Home Chit Chat

Maid abuse

Subscribe to Maid abuse 44 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
  • Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,531 posts since Feb '08
    •  

...professionals and well-to do's sad.png

WTH's wrong wif these peeps......they think this is the slavery age or wat? Study so much for fark??

....and dun give the same crap about mentally stressed.....like most of the other court cases involving molests, rapes, stealing undergarments etc commited by very educated people..all citing mental problems sad.png

Even i am knowingly seow also dun do this kind of things!! HPMH!

Jailed and fined for drawing on maid's face Khushwant Singh Fri, Jun 27, 2008
      The Straits Times
      <!-- TITLE : end-->
      <!-- Story With Image End --> <!-- CONTENT : start -->

TO TEACH her maid a lesson, finance officer Sally Ang Poh Choo took marker pens and drew lines on the Indonesian's face.

She punished Miss Sri Hartuti Rokiman for not properly closing the front door of her Eastwood Place house, off Bedok Road, while washing the family car in the front porch.

The 26-year-old maid, who was left with scratches on her face, ran away the next day and reported it to the police. She also asked a neighbour and her maid to take photographs of her scratches and bruises.

Yesterday, Ang, 44, a mother of two, was jailed three weeks and fined $1,500 for hurting the maid on that day and on four other occasions over a two-month period in 2005.

She had pleaded guilty to the offences, which included pinching Miss Sri Hartuti and poking her head with a finger.

Ang abused Miss Sri Hartuti because she was disappointed with the maid's work, including the way she scrubbed the kitchen.

Ang will start serving her jail term next Thursday after her lawyer, Mr Ramesh Chandra, told the court that she needed a week to tie up loose ends at work. The company she works for had been unable to find a replacement for her, he said.

Mr Ramesh said Ang regretted her actions and had compensated Miss Sri Hartuti to the tune of $4,000.

When District Judge Wong Choon Ning asked why there had been a delay of about three years in prosecuting Ang, Assistant Public Prosecutor Olivine Lin said it was because the police had 'sat on the case'.

The Attorney-General's Chambers had to ask the police to expedite the matter, she added.

A police spokesman said yesterday that it would look into Ms Lin's comments.

Edited by Cowbaycowboo 28 Jun `08, 6:43PM
    17,682 posts since Jul '06
    • either they at work tio gan by boss, and they want to vent their anger on someone they think 'inferior'

or

THEY LOVE SM

• i thot SM supposed to be enjoyed....by both parties? sad.pngsad.png

PS - SM here does not refer to Senior Minister sad.png

Edited by Cowbaycowboo 28 Jun `08, 6:47PM
    17,682 posts since Jul '06
    • Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:

i thot SM supposed to be enjoyed....by both parties? sad.pngsad.png

PS - SM here does not refer to Senior Minister sad.png

they prefer one sided ones maybe sad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.png

deprived childhood sad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.pngsad.png

• When you have love, you have hope
    86,316 posts since Nov '03
    • Pent up frustrations?

Lack of education..no i dont mean a degree

Think they so high above everyone coz they are elites

Tao nao pai from all the years of studying

etc etc

22,396 posts since Aug '05
    • Originally posted by Fatum:

you also noticed they are mostly women too ? .......

...and the undergarment thieves are ALL male graduates sad.png

Edited by Cowbaycowboo 28 Jun `08, 6:58PM
  • .: 解讀不能 :.
    3,213 posts since May '03
    • Yup....Singaporeans goes mad and "drunk" with power when they think are earning a little bit more money than their peers.

How many Singaporeans are already embarking on the path of becoming one of the future ugly Singaporeans?

How many can you see around yourself?

How many do you know?

How can we save our future from becoming an ugly Singaporeans?

Government should have a humble campaign + courtesy campaign every year to re-educate all Singaporeans and give them a gentle reminder to alway be kind and humble.

Money will not adversly affect a person's character unless that person was super poor in the past.

If I were the judge, I would sentence that women to be a maid for her maid back in her maid's home country.

Justice should not have any mercy if Injustice was inflicted with any mercy.

