14 Oct, 10:47PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

How to handle migraines?

Subscribe to How to handle migraines? 51 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    141 posts since Feb '08
    • Well,

i've had migraines ever since the beginning of secondary school till now.

I know it's extremely common for young people to experience severe migraines.

Although i always resort to popping panadols to numb the pain, the effect of panadols on my organs will be dangerous for long term.

Therefore i would like to seek out some remedies that u guys have for curing severe migraines.

help me solve my migraine problem!

P.S i always have migraines at my temples, around the eye nerves too.

2,153 posts since Dec '07
    141 posts since Feb '08
    • i have seeked advice from doctors and most of the time they said, " don't worry it's very common" and prescribe me with panadols

• Originally posted by j_dsowner:

i have seeked advice from doctors and most of the time they said, " don't worry it's very common" and prescribe me with panadols

haha must ask them one mah..cannot like u tell the doctor u got migraines then he/she give u some panadols then settle liao.. Need to ask what if it doesnt work and ask him/her to do a further check on u

1,010 posts since Mar '08
    • if the doctor says it`s normal go to another doctor .

My ex girlfriend`s auntie had the same problem . She always have headach then go to the family clinic then the doctor keep saying it`s just normal headach .

But a few months later she fainted and they found out she had cancer .

141 posts since Feb '08
    • Maith

i'm tiking of going to see a specialist after i come back from my holidays. but i'm worried the costs of it will put a strain on my parents because they are already financially tight.

Karma88

omg u just made me super worried reading that. I went for a tumor check up before when i was younger due to the fact i kept on having headaches. The doctor found nothing wrong with me that's why my mom brushed it off her mind.

Maith

i'm tiking of going to see a specialist after i come back from my holidays. but i'm worried the costs of it will put a strain on my parents because they are already financially tight.

Karma88

omg u just made me super worried reading that. I went for a tumor check up before when i was younger due to the fact i kept on having headaches. The doctor found nothing wrong with me that's why my mom brushed it off her mind.

when u were younger...but the cancer might develop now liao icon_eek.gif

3,031 posts since Sep '04
    • Buah Keloh leaves fried with eggs into an omelette? Heard of it a couple of times, but not tested it, because I don't have migraine, neither does anyone near me.

1,005 posts since Mar '08
    • My fren who has migraine drink a lot of coffee/tea/coke but coke is not recommended.

4,136 posts since May '07
    • wah....last time when i was around 13years old, i like almost everyday kena migraine sia...my head felt too heavy to lift up that i always lie in bed...and my grandad thought i was a lazy son of a gun becoz of that...

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,629 posts since Dec '99
    • there is no cure
      have sufficient sleep
      have less stress

i haf learnt to live with it
      just dun go think about it
      easier said than done?
      not tt difficult....
      i jus go about doing my usual stuff
      nobardie knows im feeling a big hammer on my head
      i avoid taking med unless relli cannot tahan
      have to take a special kind... prescribed one
      those normal paracetamol does not help

924 posts since Apr '08
    • panadol kills your liver

headaches are usually caused by ionic imbalance in your brain.

try drinking 100 plus mix with water (1 part 100 plus to 4 parts water)

4,136 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

there is no cure
      have sufficient sleep
      have less stress

i haf learnt to live with it
      just dun go think about it
      easier said than done?
      not tt difficult....
      i jus go about doing my usual stuff
      nobardie knows im feeling a big hammer on my head
      i avoid taking med unless relli cannot tahan
      have to take a special kind... prescribed one
      those normal paracetamol does not help

yeah...i rarely take paracetamol too...coz they dun really work...lol...

8,418 posts since Jul '07
    • migraines is a headache that occur on either one side of the brain hemisphere. As you know the left side of our brain control our right side limbs and movement, and vice versa for our right side of the brain. So depend on when your migraines is, you should seek to relax on the side/movement.

There are many migraines patient seeking meditation, be it yoga, self, zen or any other med, our brain seek to relax and be in serenity, do not complicate things you think of, seek the simple thinking and be contend with life.

When we think, dophmine agent is release in our brain, for migraines patient, the problem is too my dophmine is released, so having a cool mind, non aggressive attitude, seek contention rather than spending all your life in pursuing money and glory, you will find sickness and illness will befall upon you. As the saying goes, Nothing is for free.

11,241 posts since Sep '06
    •  

CAFFEINE!!!

If I get a headache, i would normally consume coffee.

Edited by maurizio13 08 Jun `08, 10:56AM
  • Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,545 posts since Feb '08
    • it's seems migraine is a young thingy...nvr heard of it during our times.....or is it during our times they called it TOU HONG?? sad.pngsad.png

Edited by Cowbaycowboo 08 Jun `08, 11:02AM
    141 posts since Feb '08
    • i'm not someone who studies veri hard, who works very hard. i simply live a stress-free life and yet migraine still attacks me though.

yea migraine seems to affect most of the young in this century, no one knows why i guess.

and chibet

i have tried the 100plus remedy, it worked for me for the first time, but after that everytime i consume it, my headache just make me vomit it all out so it didn't work for me after that ler.

and i'm currently relying on 2 tablets of panadol extra. taking it like 3-4 times a week maximum.

141 posts since Feb '08
    • traditional chinese medicine? i don't recall taking the medicine..

but i went for acupuncture b4. result  = failure.

• Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:

it's seems migraine is a young thingy...nvr heard of it during our times.....or is it during our times they called it TOU HONG?? sad.pngsad.png

I thot yours is called gong tou?

i'm not someone who studies veri hard, who works very hard. i simply live a stress-free life and yet migraine still attacks me though.

yea migraine seems to affect most of the young in this century, no one knows why i guess.

and chibet

i have tried the 100plus remedy, it worked for me for the first time, but after that everytime i consume it, my headache just make me vomit it all out so it didn't work for me after that ler.

and i'm currently relying on 2 tablets of panadol extra. taking it like 3-4 times a week maximum.

Do a handstand meditation every day for 5 to 10 minutes.

141 posts since Feb '08
    • wahh. if i do that, the blood will all concentrate in my brain, den i die faster i tik.

11,241 posts since Sep '06
    •  

"In fact, caffeine is a key ingredient in almost all of the over-the-counter migraine medications. That's because caffeine is useful in stopping a headache once it starts," she continues. "The unfortunate thing is that, in patients who use caffeine chronically, they're much more likely to get a migraine as the caffeine begins to wear off."

http://www.med.umich.edu/opm/newspage/2003/migraine.htm

141 posts since Feb '08
    • Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:

do u also have sinus problem?

yeah i have sinus problem!! does that affect my headache?

maurizio13

i used to drink coffee daily when i was in secondary school, however now i only drink it once a week or so in order not to depend on caffeine too much. cos i tot that my headaches come from caffeine though.

Please Login or Signup to reply.