08 Sep, 09:19AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

How to make your money GROW?

Subscribe to How to make your money GROW? 105 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    28,527 posts since Mar '03
    • As above.

Pls share your tips in making your money grow, besides saving money.

Investment may not be wise, looking at the market now.

Fixed Deposits interests are not attractive.. insurance/endowment plans are mostly investment-linked..currency exchange?  the rates fluctuates everyday.

Dun tell me gamble.. might end up with nothing only. 

Is there any other way that will yield great return and low risk involved?

• Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,531 posts since Feb '08
    • this part ......no such thing sad.pngsad.png

Is there any other way that will yield great return and low risk involved?

5,475 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by ispyyy:

Wait for de chance...

Patience is the key

Connections is a need

sibei chim hor?

wait for opportunity har?

wat if opportunity never come?

4,026 posts since May '06
  • Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,531 posts since Feb '08
    2,455 posts since Aug '05
      1. Structured deposits with the principle amount protected for long term investment horizon.
    5,475 posts since May '07
    • Originally posted by browniebaobao:

sibei chim hor?

wait for opportunity har?

wat if opportunity never come?

Opportunities are like many fishes swimming past u in the water..

Connections is like a fishing rod to catch the fish...

It is not tat opportunity never come... it is just that u do not have the equipment to catch it...

Edited by ispyyy 10 Jun `08, 11:15PM
    • Originally posted by TooFree:
      1. Structured deposits with the principle amount protected for long term investment horizon.

yes.. but some examples pls?

most of them will tie u down for a few yrs.. and if u wana take out ur money within that stipulated years, ur interest will be forefeited and may not get back ur principal.

5,842 posts since Sep '02
    • it depends on your investment profile...

how much you intend to invest

how long you are willing to tie that money to the investment

are you a high, medium or low risk taker?

what kind of returns are you seeking? in terms of percentage?

16,362 posts since Aug '01
    • Great returns.... how great is great?

Maybe you want to try if you can get the OCBC preference shares at 5.1% interest...

But in my opinion, I rather put it in stocks... There are 3 that I'm currently observing. Will buy when the technical indicators looks good. I hv some faith in their fundamentals...

In addition, you can wait till the market turns a bit better and look into investing into index funds.

• Originally posted by eagle:

Great returns.... how great is great?

Maybe you want to try if you can get the OCBC preference shares at 5.1% interest...

But in my opinion, I rather put it in stocks... There are 3 that I'm currently observing. Will buy when the technical indicators looks good. I hv some faith in their fundamentals...

In addition, you can wait till the market turns a bit better and look into investing into index funds.

hurhurhur which 3 are you looking at?

19,262 posts since Jun '03
    • Originally posted by gasband:

hurhurhur which 3 are you looking at?

shhhhhhhh

I haven't start buying them yet, so not saying. They are still currently on the downpath. Must wait.

Another interesting one is F&N though, although I haven't researched much in it.

Great returns.... how great is great?

FYI, OCBC preference shares already closed liao.

i got stocks.. in fact my sis ask me to invest in another one that she belives will grow.. but im not really a risk taker.  Few hundred dollars into stocks im ok.. but few thousand dollars is a bit hard la.

19,262 posts since Jun '03
    • high risk high returns..

low risk low returns...

i dun think there are any investment instrumentals in the market that is low risk high return one...

if u know of any please let me know hor...

FYI, OCBC preference shares already closed liao.

i got stocks.. in fact my sis ask me to invest in another one that she belives will grow.. but im not really a risk taker.  Few hundred dollars into stocks im ok.. but few thousand dollars is a bit hard la.

This stock I mentioned before in some other thread. SPH. The dividends are quite good and constant. The stock price over the years are rather constant too. But it will be around 4.3k for a lot.

Must wait a bit now... High selling pressure at the moment... Me waiting for it to drop to between 4.15 to 4.2 though, hopefully... The dividends alone will win the OCBC shares I believe...

Just my 2 cents; read it with a pinch of salt.

• If you got less than a thousand, just save the money in the bank. It will do the job. But if you have around $5000 at least, there are things which will give you a good return. If dun wan stocks and dun wan too long, i would suggest foreign exchange fixed deposit which can be deposited for 1 - 6 months which good returns of like 7-8% for AUD.

low risk but medium/beyond average return leh?

Index funds like STI ETF?

But this is for at least 10 years horizon.

• i am into STI ETF. Low cost fund with a good long term projected returns of 9-11%. Personally I think for a period of 5 years, it will go beyond that.

You can buy it like a Unit Trust too with a monthly deduction. In that way, you spread your risk with dollar cost averaging which means over a very long time, you are almost certain to make a good profit, just a matter of how good. With STI ETF which is an Exchange Traded Fund closely pegged to the performance of the STI, the confidence is that STI is bound to be on the upward curve over the long term despite the short term fluctuations.

The biggest downside for STI ETF i see is that the time that funds will be tied in. But hey its better than leaving it in a bank! I am deducting $250 every month.

12,926 posts since Feb '04
    • how much u have?? come come.. u lend it to mi and i give u a 5% interests ok...better than bank rate hor..

• Originally posted by gasband:

i am into STI ETF. Low cost fund with a good long term projected returns of 9-11%. Personally I think for a period of 5 years, it will go beyond that.

You can buy it like a Unit Trust too with a monthly deduction. In that way, you spread your risk with dollar cost averaging which means over a very long time, you are almost certain to make a good profit, just a matter of how good. With STI ETF which is an Exchange Traded Fund closely pegged to the performance of the STI, the confidence is that STI is bound to be on the upward curve over the long term despite the short term fluctuations.

The biggest downside for STI ETF i see is that the time that funds will be tied in. But hey its better than leaving it in a bank! I am deducting $250 every month.

The only thing is now that I start to get interested in stocks, the market gets more bearish. I expect the sti to drop further. And the sti etf is currently priced above the sti...

Perhaps another index that we could look into is the China Index... Just crashed few months ago... and still on the downtrend at the moment...

This stock I mentioned before in some other thread. SPH. The dividends are quite good and constant. The stock price over the years are rather constant too. But it will be around 4.3k for a lot.

Must wait a bit now... High selling pressure at the moment... Me waiting for it to drop to between 4.15 to 4.2 though, hopefully... The dividends alone will win the OCBC shares I believe...

Just my 2 cents; read it with a pinch of salt.

thank u for sharing.

the other day sis was telling me abt a co that do switchboards.. cant remember the name..

Please Login or Signup to reply.