14 Oct, 05:38AM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

150k in bank at age of 30 good enuff?

Subscribe to 150k in bank at age of 30 good enuff? 64 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    349 posts since May '08
    • Hey guys, is having $150,000 in your bank with zero liabilities at the age of 30 in modern day Singapore with also a free degree which may cost another $55,000 and as well as experience related to your field of expertise good, as in an achievement? Of course, without a car.

9,378 posts since Sep '05
    349 posts since May '08
    16,894 posts since Aug '01
    • 30 years old??? 5 years more for me

I can't say much, but I'm aiming for much much more than that. But not in bank... In different assets though, hopefully

5,760 posts since Dec '05
    349 posts since May '08
    • My lecturer told me its quite good already considering if your parents never help you at all.

118 posts since Jul '05
    349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by loki_chaos:

aha. aim higher...get 1mil then enough...

Can, but I need a brain of internet hacking and foolproof stock market analysis.

1,010 posts since Mar '08
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    163,591 posts since Dec '99
    349 posts since May '08
    • But seriously considering ar. Many of sg uni grads are just about to finish paying their uni bank loan at the age of 30. And having 150k in bank with engineering experience and come out still can work as mechanical engineer. I dunno if it is so, but many ard me says its a good choice.

481 posts since Aug '03
    • Originally posted by KungPaoChicken:

Hey guys, is having $150,000 in your bank with zero liabilities at the age of 30 in modern day Singapore with also a free degree which may cost another $55,000 and as well as experience related to your field of expertise good, as in an achievement? Of course, without a car.

you have a free degree?

Anyway, a local degree in singapore costs $18k or $24, depending on whether you study 3 or 4 years.

349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by weewee:

you have a free degree?

Anyway, a local degree in singapore costs $18k or $24, depending on whether you study 3 or 4 years.

ok then. No thats the plan if i undertake the SAF LSA.

16,894 posts since Aug '01

But seriously considering ar. Many of sg uni grads are just about to finish paying their uni bank loan at the age of 30. And having 150k in bank with engineering experience and come out still can work as mechanical engineer. I dunno if it is so, but many ard me says its a good choice.

30 yrs old leh

if it is all in cash, and no other assets, actually not a lot

This is Singapore :(

349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by eagle:

30 yrs old leh

if it is all in cash, and no other assets, actually not a lot

This is Singapore :(

Ya lor, but if I take other routes, the pay wouldn't be much more too, unless I take the marine engineering route and take my engineering maths' teacher's pay of ard $8k basic without commission perhaps that can be better bah. Anyway now I am just a poly student with a worthless l1r4 of 11... Must aim within range mah. Right anot?

• seriously, it's not bad le.

say u save 800 a month X 12 month x 8 years (say u grad at 22) = 76800k leh

And seriously, now normal uni grad starting pay is around 2.5 k, $800 savings a month is not bad le lor

481 posts since Aug '03
    349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by weewee:

Mind telling us what savings plan did you sign up for?

I tot save money is save by yourself de? Where got saving plan all this thing one?

1,034 posts since Sep '05
    • I think its quite good already. biggrin.png We only need 3 meals a day, wear the same clothes, live the same type of house that is warm all summer. Dont need car lah.

• ya lor no need car la.

Got ppl wan car to show that they are rich, but they gong until like wan to die behind also no one noe. icon_lol.gif

1,972 posts since Apr '06
    • Originally posted by motoway:

seriously, it's not bad le.

say u save 800 a month X 12 month x 8 years (say u grad at 22) = 76800k leh

And seriously, now normal uni grad starting pay is around 2.5 k, $800 savings a month is not bad le lor

lol I think is 76.8 k.... 76800k abit over limit...

349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by Evangel:

I think its quite good already. biggrin.png We only need 3 meals a day, wear the same clothes, live the same type of house that is warm all summer. Dont need car lah.

In fact I like vespa, italian classical transport. LOL. Btw I like a gal who just goddamn it happen to be a rich man's daughter and she loves soccer. And I looked like a wimp to her la...

So within 3 months, I have been training in soccer and i joined tkd to get a blackbelt as well as to play soccer and sprint to the best. My calf muscles now hurts everyday but in my heart I still go on pushing myself above my muscular limit. And I stll have NYAA to complete and studies to score...

Now my fitness still sucks though, how much I hope I would have met her earlier so that I would have achieved more.

In fact I like vespa, italian classical transport. LOL. Btw I like a gal who just goddamn it happen to be a rich man's daughter and she loves soccer. And I looked like a wimp to her la...

So within 3 months, I have been training in soccer and i joined tkd to get a blackbelt as well as to play soccer and sprint to the best. My calf muscles now hurts everyday but in my heart I still go on pushing myself above my muscular limit. And I stll have NYAA to complete and studies to score...

Now my fitness still sucks though, how much I hope I would have met her earlier so that I would have achieved more.

Me wish u all the best.

but sumtimes, societal (?) pressure is hard to bare.

349 posts since May '08
    • Originally posted by motoway:

Me wish u all the best.

but sumtimes, societal (?) pressure is hard to bare.

u meant social and bear? omg nice english u have.

Please Login or Signup to reply.