07 Oct, 04:47PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Donation...or extortion?

Subscribe to Donation...or extortion? 27 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    436 posts since Sep '07
    • Recently, I've received a donation card from a specific organisation I'm working for. The card is for a charity group. It's one of those cards where you ask your family members or friends for donation and they'll write down their names on the card.

Fair enough. But the problem is, the authorities of this organisation I'm working for actually demanded that we raise an amount of at least $XX...about 3% of my raw monthly pay.

Furthermore, we were told of little about this charity group we are supposedly helping. We don't know what this charity group does, who they help, what they'll do with our money and how our monies will be handled by them. We know too little about this charity group to sensibly help them.

This brings about the question of whether or not this organisation is actually sincere in doing charity work, or do they just want to show off to others that they are able to raise a specific amount of money from their charitable workers for good causes.

And people who received a lot of such cards (especially in schools) will probably know that the majority of these raised sum come from ourselves rather than our friends or parents, especially if we're working.

I could talk at length about this, but decided I should probably stop here and let you decide if such practice is morally right or wrong (basically I don't even know if it's legally right or wrong to ask for a minimum of specific amounts in the card).

4,893 posts since Aug '07
    • I feel that unless the charity organization is named, and is of a decent reputation that genuinely seeks to help those in need, its a blatant scam.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,137 posts since Dec '99
    935 posts since Sep '07
    • Oh those cards. Hated those cards. Always say MUST raise this amount ah!! Otherwise have to top up from ownself. Stewpid max. Call police ah!

6,983 posts since Jul '05
    • Well, they have no rights to ask you top up... last time in school they also do this... I tell them to go screw themselves...

3,356 posts since Aug '04
    2,395 posts since Mar '06
    5,947 posts since Apr '03
    3,356 posts since Aug '04
    465 posts since Sep '07
    23,116 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by annoy-you-must:

Recently, I've received a donation card from a specific organisation I'm working for. The card is for a charity group. It's one of those cards where you ask your family members or friends for donation and they'll write down their names on the card.

Fair enough. But the problem is, the authorities of this organisation I'm working for actually demanded that we raise an amount of at least $XX...about 3% of my raw monthly pay.

Furthermore, we were told of little about this charity group we are supposedly helping. We don't know what this charity group does, who they help, what they'll do with our money and how our monies will be handled by them. We know too little about this charity group to sensibly help them.

This brings about the question of whether or not this organisation is actually sincere in doing charity work, or do they just want to show off to others that they are able to raise a specific amount of money from their charitable workers for good causes.

And people who received a lot of such cards (especially in schools) will probably know that the majority of these raised sum come from ourselves rather than our friends or parents, especially if we're working.

I could talk at length about this, but decided I should probably stop here and let you decide if such practice is morally right or wrong (basically I don't even know if it's legally right or wrong to ask for a minimum of specific amounts in the card).

you must be a civil servant .....

cos only goverment organizations can do something like this and get away with it ....

924 posts since Apr '08
    • Giant staff at IMM made me pay 10cents on bring your own bag day.

officially it says 'donate' 10 cents if you need a plastic bag but the staff insist i pay the 10 cents.

when i question the staff about the word 'donate', it seems like that kaling dont know english.

in the end, i decide not to buy anything.

is there anyway i can get giant's management to comment on this stupid bring your own bag day campaign and the word 'donate'?

i really hate bring your own bag day campaign. such an inconvenience for shoppers

I suggest to boycott all shops participating in the campaign

1,377 posts since Feb '07
    • woah..

same organisation i think..

cos ur situation and mine same..

anw at the btm of the card got write the charity for wat organisation wat.

they say dun have enough will kena confine rite?

11,372 posts since May '04
    25,854 posts since Oct '03
    • gahmen service or not, can don't donate one.

methinks the TS's superior was giving out his/her own instructions so that he/she can look good in front of management later on based on the amount raised.

school principals have been known to pressure teachers not to accept empty donation cards from their students

Edited by av98m 16 Jun `08, 10:39AM
    1,567 posts since Sep '07
    • i also work in charity organisation, recently we got fund raising

campaign & we staff got to sell those coupons icon_frown.gif

coupons not sold can be returned, my colleagues fell bad for not selling any,

she want to buy from her own pockets, told her don't bother cos we nvr indicate

those staff names who can't sell in the return list icon_redface.gif

Edited by JerryYan 16 Jun `08, 10:55AM
    8,163 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by JerryYan:

i also work in charity organisation, recently we got fund raising

campaign & we staff got to sell those coupons icon_frown.gif

coupons not sold can be returned, my colleagues fell bad for not selling any,

she want to buy from her own pockets, told her don't bother cos we nvr indicate

those staff names who can't sell in the return list icon_redface.gif

what coupons?? parking coupons?? Selling need tactics, if you ask us XMM go, 1 hours all sold out liao. Uncles all buy.

• if u want to donate, just donate, if u dun wan, just dun donate lor. Dun have to feel bad about it ya.

1,970 posts since Jan '04
    • Originally posted by angel7030:

what coupons?? parking coupons?? Selling need tactics, if you ask us XMM go, 1 hours all sold out liao. Uncles all buy.

u experience before ya? icon_redface.gif

Edited by playboy_1985 16 Jun `08, 1:56PM
    • Originally posted by playboy_1985:

u experience before ya? icon_redface.gif

Yes, i send back the postcards, i dun donate to organisation i am not clear about it. And as for extortion, unless someone put a gun on your head, then it is call extortion, otherwise, it is not extortion.

15,278 posts since Nov '06
    • Not only u, last year my school flagday also say must collect 3/4 can........

so just exchange $2 into 1 cents and put inside.

those card also the same, like some cca also say must collect untill a certain amount

1,133 posts since Sep '07

Yes, i send back the postcards, i dun donate to organisation i am not clear about it. And as for extortion, unless someone put a gun on your head, then it is call extortion, otherwise, it is not extortion.

Law. the crime of obtaining money or some other thing of value by the abuse of one's office or authority.

oppressive or illegal exaction, as of excessive price or interest: the extortions of usurers.

this is the definations of dictionary.com. so no need point gun to head lah..very scary lehz gun..

• Originally posted by domonkassyu:

Law. the crime of obtaining money or some other thing of value by the abuse of one's office or authority.

oppressive or illegal exaction, as of excessive price or interest: the extortions of usurers.

this is the definations of dictionary.com. so no need point gun to head lah..very scary lehz gun..

i am just quoting as an example, u think i dunno meh??

1,133 posts since Sep '07

i am just quoting as an example, u think i dunno meh??

hehe..i knw ar..

• Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,541 posts since Feb '08
    • u r obliged to your org or school or company.....too bad. if not these cards got only 1 resting place - dustbin sad.png

Please Login or Signup to reply.