07 Sep, 05:13PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Uni entry

Subscribe to Uni entry 78 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    1,048 posts since May '05
    • I got a friend his A lev result average, A for Maths, B for Physics, D for Econs, H2 subjects, but was rejected when he applied engineering course. Can anyone give some idea what  is the standard ? How the Uni select by choice,I mean 1st choice, u cant get, then they give other choice..... pls comment

1,843 posts since Jan '05
    1,760 posts since Sep '07
    •  

if im not wrong, ur choice doesn't matter.. if u choose engineering as 2nd choice but ur friend choose 1st choice and his grades lousier den u, u still get the engineering.. if ur 1st one din get la.. for example Law.. yah..

• purpledragon84,

If my 1st choice Bioengineering, 3rd choice mechanical, my fren 1st choice mechanical, his result lose to me, I cant get my 1st choice, then who will get mechanical, me or my fren, plse advise thnks

• u will get the mechanical.. i remembered quite clearly that the choice system for uni is different from those PSLE choose secondary school one, so that its put to benefit u the most and doesn't matter which choice u put..

but of coz my memory is open to objections.. lol..

whats ur 2nd choice? maybe u will get ur 2nd choice?

• all rejected? what u mean? u mean all 5/6 of ur choices rejected? if that's the case, then means ur results erm, not that good bah..

u do realise that the influx of FTs has jeopardised ur spot in uni rite?

16,361 posts since Aug '01
    • Originally posted by t_a_s:

I got a friend his A lev result average, A for Maths, B for Physics, D for Econs, H2 subjects, but was rejected when he applied engineering course. Can anyone give some idea what  is the standard ? How the Uni select by choice,I mean 1st choice, u cant get, then they give other choice..... pls comment

GP get what?

• GP D, I think they give priority to FT, wtf, my fren result average why cant go in NTU ?

• purpledragon 84, r u in Uni now ? I think this year govt open up more places, still cant get in, that means the system got problem liao.

• GP D ah.. wah.. abit challenging.. u want good info or bad info?

good info is, my fren last time triple A den GP D7 oso got into bioengine.. but that time not much FT..

bad info, i dun tink with average results and D for GP u can get an engineering place la.maybe if ntu u/ur fren should have tried common engine 1st..actually now the H1 and H2 thing i oso buay hiao la..

eh ya i in ntu lo..

and oh ya every year intake de standards not same one.. summore more and more FT coming in, the standards are just going to go up and up..

and when be careful about saying "the system got problem liao".. u may just invite some unwanted mouldy mushroom into the thread saying "survival of the cheapest!"

922 posts since Mar '08

GP D, I think they give priority to FT, wtf, my fren result average why cant go in NTU ?

GP important mah...

I heard of pple with AAB and GP E and cannot get NUS first 3 choices...

• What I mean the system got problem is, Maths and Phy the main subject for engine got A and B, can not go in, then for those C and D no need to say liao. Is the choice affect your entrance or not. May be choose wrong choice leh, but all 5 choices also engine what, may be FT factor, they give 20% to FT, meaning 20% of locals can't get in liao,

922 posts since Mar '08

What I mean the system got problem is, Maths and Phy the main subject for engine got A and B, can not go in, then for those C and D no need to say liao. Is the choice affect your entrance or not. May be choose wrong choice leh, but all 5 choices also engine what, may be FT factor, they give 20% to FT, meaning 20% of locals can't get in liao,

Yeah, indirectly or directly, 20% of locals cant get in. But whining here doesnt help. I suggest you or your friend to write to the press.

What I mean the system got problem is, Maths and Phy the main subject for engine got A and B, can not go in, then for those C and D no need to say liao. Is the choice affect your entrance or not. May be choose wrong choice leh, but all 5 choices also engine what, may be FT factor, they give 20% to FT, meaning 20% of locals can't get in liao,

English important leh... If very bad, then cannot write the many many reports properly liao...  And cannot write the final thesis and technical paper properly liao...

But nowadays indeed harder to get in... Fortunately, I belonged to the batch 4 years ago.... angel.png

209 posts since Sep '06
    964 posts since Mar '08
    8,760 posts since Apr '06
    5,698 posts since Dec '05
    • GP D leh.  

ABD + GP D is quite cui leh.

And now got grades inflation. ABD last time maybe still can make it. Now difficult la.

Edited by motoway 25 May `08, 5:32PM

overseas must have $$ leh, how abt SIM Uni, good or not any one got any idea ?

other ppl have already got their letters by now.. now then u ask ard?

922 posts since Mar '08
    • retake A levels…I got a fren who retake A levels as private candidate during NS. Did well and get in NUS same time as the others.

Please Login or Signup to reply.