costs...like how much dowry and gifts(like cans of pig trotters, cakes etc, depending on dialect groups) the ladies side requests, and then there are neccessary items for different dialect groups' tradition, like clogs, baby's bath tub, fans(those paper, foldable types, not electrical)...all these costs ard 2-3 hundred, excluding dowry...also, your bride might want to go for facials prior to the shoot and dinner, which should set you back another 5-6 hundreds for a package...

phew...just mentioning these brought back nightmares, i mean, memories...

which is better? country club or hotel?
      e.g. the package cost/ambience/food...etc.

hotels like marina mandarin, marriott
      country club like raffles town club...

• Originally posted by Uncertain:

Angel so experienced in wedding sia!

sorry hor, i am more experience in breakups and divorcing. Wedding very hard to earns, so many things to do, but divorcing just go into office, talk, sign and forget, the divorce firm take 2k to 4k depend on the complex of the case.

So, today in singapore, i rather be a specialist lawyer cum consultant on divorce cases then marriage cases. Further more divorcing is increasing, a very lucrative market.

sorry hor, i am more experience in breakups and divorcing. Wedding very hard to earns, so many things to do, but divorcing just go into office, talk, sign and forget, the divorce firm take 2k to 4k depend on the complex of the case.

So, today in singapore, i rather be a specialist lawyer cum consultant on divorce cases then marriage cases. Further more divorcing is increasing, a very lucrative market.

so angel, u marry and divorce how many times liao?

• Originally posted by qlqq9:

so angel, u marry and divorce how many times liao?

HELLO!!! I say ONE MORE TIME, me STILL SINGLE, VIRGIN and NEVER Marry Before!!!!

I may have made alots of mistake in my life with regard to LOVE, but I am glad that i have yet to make the biggest mistake in life, and that is Marrying.

991 posts since Jan '07

HELLO!!! I say ONE MORE TIME, me STILL SINGLE, VIRGIN and NEVER Marry Before!!!!

I may have made alots of mistake in my life with regard to LOVE, but I am glad that i have yet to make the biggest mistake in life, and that is Marrying.

Dun think so much. When it comes, it comes.

U want to be a divorce specialised lawyer O.O Think twice...

I am now typing Non-disclosure Agreement (the shortest contract) for some government bodies.... sian ... work work

• It is not the institution of marriage that one should fear....it's is managing expectations and ego that is daunting....just like dancing, you dance solo, messed up, you are just duck legs duck hands....you dance duet, messed up, you are accountable to your partner.

Many people set standards that they cannot keep up with. They are living in a fantastic world. If you know that one day when your spouse is crapping uncontrollably and you will still stay by his/her side, he/she will be the person. But make sure he/she will reciprocate too.

You may kiss the bride.

320 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by Lefti68:

旅行结婚is more economical.

What more economical??? Go Tour marrying Earn nothing, wedding dinner still can get big ang pows to cover back

Dun think so much. When it comes, it comes.

U want to be a divorce specialised lawyer O.O Think twice...

I am now typing Non-disclosure Agreement (the shortest contract) for some government bodies.... sian ... work work

i never even thot about it, but then, as what you said, how come for me, nothing come leh???

Why not?? to increase my business, i try ask a few of my beautiful big one PRC gals go with a few rich uncles, then i inform their weathy wives, then i arrange the divorce proceeding for them lor. Wha! work smart ya

What more economical??? Go Tour marrying Earn nothing, wedding dinner still can get big ang pows to cover back

Yah roh....must whack Fullerton..then ask for the cheapest wine and stingray as sharksfin....sure nap nap!

991 posts since Jan '07

i never even thot about it, but then, as what you said, how come for me, nothing come leh???

Why not?? to increase my business, i try ask a few of my beautiful big one PRC gals go with a few rich uncles, then i inform their weathy wives, then i arrange the divorce proceeding for them lor. Wha! work smart ya

19 only want to come? me 21 still waiting leh... girl usually married @ 25-28.

This kind of money u can earn it without guilt? Me dun like to earn this kind of black-hearted money. I use my brain to earn money, just like Warren Buffett.

angel baby, not all men are bad.   When the time comes, I believe you will meet your mr right. 

19,245 posts since Jun '03
  • cool me
    62,187 posts since Dec '03
    • Originally posted by qlqq9:

angel baby, not all men are bad.   When the time comes, I believe you will meet your mr right. 

And please hor, i am not a baby!!!. Ya, Mr right will come along and later turn to become Mr Left. Me see alots of sg uncles very unfaithful to family here

19 only want to come? me 21 still waiting leh... girl usually married @ 25-28.

This kind of money u can earn it without guilt? Me dun like to earn this kind of black-hearted money. I use my brain to earn money, just like Warren Buffett.

Guilt??? OMG, and those Uncles and guys having sex with other gals leaving their wifeys and childrens at home, then howcome they have no feeling of GUILT!!!.

Then you want to blame on money they gave to gals as guilt, come on men!

Please Login or Signup to reply.