07 Sep, 09:32AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

$100K for strokes

Subscribe to $100K for strokes 39 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    65 posts since Oct '07
    • SINGAPORE: An ex-inmate is seeking compensation of at least S$100,000 from the government for the extra strokes of the cane he received while he was in prison. 

Dickson Tan was sentenced in February last year to a total of nine months' jail and five strokes of cane for four counts of loan-shark activities. 

Tan was given eight strokes of the cane instead of the actual five. 

The government acknowledged the error and expressed regret, but at issue then was the amount of compensation Tan should get. 

Three rounds of discussions with the Attorney-General's Chambers failed to produce an agreement. 

Tan's family indicated before these mediation talks that they would settle if an offer of $300,000 was made. 

So, Tan has taken the case to court. 

Tan's lawyer, Mr Joseph Chen, told 938LIVE that they are writing in to ask for a court-based mediation, where a High Court Judge will decide on the issues involving the case. 

Additions were also made during a short hearing. The additions relate to the questions and comments raised during Parliament on the case sometime back. 

Citing Tan's financial difficulties, Mr Chen said his client hopes this matter will be resolved as soon as possible. 

The lawyer said the S$100,000 in compensation asked is based on a medical report that he will be unemployable for about five years. 

In the report, Mr Chen explained that Tan currently suffers from post-traumatic stress disorder that can develop into schizophrenia. If the case goes to trial, they will be asking for punitive damages. 

The extra strokes he received was due to an error made by the court clerk while transcribing the sentence meted out on to the warrant of commitment. 

The warrant is to notify the Prisons Department of the sentence that had been meted out to the prisoner. - 938LIVE.

I would want to be compensated when people don't listen and insist on giving me a red hot ass. Sorry ain't enough. $100K ain't much with rising inflation and job ain't readily available for an ex-convict. 3 strokes for $100K, that works out to be $33K a stroke.

• Typically Singaporean way :P
    1,531 posts since Feb '08
    7,128 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by Cowbaycowboo:

me! me! *wave desperately*...my ass' gone case anyway sad.pngsad.png

u above 50yo liao, no more canning under the laws. For cow, u can use yr own tail ya.

• self whack no fun de sad.png *pass tail whip to angel*

anyway our stoopid gahmen never admit mistakes one...let's see if that poor guys gets his $$$$ sad.png

15,373 posts since Jan '06
    • Wtf? Extra three error strokes, that only compensated up to 100k? Wtf?!

The money is temporary, but the stokes scare is perment. What is government doing? Made error, give small sum amount of money? This is absurd.

self whack no fun de sad.png *pass tail whip to angel*

anyway our stoopid gahmen never admit mistakes one...let's see if that poor guys gets his $$$$ sad.png

Cannot, i cannot whip a old man, after kenna sue for 1m per stroke, liao.

U wait long long, where got gahmen admit mistake one, maybe they just give him free medication and consultant for 10 years, or offer plastic surgery to his ass at 70% discount.

• Originally posted by angel7030:

U wait long long, where got gahmen admit mistake one, maybe they just give him free medication and consultant for 10 years, or offer plastic surgery to his ass at 70% discount.

But end of the day, the chap who got cane is still at the loss what. Government won't admit mistake, but push blame to someone else instead. Or something.

*quickly sign indemify form & pass to angel*.....lai lai quick sad.png

....our so-called democratic sys ...well...better shuddap sad.pngsad.png

• Originally posted by toyota-corolla:

But end of the day, the chap who got cane is still at the loss what. Government won't admit mistake, but push blame to someone else instead. Or something.

yalor, the most they said they sack the clerk but re employ him in another govt sector. Is Whipping/caning under temasek holding ar?

i thot he apologised

tok i also can tok...cheap one lar...but NATO......sack a few person and expect all to forget liao??

*quickly sign indemify form & pass to angel*.....lai lai quick sad.png

....our so-called democratic sys ...well...better shuddap sad.pngsad.png

The indemity read, we the citizens of Singapore, plague ourselves as one united people, regardless of cow bay or cow boo....

• ...and we live happily, together, as one united body.....lalalalalalallaa *walk into the sunset wif angel hand in hand* sad.png

1,494 posts since Sep '07

...and we live happily, together, as one united body.....lalalalalalallaa *walk into the sunset wif angel hand in hand* sad.png

u both become husband & wife as one united body icon_redface.gif

• Originally posted by JerryYan:

u both become husband & wife as one united body icon_redface.gif

ger ger's mummy no go out ahhh? sad.png

1,494 posts since Sep '07

ger ger's mummy no go out ahhh? sad.png

hello now working how to go out leh icon_rolleyes.gif

...and we live happily, together, as one united body.....lalalalalalallaa *walk into the sunset wif angel hand in hand* sad.png

no lah, walking with angel barefooted pulling a stubborn cow by the nose toward the sunset, damn, i miss my malaysia home...so nice to be back in kampong, no govt, no LKY, no LHL, no WKS, free...free...

get moving! cow!! here no street lamp ok

• Originally posted by JerryYan:

hello now working how to go out leh icon_rolleyes.gif

aiyoooo...working can surf..so xin fu *look admirably at ger ger's mummy* sad.png

no lah, walking with angel barefooted pulling a stubborn cow by the nose toward the sunset, damn, i miss my malaysia home...so nice to be back in kampong, no govt, no LKY, no LHL, no WKS, free...free...

get moving! cow!! here no street lamp ok

hor lar hor lar....u charbos so kan jiong one sad.png *quickly remove clothes*

aiyoooo...working can surf..so xin fu *look admirably at ger ger's mummy* sad.png

cover aunty low cut shirt and dun let cow see...later go out with aunty's ger ger..teach her about geyland and joo chiat life.

*nod nod*....i already taught her liao when we outing sad.png

Not u, i go with her. U stay home and take care of aunty in case she needs...

yalor, the most they said they sack the clerk but re employ him in another govt sector. Is Whipping/caning under temasek holding ar?

I'm not sure, why?

Not u, i go with her. U stay home and take care of aunty in case she needs...

aiya....i said i went outing wif her before liao.....i am a good person *look at sky proudly*...u ask her sad.png

Please Login or Signup to reply.