5,897 posts since Jan '03
    • Originally posted by parn:

Government should have a humble campaign + courtesy campaign every year to re-educate all Singaporeans and give them a gentle reminder to alway be kind and humble.

Yes, let's have free distribution of 'humble pie'. Food prices are increasing anyway. =p

• Sg is progressing toooooooo fast for its own good......many singaporeans are infamous overseas for our snobbish and "big fark" attitudes......we think we are damm super high class and our sing $$$ super tau ki!!

even amongst us locals many singapore customers treat service peole here like shiat........i have seen people throwing their $$$ at cashiers thinking they are kings and the service staff still gotta stmoach their obnoxious behaviours just becos bosses said customers are always right......PTTUUIII! sad.pngsad.png....that is why in the service industry....it's well known that SINGAPOREANs are the most uneducated customers!!

10,576 posts since Sep '06
    •  

NY millionaire gets prison for enslaving Indonesian workers in her mansion

The Associated Press ,  New York   |  Fri, 06/27/2008 11:54 AM  |  World

A millionaire who inflicted years of abuse on two Indonesian housekeepers held as virtual slaves in her suburban Long Island, New York, mansion was sentenced Thursday to 11 years in prison.

Varsha Sabhnani, 46, who is also from Indonesia, was convicted with her Indian-born husband in December on a 12-count federal indictment that included forced labor, conspiracy, involuntary servitude and harboring aliens.

The trial provided a glimpse into a growing U.S. problem of domestic workers exploited in slave-like conditions.

The victims testified that they were beaten with brooms and umbrellas, slashed with knives, and forced to climb stairs and take freezing showers as punishment.

One victim was forced to eat dozens of chili peppers against her will, and then was forced to eat her own vomit when she could not keep the peppers down, prosecutors said.

U.S. District Judge Arthur Spatt called the testimony "eye- opening, to say the least - that things like that go on in our country."

"In her arrogance, she treated Samirah and Enung as less than people," said Assistant U.S. Attorney Demetri Jones. "Justice for the victims: That's what the government is asking for."

Federal sentencing guidelines had recommended a range of 12 to 15 years in prison for Sabhnani, who was identified as the one who inflicted the abuse. In addition to prison, she will serve three years' probation and was fined US$25,000.

"I just want to say that I love my children very much," the defendant told the court as two of her grown children looked on.

"I was brought to this Earth to help people who are in need."

Maheder Sabhnani, 51, who is free on bail while awaiting his own Friday sentencing, wept as he watched his wife's punishment pronounced.

He was charged with the same crimes because he allowed the conduct to take place and benefited from the work the women performed in his home, prosecutors said. He is expected to receive a much shorter prison term.

Prosecutors contended the accusations amounted to a "modern- day slavery" case. They said the maids were subjected to "punishment that escalated into a cruel form of torture," which ended in May 2007, when one of the women fled. She wandered into a doughnut shop wearing nothing but rags, and employees called police.

"This did not happen in the 1800s," Assistant U.S. Attorney Mark Lesko said during the trial. "This happened in the 21st century. This happened in Muttontown, New York."

The women, whose relatives in Indonesia were paid about $100 a month and who received to payment themselves -- said they were tortured and beaten for sleeping late or stealing food from trash bins because they were poorly fed. Both women also said they were forced to sleep on mats in the kitchen.

Spatt postponed a decision on the amount of back wages owed to the women. Prosecutors suggested the women were due more than $1.1 million, while defense attorneys said the figure should be much lower. The couple also face fines and could be forced to forfeit their home, which is valued at almost $2 million.

Mahender Sabhnani ran a lucrative international perfume business out of a home office.

One of the women arrived in the Sabhnanis' Muttontown home in 2002; the second in 2005. Their passports and other travel documents were immediately confiscated by the Sabhnanis, the women testified.

The defense, which intends to appeal, contended the two women concocted the story as a way of escaping the house for more lucrative opportunities. They also argued the housekeepers practiced witchcraft and may have abused themselves as part of a self-mutilation ritual.

