07 Sep, 05:44PM in sunny Singapore!
Home Chit Chat

Tee-shirts, shorts and flip-flops - a sign of disrespect?

Subscribe to Tee-shirts, shorts and flip-flops - a sign of disrespect? 78 posts

Please Login or Signup to reply.
    39 posts since Feb '08
    • Chanced upon this in the papers a while ago... I thought it's kinda interesting.

A number of people who responded claimed that going places in tee-shirts, shorts and flip-flops means you aren't according people the proper respect.

Yet, I wonder.. how do these people define 'respect'?

Anyone care to share your view with me?

Edited by uuei 15 Jul `08, 9:58AM
  • EMERGENCY AMBULANCE
    8,936 posts since Feb '08
    • it depends on where you go..

don't tell me you attend wedding dinners with t-shirts, shorts & slippers..icon_rolleyes.gif

144 posts since Jun '08
    9,181 posts since Sep '05
    • my gf says i look too slack with my berms, tshirt and sandals. she always make noise.

even go singapore flyer, she say must wear buttoned shirt and jeans. if not i wear tshirt and jeans... she complain complain complain...

that's why she is now... the EX.

i prefer to be comfortable over the weekends after dressing up throughout the week for work/sch.

but at least i dont go orchard in berms. but if i'm from a hockey game or what.. lan lan wear berms lor.

i do get better service from sales personnel once i dress up. but i dont care.

i'm confident with how comfortable i am. :)

if angmoh can wear tshirt, berms, sandals board aeroplane... what's wrong?

19,154 posts since Jun '04
    • Hanar.. Wedding don't where lok kok la.

Must depend on occasion and venue mah.

You go Sentosa wear suit to show respect meh? LOL

But I just dont understand what's the big fuss about wearing shorts, tee and sandals to the city. Big deal. Ang moh tourist also wear no1 kao bei.

144 posts since Jun '08
    • as ppl said first impression is important..so they see outlook first before they slowly understand you..soo sometime how a ppl doll up counts..e.g,your first date you of course doll and properly dress up isnt?dont tell me ur first date to catch a movie u wear tee?if soo i think the girl will be abit unhappy about it even she dont show..or she wear the same too?lol then u two will be heavenly match..

cheers~

5,380 posts since Dec '06
    5,864 posts since Apr '03
    • i wore tee, berms and flip flops to the airport to take a flight to taiwan and thailand.

whats wrong?

• Lol.. my first few weeks in school wore tee and jeans. Then came the rainy season made jeans very kao wei. Then where berms and sandals liao. Never looked back since.

924 posts since Apr '08
    11,396 posts since Oct '05
  • Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    160,594 posts since Dec '99
    4,963 posts since Oct '05
    • Depends on where you go.

Budden I saw ang mo in bermuda tshirt and sandals go clubbin lor. And they are allowed to go in leh  icon_lol.gif

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod
    • u dun go for beach volleyball in a chanel LBD and louboutins.

neither a sunday shopping trip to the supermarket in zegna suit and bally shoes

Edited by FireIce 15 Jul `08, 1:10PM
    53,197 posts since Aug '05
    1,702 posts since Jun '08
    • Originally posted by FireIce:

u dun go for beach volleyball in a chanel LBD and louboutins.

neither a sunday shopping trip to the supermarket in zegna suit and bally shoes

But you can if you want.

7,176 posts since Jul '07
    • Originally posted by ndmmxiaomayi:

见人说人话,见鬼说鬼话 logic.

It all depends.

Err.. the translation ish when in rome, do what the romans do? icon_lol.gif

• But still, i think it's better to be overdressed than to underdress icon_lol.gif

I dont mind wearin super nice to a beach, but I'd mind if i wear bermuda to a weddin dinner icon_lol.gif

• Originally posted by Lorry`:

But still, i think it's better to be overdressed than to underdress icon_lol.gif

I dont mind wearin super nice to a beach, but I'd mind if i wear bermuda to a weddin dinner icon_lol.gif

Tsk.. Beach wedding how?

• Originally posted by sinicker:

my gf says i look too slack with my berms, tshirt and sandals. she always make noise.

even go singapore flyer, she say must wear buttoned shirt and jeans. if not i wear tshirt and jeans... she complain complain complain...

that's why she is now... the EX.

i prefer to be comfortable over the weekends after dressing up throughout the week for work/sch.

but at least i dont go orchard in berms. but if i'm from a hockey game or what.. lan lan wear berms lor.

i do get better service from sales personnel once i dress up. but i dont care.

i'm confident with how comfortable i am. :)

if angmoh can wear tshirt, berms, sandals board aeroplane... what's wrong?

ya, i agreed with you, singapore style mah, some wear damn classy but no money inside, some drive merc, live bungalow, just wear slipper and t shirt can liao. U dun need to hv respect in the public, once u show that you have the purchasing power, u got your respect that even a well coated sale guy can kneel down in front of me to fit my slipper wearing foot with a lady valentino signatory shoe if i wanted to buy.

• Originally posted by Gackt247:

Tsk.. Beach wedding how?

Give beach balls as ang pao lor...hehehe

9,181 posts since Sep '05

Tsk.. Beach wedding how?

hmm.. WHITE buttoned shirt. so white can see nipple kind.

berms & flip-flops.

not cheap flip-flops hor. those $40-$50 kind.

• Queen of sgForums
    Hottest.&.Coolest.Mod

Tsk.. Beach wedding how?

icon_lol.gif

Never attend beach weddin before but.. cannot bermuda la. icon_razz.gif

Please Login or Signup to reply.