Defense attorney Jeffrey Hoffman said 175 letters were submitted to the court detailing Sabhnani's charitable acts around the world. He called her "a woman who spent a lifetime doing good deeds."

Hoffman said that around 2004 or 2005, Sabhnani's weight plummeted from 325 pounds to 135. "She did it by starving herself," and that resulted in a chemical imbalance and significant malnourishment. "She had become a very different person."

"I think it's very harsh," Hoffman said after the sentencing.

"She has suffered dramatically." (****)

http://www.thejakartapost.com/news/2008/06/27/ny-millionaire-gets-prison-enslaving-indonesian-workers-her-mansion.html

190 posts since Dec '06
    • All these rich fellas when they got problem can get so many doctors say they got chemical imbalance la, stress la etc etc so they can get off easy.

I know got one retarded fella go around sniffing armpit walao got no doctor say mentally incompetent la, chemical imbalance la or what. Just kena 11 years prison and multiple rotan.

So I think moral of the story is the rich people dare to oppress the weaker people in society because they know their money can buy their innocence (or migitate their guilt) in a court of law. So far I think the formula is working what.

• it looks like an asian thing....these maid abuses...in HKG or US or Malaysia or Sg......so far have not heard of ang mos doing this ......or isit they do it shiok shiok ways and no one complained? sad.png

190 posts since Dec '06
    • I think sure got la, its just the kind of news we are receiving because of our geography. If you read some small town newspaper in U.S. probably will have such news reported.

it looks like an asian thing....these maid abuses...in HKG or US or Malaysia or Sg......so far have not heard of ang mos doing this ......or isit they do it shiok shiok ways and no one complained? sad.png

what are you insinuating?

• Originally posted by maurizio13:

what are you insinuating?

it's a fact....so many reported cases of maid abuses....abusers are of asian origins on asians sad.png

I thought you said ang moh abuse maid in shiok shiok say. icon_lol.gif

• Originally posted by maurizio13:

I thought you said ang moh abuse maid in shiok shiok say. icon_lol.gif

nah lar.....jus wondering if there are cases of ang mos abusing maids....seems alot amongst the asians sad.pngsad.png

• dun even say maids....many locals dun even give basic respects to their hdb cleaners or the toilet cleaners in their own workplaces or schools.....somehow the elicists dun see these people as fellow human beings....even pet dogs get better treatments sad.png

11,911 posts since Jan '03
    • sigh.. sad.

u know, in aussie, a job's a job. u won't get looked down because you're a plumber or electrician etc.

in singapore, you will.

198 posts since Dec '07
    • Knowledge and wisdom isnt the same. Doesnt mean high education means you know what is right from wrong. Someone could be super good in acedemics but wisdom wise no brainer.

1,716 posts since Jun '08
    • Originally posted by frakfrakfrak:

All these rich fellas when they got problem can get so many doctors say they got chemical imbalance la, stress la etc etc so they can get off easy.

I know got one retarded fella go around sniffing armpit walao got no doctor say mentally incompetent la, chemical imbalance la or what. Just kena 11 years prison and multiple rotan.

So I think moral of the story is the rich people dare to oppress the weaker people in society because they know their money can buy their innocence (or migitate their guilt) in a court of law. So far I think the formula is working what.

Indeed.

257 posts since Sep '07
    • Originally posted by dumbdumb!:

sigh.. sad.

u know, in aussie, a job's a job. u won't get looked down because you're a plumber or electrician etc.

in singapore, you will.

Fully agreed.

In angmohland, do you see banglas? The angmohs themselves are doing the bangla's jobs, and are proud of it. No one is ashamed to proclaim that they are a construction worker/cleaner/handyman/plumber/sewage worker. Neither will anyone be ashamed to say that their friends work in such jobs.

However, in sg, doing any jobs perceived as 'lowly' is simply asking to be looked down upon and be bullied. What's a bigger shame is that fellow asians are the ones doing the looking down on you and bullying you.

Do we even need to discuss why MM used the word 'loser'?

Please Login or Signup to reply.